We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #53 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

An impressive large hotel with beautiful gardens, excellent service and excellent menu. Family room with connecting door was a bit small to what we are used to. Next time, would book two large rooms. Entertainment by band or singer was enjoyable but no disco for young children. Town centre was about 5 minute taxi ride, we couldn't walk it but with shopping bags, didn't want to walk. The indoor pool was a bit too deep for my 6 year old. Snooker room for 14 year olds and over. Great tennis facilities. The outdoor pool was ok. As with most English hotels, they are so much better with warm weather!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giottolovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    243
    139
    85
    66
See reviews for
141
300
46
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

We have just come back from a one night stay prior to attending my Uncle's funeral. We had stayed here some years ago and are delighted to say that the hotel still has its quaint high standards. The food and service were excellent and we also met 'Andy' who as the others have said was great. An extra breakfast was supplied for my Brother without any fuss. This is a hotel for a relaxing break away from it all. As for the business people attending conferences, I wish I had that opportunity because I would make the most of being by the seaside and try to relax between times instead of complaining or better still stay at a boutique hotel instead.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catfrostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

grand hotel with a touch of class ,the food is great, wine well priced, staff great dont belive the bad reveiws.long live tradional values.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mayfeild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

I stayed here through work for 2 and a half weeks and was impressed by the amenities. It was nice to be able to come in at odd hours and get room service. I loved the terrace for sitting out on a balmy evening and think that the pool could stay open a little longer now that the nights are getting warmer.

The hotel itself has grand public areas and lovely high ceilings. I didn't like the scaffolding outside my bedroom, but understand that maintenance is important on such a grand building. The Palace is certainly a little behind the techological age with tv, mobile and internet access, but unless you spend 24 hours in your room is that really a problem.

As in large hotels throughout the UK The Palace seems to rely heavily on foreign staff - they do a great job - it must be a thankless task sometimes trying to satisfy everyone's needs. Special mention must go to Andy - not only did he provide room service for us, but he looked after us in the lounge as well - thanks again Andy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icebear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

Very outdated and a little shabby.Had a room that faced the road and this was very noisy.Staff were nice enough, breakfast was ok. Most of the residents were elderly
I stay in Torquay often and will avoid this place in the future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1obears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Maidenhead, Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

Lovely hotel in sunny Torquay, brilliant quality. The dinner was exquisite for a DBB deal - silver service four course dinner with fresh, quality ingredients. Our waitress for breakfast and dinner (Karolina) was brilliant. All the staff were attentive, warm and friendly - particular mentions for Joe and Andy.

The indoor and outdoor pools were of good hotel quality (not olympic size obviously!) plus there was a nice little par three type golf course in the grounds. There was also a snooker room and tennis courts.

It is worth a walk to Anstey Cove (through the wooded footpath at the bottom left of the grounds) and down the steep hill to the sea. Prepare yourself for the walk back....but there has to be some defence to all the glorious food in the hotel.

The hotel cream tea is to be recommended (and is easily big enough to share).

I won't go on too much as I want to be able to go back and for the hotel to have availability!!

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RedversMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

A well maintained old-style hotel in the best tradition. Don't expect plasma TV or Wi-Fi but do expect a comfortable room, friendly service, good leisure facilities and grounds, an excellent table d'hote dinner and a good (but not excellent) breakfast. Regular bus service to central Torquay if you don't want to drive or walk (about 30 minutes - downhill going!)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing