We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter weekend break”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #58 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Easter weekend break”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just spent a fab weekend in The Palace Hotel Torquay. The room and facilities were excellant no complaints. Food outstanding!! Service excellant. The hotel is dated but this only adds to the charm why spoil a beautiful place but making it too modern

Room Tip: Non garden view rooms are lovely and half the price the whole district is outstanding so you do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    243
    141
    87
    67
See reviews for
143
302
47
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcs, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We visited the hotel last month for a two night break and we had a very enjoyable time. All the staff that we met were friendly and helpful and the food and service in the dining room was excellent. Yes the hotel does have an old fashioned look about it but that is part of the appeal. There were a couple of things that could have been improved. The mattress on our bed was very poor and certainly in need of replacement and the WiFi was almost non existant in most of the hotel, not something these days that you would expect in a 4* hotel.
We would certainly be happy to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzyjill_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We were treated to a 2 night stay for our wedding anniversary and my birthday, by our daughter, arriving on 26th and leaving on 28th. We really enjoyed ourselves had 2 wonderful 4 course dinners and 2 really great brekkies beautifully served by very proficient serving staff in very nice restaurant which overlooked the garden. We could find no fault whatsoever with the food. Our room on the 1st floor was quite adequate, it was a bit old fashioned, but hey you go to a hotel to sleep not to stay in all day and you can't see a room through closed eyes when you are asleep, it was warm despite the weather being freezing outside and there was plenty of hot water for showering. I really thought I was in a different hotel to some of people who have written prior reports

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank crazysocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

we normally stay at another 4star hotel when we are in Torquay,but decided to have a change and chose the Palace , we have a daughter who is at that age when she wants a bit of independence but did not want a totally seperate room.we chose a double with an interconnecting room. The rooms we we given were ideal, on going through the main door off the corridor there were then two seperate doors, ours was a very spacious double with double aspect windows which made it light and airy, our daughters room had twin beds, both rooms had a seperate bathroom . Although we were at the front of the Hotel and overlooking the carpark this was not a problem as we don't tend to spend a lot of time in the room. The only negative was our bathroom,it was well equipt and large but the decor was in need of replacement, there were cracked wall tiles and the ceramic floor tiles appeared to have been laid over floorboards so the grouting between the had come out in places having said that it was kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. The rest of the Hotel is very elegant in an old fashioned way comfortable and clean. the staff we met were friendly and helpful.we ate in the bar which had a reasonable choice and when the food came out it was hot and enjoyable. The leisure facilities were good even if the pool temperature was a little on the cold side. overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G0lferNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Although The Palace was a little dated, the food, staff and service outweighed the dated decor. We found that the hotel was thoroughly enjoyable, food was to die for we wish the more modern could match this place. The bonus was to be able enjoy the the 9 hole patch and put Golf Course, this was quite challenging. Leisure facilities were very good despite the tennis court was in need of bringing up to speed. Given the chance we will return. Well done.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This week we enjoyed a good value three night break at this hotel which included dinner and breakfast. All the staff that we met were efficient and friendly. The food was very good. The hotel is old fashioned but very clean and comfortable. This hotel is clearly very popular with senior citizens. The grounds, garden and small golf course were very attractive and well maintained. Our south facing top floor room overlooking the garden was good and worth an upgrade. Our only minor criticism was the low water temperature in the indoor pool.

Room Tip: South facing garden room worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnShepherd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I am always intrigued by reviews that moan about a hotel being "dated" So are National Trust properties and that is their charm. Also the style and appearance of a hotel is easily checked before you book so why book a traditional hotel if you want something very modern. I visit The Palace Hotel regularly for functions, meals etc as a none resident and have recommended it to friends to stay there and they have found it excellent for sleeping and breakfast. I have always found the staff polite and helpful and I like the sense of space with so many corners you can take to for drinks or a chat. I have yet to have a bad meal there.

Coffee on the terrace in the summer is great overlooking the well kept gardens and the golf course. The indoor and outdoor swimming pools are well kept and the range of sports facilities very good.

For us it certainly offers a far better experience than the branded chain hotels
My only criticism is that the Hotel does not make better use of the excellent ballroom. It has a good sprung floor and well presented stage and it would be good to have live or even recorded music for dancing on a regular basis

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing