We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional but not dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Traditional but not dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

I spent a night here recently and found everything to be well organised and friendly. The room was a reasonable size, and had retained the items cheaper chains have now lost, such as biscuits as well as tea/coffee and complimentary cosmetics. There was a flatscreen TV with freeview channels and free wifi. The bed was very comfortable. The room had a sea view at an angle but was quiet - coming from the Midlands I like hearing waves! Service at breakfast and at reception was good and it was fun travelling in an old-fashioned lift with gates. I would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - it's not Fawlty Towers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    203
    117
    60
    46
See reviews for
109
316
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
275 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Livermead in early October, when Britain experienced unusual hot weather and people flocked to the seaside and accommodation became scarce. We obtained the last and only availability at the BW Livermead, The Perry Suite. Initially it seemed expensive but we are happy we took it. The hotel is very large with a restaurant, an elevator and a huge, free car park and is in the loveliest spot in Torquay in our opinion with a sublime outlook over the bay, and wonderful large garden and outdoor areas. The whole hotel impressed us and the Perry Suite was worth every cent we paid. Very spacious. A bedroom area adjoined a large bathroom and dressing room with separate toilet room. The high, large bed was extremely comfortable. The large entertaining area comprised a TV, dining area and sitting room with two 3 seater lounge suites in it. The decor in the suite was really beautiful and it was immaculate as was entire hotel.The suite comes with room service but they kindly supplied us with a Tea/Coffee tray, electric kettle etc., Oddly the suite had no mini frig which would certainly be justified. We had Dinner in the Restaurant and experienced wonderful food and outstanding service. Breakfast next morning was also excellent, a full English Breakfast. The Wait Staff at the BW Livermead really impressed us as did the friendly and helpful Receptionists.
The afternoon of our arrival, both to Britain and the hotel, we pushed Jet Lag aside to explore the hotel grounds, the seashore area, cliffs and streets around the hotel. All extremely interesting. What we had seen of central Torquay we had found daunting due to the sudden huge influx of people and cars caused by the good weather. It was all too manic for us. The Livermead Cliff Hotel is only a few minutes drive down the road from the town centre but in terms of peace and quiet it seemed like another place but does look back towards the town centre. The best of both worlds and highly recommended by us. It has also raised the benchmark for Hotel gift shops. The jewellery for sale was not only extremely beautiful, but whilst of top quality was very reasonably priced. Retail Therapy too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POLLYANNA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Hi there. Just completed a four night stay in the Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel in Torquay.

The hotel is amazing. Welcome was very good. Check in took minutes. Our room was splendid. Two windows and a door to the balcony overlooking the sea and Torquay itself. Really comfortable beds, with blankets, (quaint idea) and a great bathroom with a hot, powerful shower over the bath. Shampoo, conditioner and shower gel replaced daily as was our tea, coffee and biscuits. Everywhere was exceedingly clean and spotless.

The bar has beautiful views over the bay though the beer is a tad expensive at £3.30 a pint (but then I only pay £2.50 at home). The breakfast was just right. Juice, cereal or peaches, apricots, prunes and grapefruit followed by a full English breakfast or kippers or a smoked haddock fillet. Really tasty and the coffee is tremendous. The dining room has sumptuous carpets and tablecloths (3 per table) and the heavy curtains are delicious. The whole effect is spoilt somewhat by a vase of hideous, yellow, plastic carnations on each table.

We treated ourselves to a four course dinner on the last night. Superb. I had smoked salmon roulade followed by clear beef broth, braised duck leg with roast potatoes, courgettes, carrots and peas and a wonderful lemon torte. Outstanding at £27.50 per person and even more so at 2 for 1 on Monday to Thursday nights throughout November. The Australian Shiraz at £17 a bottle was tremendous, though I did spot a bottle at £145 if you fancy a pricey tipple.

The harbour at Torquay is pretty though the high street, like anywhere these days, is showing signs of wear and tear. Confine your visit to Paignton to a walk along the promenade the 'strip' is tacky beyond but if you like slots and bingo and cheap shoes who knows? And guess what? The visit didn't cost us a penny. We used Tesco Rewards Tokens. You send in for example £100 worth of Tesco tokens and get £400 worth of hotel vouchers.

Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed there for 2 nights and was really disappointed - when I walked into my room I felt like I moved back in time - very dated, horrible smell- room was very small, tiny bed.
Selection of food for breakfast was very poor, cooked food - very small portion however service was fine - Will not stay there again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cranbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Spent a couple of nights at the Livermead Cliff Hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast nicely cooked and freshly so on request. Our initial room was to the front of the hotel, but we couldn't cope with the traffic noise (which I dare say would have settled overnight, but we didn't want to risk it) and so we requested a move. One room on offer was to the corner/front of the building so no difference there; the other room was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel, with a sea view. On departure we had to pay an additional £16/night for the sea view - to be honest had good double glazing been in place we wouldn't have had to move from the front of the hotel in the first place. Surprised that the hotel is yet to install double glazing for its sound-proofing and insulation properties.
Bathroom was large, if dated - it was clean. Beds were comfortable. The environs were pleasant and the walk into Torquay provided for sound exercise and was bracing!

Room Tip: The sea-side is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calmorit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Location of this hotel is lovely about 20 min walk into Torquay. We stayed for 4 nights BB , Breakfast was ok but lacked in choice , service was good staff very friendly . My only one moan would be the rooms are very dated to the point we had an Avacado suite !!! . Definately visit cockfoster across the road lovely little village . aslo the steam train from Paignton to Kingswear and the ferry across to Dartmouth .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenfis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel on business. The Rooms have not been refurbished since at least the eighties. So the retired generation will enjoy the reminiscing of how life was. The hotel was undergoing refurbishment though so hopefully this will improve. Had a road facing room which was the noisiest room I have ever been in. Sounded like the motorbikes and cars were driving right through my room! Food was horrible. Ordered a roast chicken dinner in the restaurant. It was chicken, over boiled carrots and peas with gravy. AND A PORTION OF CRISPS!! floating in the gravy!! Who's Idea was that?! Menu needs an overhaul. The good points are definitely the location and the staff If you are not fussy and can switch off your hearing aids and like retro rooms this is definitely for you.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolalou_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#52 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#56 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Address: Livermead Cliff Hotel Torbay Road | Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermead Cliff Hotel is the only 3 star hotel situated directly on the water's edge. We have direct access to the sea and beach from our spacious lawns. With stunning sea views from many bedrooms and all of the public areas. The town centre and marina are a pleasant level walk along the sea front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livermead Cliff Torquay
Hotel Livermead Cliff
Best Western Torquay
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing