We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A lovely break”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were very impressed with the staff, the hotel and it’s beautiful setting overlooking the bay and Torquay. We had a sea view room which was spacious, spotless, with an enormous bed. There is a fantastic sun terrace with tables & chairs and palm trees. The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. One never knows what to expect when arriving at a hotel - but The Livermore exceeded our expectations. The location is ideal - away from the bustle of the town centre, with a bus stop close by. The buses are very frequent and the drivers pleasant and helpful. It was relaxing to leave the car at the hotel and take advantage of the excellent public transport. We would certainly recommend this hotel, and will return ourselves.

Room Tip: Room 76 is spacious & quiet with fantastic sea view and views of Torquay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetduckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    210
    123
    61
    46
See reviews for
112
327
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last week and everything was wonderful from start to finish. The staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating at all times. It is clear that this is a family run hotel because of the warm atmosphere and the attention to detail. Our room was beautiful and the view we had across the bay made it very difficult to leave! We had dinner in the hotel and the four course meal was of a very high standard - the menu was varied and caters to many different tastes. The homemade chocolates and coffee served in the lounge after the meal is also a very nice touch. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and the closeness to at least two beaches is definitely one of the hotel's main attractions. The Livermead Cliff also has a fantastic terrace with heating for slightly chillier nights. Lunch and drinks can be served here and looking across the bay and out to sea makes for a beautiful experience. The lunch/bar menu is extensive (the wraps are particularly good but for those wanting something more filling, the steaks and choices of sauce are an excellent option!).

We will definitely be returning to the Livermead Cliff (many times!). We left the hotel feeling refreshed and happy and that was definitely due to the staff and the surroundings. This is a hotel which can provide everything from excellent food, atmosphere and comfort with an unrivalled view and proximity to the sea - absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDymock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wedding was held here, and i'll start by saying it was FANTASTIC!!! The staff went above and beyond my expectations..You were all great. Charles the wedding organiser your GREAT!!!! Everyone was so impressed by how you helped us all out.. Highly recommended.. Thank you all for making our day so perfect :-) A+++++ We would like our anniversary to be held here too!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in September (Wed), hotel has a great setting with stunning views just on the edge of town. Its about 10 min walk to the nearest pub that showed sport (applebys) which on a nice evening is a lovley walk. Staff were ok, bar staff more friendly than reception. Breakfast was ok. All in all good standard of hotel that u can easily stay in just for the amazing views.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMCO79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Having driven past the Livermead Cliff hotel I thought it worthy of a try when visiting Torquay next. It is situated right on the cliff and overlooking the Bay it has good parking and access it is seemingly ideal - Sadly it all ends there as you walk through the door! Staff in fairness are very good and clearly have to work with what they have got. The whole building interior is very dated and generally tired and worn out. Decor and furnishings are sad as was the room and common areas.
I booked a sea view room at £150 per night and was seriously unimpressed. In terms of size it is very good, likewise the stunning view accross the bay. The interior is something else! Ceiling paper peeling away and not just in one small area, the TV is a PC Monitor size and needs to be sat next to before it can be watched, the carpets are wrinkled, wall colours do not match the soft furnishings, Electrical appliances are powered via multi a socket, there is no light-pull in the bathroom, light fittings have ugly 'coiled tube' type power saver light bulbs hanging out of them rather that the more modern and sypathetically designed candle type power savers. One lamp had nothing at all with just a bare socket!
Whilst I cannot speak for other rooms, our room had a low window shelf with windows that have no restriction and open out completely creating a fall risk especially for young people. Overall it was as sad as the rest of the establishment and certainly not worth £150 per night.
Elsewhere fire call points have been upgraded but instead of removing the old ones they have been taped over and painted to match the walls. The lift is very old and small - nothing wrong in essence, but the gates are the old concertina type that are hard to use if elderly or weak due to the strong springs and present a hazard for trapping fingers. The bar Area has padding around the bar itself in leatherette, this is worn, damaged and looks awful. Breakfast was OK but the tables are adorned with plasic Carnation style pinks that are very reminicent of those given away with soap packets 40 years ago (OK yes hands up I do remember them!) and the old stainless steel tea and coffee pots were badly marked/stained and fit for the bin. However very worryingly, I asked for the door adjacent to our table to be opened as it was quite stuffy at breakfast. Looking out through the door was a white mains cable running along the floor terminating from an electrical box, this was unsecured and un protected - now I am looking at cables instead of my breakfast! standard domestic type cables have been run into Air conditioning units and fixed to conduits and pipes via cable ties and just adjacent to the door the plastic conduit running the power to the emergency exit light had broken off of the wall in a number of places causing the joints to break (including into the light fitting itself) exposing the cable and the whole lot to water ingress. Needless to say I asked to see the manager and pointed this out. This establishment is in serious need of refurbishment and not just simply a facelift - it is well beyond its sell by date in that respect and it certainly is in urgent need of a health and safety check to ensure there are no other hidden disasters waiting to happen - so concerned, I have taken images and will be forwarding them.
The Manager was attentive and took on board my comments, yes he kindly gave a reduction in my bill, but it is not about that, guests should not be given reason to raise concerns, especially at this level - it is also not good for business to give refunds for poor service or facilities.

Pay attention Best Western Group, It is not all about P&Ls, your Staff and Guests deserve much better than this - it is a disgrace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel nor ever return unless the very dated 1980's style bedrooms are fully refurbished and bedroom cleanliness improves dramatically.
The beds need modern duvets not old scratchy blankets. The avocado green bathroom suite and mouldy walls and buckled tiles need instant address.
The Hotel sea view and external terrace are its best features BUT do not be fooled by its own website customer praise comments.
The restaurant food was mixed from good to bad, I think they recycle left over food to the next day making roast potatoes and reheated pork inedible. Over cooked fish is not at the height of my menu choice either.
Staff appear nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elanios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed as a group of 25 on Half board. Every one of us were most impressed not only with the very helpful staff but with all the facilities. As in all buildings room sizes vary but on the whole they are all of a good size and spotlessly clean. Our own room had an amazing views over the bay as did most of our group. The food was of a high standard with more than most of us could manage on most sitings. As with most hotels in UK the bar prices are on the high side I dont understand those who thought it the building is in need of an upgrade. I found nothing to be shabby or rundown. In fact the outside area overlooking he bay in brand new and a lovely spot to spend the early evening. We shall be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#54 of 87 in Torquay
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#49 of 87 in Torquay
386 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel

Property: Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Address: Livermead Cliff Hotel Torbay Road | Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermead Cliff Hotel is the only 3 star hotel situated directly on the water's edge. We have direct access to the sea and beach from our spacious lawns. With stunning sea views from many bedrooms and all of the public areas. The town centre and marina are a pleasant level walk along the sea front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livermead Cliff Torquay
Hotel Livermead Cliff
Best Western Torquay
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing