We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #53 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed July 15, 2010

For £64.00 a night in a standard room travelling with my 88 year old Dad, including dinner, this was superb. Yes, a little dated, but the service, staff and general feeling of being special more than made up for this. We had rooms on the third floor near to the lift facing the carpark, but heard no traffic noise. The food was excellent, with great choices and my Dad, being a bit of a fussy eater, was easily catered for. The hotel was very busy, but all of the staff were polite and attentive and couldn't have been more helpful. Don't be put off, by people expecting more for their money, this was cheaper than staying in a guest house but far more luxurious. The gardens are immaculate, a very beautiful setting. Thank you everyone for making my Dad's stay so perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginnyowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (799)
There are newer reviews for The Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 799 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2010

This hotel was recommended to us by the Tourist Information office in Torquay. The Tourist Office couldn't have been more helpful and suggested the hotel in good faith. However, The Palace is definitely a no-go unless you love being transported back in time to the 1970s. The whole experience is geared to pleasing thousands who clearly love the holiday camp atmosphere but it wasn't for us. The residents were made up of thousands of coach holiday makers all in their mature years. The hotel decoration is extremely tired with stained wall paper and sheet cobwebs in the high coving in our room. Although billed as a 4 star hotel, the bathroom had a stained polystyrene ceiling with black mouldy sealer between the bath and sink and the tiles. The waiters were patronising and inappropriate. The hotel manager insisted on showing us to a specific table for dinner but when we placed our order, they kept asking what our room number was. We also had to sign for all our drinks after every order, rather than just once when we left our table. Once ordered the food arrived instantly which lead us to think that all the meals were prepared in advance and just laid out on benches behind the scenes. The waiter tried to serve our meat between a fork and a spoon in one hand and managed to splatter my partner's shirt. As the meat landed on the plate a green bean ricocheted into my partner's lap. This experience was worse than Faulty Towers! When we went for a walk, we asked the reception desk for the radiator in our bathroom to be turned off. It had, afterall, been at least 25 degrees outside for many days. When we returned to the room the radiator was still red hot. Our room was so depressing and we couldn't face sleeping under musty old fashioned sheets and scratchy blankets, plus we knew the whole breakfast experience the next day was going to be another experience with waiters who clearly love the sound of their own voices, so - we checked out!! We had dinner and a shower and left. The beautiful grounds are wasted on this hotel and I would dearly love to see it taken in hand by the 'hotel police' and the restaurant by Gordon Ramsey. Steer clear at all cost.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Funflower7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Visited for a business trip - not the best conference venue although staff were v helpful in trying to resolve any problems. Food was great and service excellent - gardens were beautiful and the outdoor pool looked fab. I had a garden view room which was spacious but without a doubt a 50s throwback. No hangers - weird - no fridge and they charge for ice buckets!!!!!!! Horrid bathroom - not many of us could work out how the shower worked despite instructions.....Drinks were ridiculously expensive at nearly £7 for a not particularly nice glass of wine. Someone then charged a pricey bottle of wine to my room - staff can't have seen the room card or key as I had it with me! Bit irksome but sorted out quite easily. Wouldn't visit for a lesiure break but perfectly fine for business trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

A very pleasant 2 night stay. Many excellent facilities and the food was first class.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawrieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We stayed at The Palace Hotel for the Easter break 3 nights. Good value deal, dinner bed and breakfast. The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and attentive, the food was excellent and the service very good. The public areas of the hotel have been refurbished to a high standard, good leisure facilities including the golf and the gardens are very pleasant. However (and there always is one) the bedrooms we were allocated were very disappointing, décor was tired and dated and the bathrooms in dire need of refurbishment more 2 star than 4 star. The first room allocated was so cold we refused it and requested another. Rooms to one side, The service the good food and excellent staff more than made up for the disappointing rooms. We had an enjoyable stay and would return, but would request a brighter perhaps garden facing room. Well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BasingstokeBests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Back for the fourth time in five years, with extended family now 8 to 80, all well catered for, excellent service, bedrooms not overlooking the gardens are tired and the last to be updated. Food is excellent, cheese selection and garden lighting all working, nothing at all to complain about. Excellent retreat for all ages, we wander off golfing, swimming, putting, playing tennis, meet up at various points and for sunny balcony lunch. Like a loved elderly relative, take the few idiosynchrasies (dire after-dinner coffee, no duvets) and love the old world standards of helpfulness, service, willingness, politeness, tidiness and grace... so few places have such charm. Will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citygent54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We stayed at the Palace for a weekend break. Booked it quite late, very good deal, dinner bed and breakfast. The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and attendtive, the food was excellent and the service very good. The hotel looks like it has been refurbed, the decoration is very good and the gardens are very pleasant. There is only one critisism that we have and that is the room decor and furniture. It is very dated and in need of a refurb. There was carpet in the bathroom and toilet and the TV was positioned very high up near the top of the wardrobe, as it was dated it was sometimes difficult to view. Even though at first the room was disappointing, the service and excellent staff and food made up for this. This was a very relaxing stay and we will definitely be returning, but shall request a different room. Well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,957 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
571 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#26 of 87 in Torquay
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,431 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
881 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#18 of 87 in Torquay
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $82 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing