We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Babbacombe Inn

Babbacombe Inn
Ranked #33 of 336 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cold beer, great food and a very warm welcome. Fantastic pub and restaurant located on the stunning Babbacombe Downs with views out to sea across the bay. Beer garden and fully air conditioned restaurant. Entertainment every Friday and Saturday evenings. Quiz Night every Monday
Paignton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very friendly staff, varied menu and very quickly served even when busy. Good value and food always cooked well and served hot

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValC190920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn S, Owner at Babbacombe Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Many thanks for your recent visit & lovely review - Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    168
    43
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louth
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We visited this pub for a meal prior to visiting Babbacombe Theatre, and returned the next day for drinks. There always seems to be plenty of staff on, and they are all smartly dressed and very efficient. Unfortunately the kitchen messed up our order, however this was quickly & efficiently sorted by the apologetic staff. The food itself, once correct, was excellent and great value for money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Briatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn S, Owner at Babbacombe Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, we do aim to try & get things right however sometimes due to mis-communiction or error we do make mistakes (we are only human) If we have a problem, then as you witnessed we will try our best to resolve this as quick as possible. We really appreciate your kind comments & patience during your recent visit. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Normally have to book for Sunday lunch as the Babbacombe Inn is very popular.Went in on the off chance and were able to be seated,mainly I think as it was well after lunch time,although still very busy,We ordered the child's portion as neither of us were overly hungry.What arrived was amazing,large portion of meat,3roast potatoes huge Yorkshire Pudding along with a dish with a choice of 4vegetables,all beautifully cooked,with the size of the portion being that it was a child's one,don't think we would have manage an adults one.Superb value &just delicious.Service excellent & staff very friendly

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blossom123Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn S, Owner at Babbacombe Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. Sunday Lunch is very busy for us here at the Babbacombe Inn. I am so pleased we managed to squeeze you in at the end of our lunch session & that you enjoyed our food. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport,
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“SHAME ABOUT THE CHIPS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We ate here twice and although everything else was delicious on both occasions the chips (frozen) were hard and under cooked. What a shame.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank puddinlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn S, Owner at Babbacombe Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Many thanks for your review, I am sorry that our chips did not live up to expectation. We buy a pre-packed chilled chip (not frozen) which has proven great but we have experienced a variation in cooking time needed recently. To this end I have spoken to the supplier who has assured me that the product is now back to normal. I apologise for the the hard chips & would welcome the chance to serve you better chips next time - Best Wishes Jamie (Head Chef)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvelines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Typical pub, great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

With a playground outside for small children. The prices are correct and the food is good, typically English, which is what we were looking for as French visitors.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn S, Owner at Babbacombe Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Bonjour.....that's about the only French I know - being typically British! We are so glad you enjoyed our Pub with it's prices and typical Pub Fayre. We do try to look after all nationalities but fail miserably on the language. Merci por le review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babbacombe Inn also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Babbacombe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing