We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable & affordable stay.”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #58 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A comfortable & affordable stay.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We got an excellent deal for £58 for a standard double room, with breakfast. Room had lovely views of the gardens, although decor very dated and mattress had sunk. Only one plug socket in the whole room. Swimming pool & sauna defiantly need some tlc. Breakfast was very good, with lots of variety! Try the lifts for a bit of amusement as you won't get more than two of you in with luggage. Very friendly staff.

We would stay again, based on a cheap deal. Would say very suitable for older couples.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    243
    141
    87
    67
See reviews for
143
302
47
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have just had a lovely stay at this hotel, the facilities and the food were 1st class. The staff were helpful and friendly, especially Neel! There were silly little things that let the hotel down, such as the remote control handset was held together with tape, and obviously did not work. There were spots in the bathroom such as moud on the shower door which you could overlook, but upon opening the window bits of folded paper dropped out, they were being used to stop the windows from rattling!We couldn,t get upon request any sachets of coffee, only decaff but having said all of this I would recommend this hotel for its facilities, grounds and staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and for the price it was well worth it. The food was good with a really tasty breakfast. The bedroom was very spacious and had a really good nights sleep. Cleanliness was to spotless levels.

Whilst the hotel may be slightly more geared to older couples without children, this should not put off a younger traveller. The swimming pool and golf course, plus a good well stocked bar ensures there is little chance of boredom.

The service was excellent and attentive without being over the top. All members of staff professionally dressed and focused on customer service. Really enjoyed my stay and will be there again.

Room Tip: It is worth the little bit extra to overlook the garden a really stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As a family group we were very impressed by the standard of attentive service at the Palace.

This hotel is miles away from the standard chain feel of all too many hotels these days.

For us the restaurant was the high point - very elegant environment (table settings - piano etc) and a really fantastic young waitress. Nothing was too much trouble. Dining felt like a real event and the food was of a high standard.

This is clearly a very well run hotel.
Yes in places updating would be beneficial but to be overly critical in this aspect misses the point.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthseaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just enjoyed three days at this hotel on the special Spring deal which was excellent value. Having been here twice before we were not disappointed and the highlight was the food. Our room was fine but the en-suite could have done with a refurb. However everything was clean and all the staff most welcoming. Will certainly be going again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worrells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
824 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have enjoyed family weekends, weddings, anniversaries over many years at The Palace Hotel.
The food and service are always excellent - though the bedrooms are a little dated and some could do with a refurb - nevertheless, we continue to book regular functions and always look forward to our stays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've just had a brilliant weekend - the only conference I've ever attended where the quality of food and service to all delegates was close to what you'd expect of a Michelin-starred restaurant. All members of staff were genuinely welcoming and, whenever there was a short queue, they acknowledged your presence with a quick glance while continuing to deal with their current customer, like really good bartenders in Dublin. They never seemed under stress, just calm and busy. This is a large hotel, independently owned so it doesn't look just like any other hotel: the gardens and 9 hole golf course were beautifully maintained even in early February. There's a huge reception lobby and a number of really comfortable sitting rooms, including one with french windows out to the balcony. There's a great feeling of space everywhere in the public rooms. The bedrooms are comfortable, all ensuite, and, although the bathrooms are a little outdated, it's actually refreshing to see a hotel that hasn't ripped out perfectly good quality equipment for the sake of having the latest, fashionable styles. I was surprised that the beds had blankets, rather than duvets, but they were comfortable - and there were plenty of tea bags and coffee sachets, unlike many quality chain hotels.
It seems to me that the Palace concentrates its energy on very high standards of cleanliness, service and food - in a lovely, spacious and, just slightly quirky, building.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing