We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
Ranked #46 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Room was a good size, with great bathroom facilities and excellent sea views. We stayed during the winter storms and the views were still unrivaled. Friendly staff and good choice on the menu, the carvery is also well worth a try.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ChrisMayhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 289 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a lovely stay after a Busy Xmas and New Year... The rooms are clean, modern and really comfortable with superb seaside views...The staff were very accommodating and the food for the price was delicious...And the best was when I'd left my best coat there...they were good enough to post it home to me...for free, now that is courteous to me...Thank you...

Room Tip: Room 7 is the end room, quiet with superb views and window seats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Serenitynme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Lovely rooms, lovely breakfast friendly staff, we have never eaten main meals here. nice location on the downs, if you don't want to drive then bus stop to torquay and beyond a few mins walk.
This was not our first stay here, nor will it be our last!
and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely have stayed in no. 4,6 and 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank allrrightchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Two visits in 3wks the roast potatoes were terrible,seemed like they had been reheated from day before.......Have frequented The Royal on many occasions over several yrs and the spuds have always been perfect,crispy outside & fluffy inside.........of late the skin is as tough as old boots,& I've got my own teeth.....Have to say the roast beef was perfect,veg ok'ish,........sort the chef out that's doing the spuds.....Sadly won't be going back until roasties are sorted

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Blossom123Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and will not hesitate to go again. We would like to take this opportunity to thank the staff for their hospitality and wish them all a Happy Christmas.

Room 4 is a very comfortable dual aspect twin with en-suite shower and is immaculate with décor and cleanliness.
The staff are all extremely welcoming and cheerful from the management to the bar staff and the housekeepers and as always, we enjoyed the food prepared by their excellent chefs.

Being a pub we always expected some noise from the bar to filter up but this was not apparent and as others comment, the outside tables and therefor the smoking areas are below most of the hotels windows. I cannot bear the smell of smoke but we did not have to close our windows last time we were there (in summer) and this time it was too cold to have them open! I guess that it may depend on the way the wind blows! as for early nights, we have not had a problem of excessive noise, you get the chatter of anyone outside but then this is a pub/hotel and I have been in plenty of hotels close to a sea front with far more noise from passers by which cost more than double of the charges at this one, it is the old adage - you pay for what you get. In this case you get far more than what you pay for.

There is a flat screen TV, coffee/tea making facilities replenished daily and a hairdryer in the room and being winter we had been provided with an extra heater though this was only used on one occasion. There is also a small table and two chairs which we found useful for morning coffee (as we do not eat large breakfasts I cannot comment on the one provided by the hotel).

The views are stunning as can be seen by the photos. The location is great for wanting to stay in Torbay without the crowds, with access to the areas around in a matter of minutes.

Room Tip: 3 - has no sea view 4&5 have full front sea views - I cannot comment on the others but have fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElSevillano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Booked this after reading the reviews and it didn't fail to let us down. Spacious room with a sea view , king size lovely soft bed, and a good size shower although as other reviews have pointed out the water pressure is a little on the low side.
Excellent full English to start the day and although we only dined here on the one night couldn't fault the food. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Overall an excellent place to stay and use as a base. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

From the moment we walked in we were made welcome. The room was very clean and inviting and first thoughts were excellent value for money. The location is fantastic and the view is stunning ! But ! Our room was above the outside smoking area for the pub below, we had to close the windows due to the smell of fags and no chance of getting to sleep until the pub downstairs closed due to the noise made by the people outside ! After midnight it went quiet and we could eventually get to sleep !

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickmetcalfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#63 of 85 in Torquay
410 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Babbacombe Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Babbacombe Royal Hotel

Address: 31 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $58 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Babbacombe Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Babbacombe Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing