We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whole family loved it!”
Review of TLH Toorak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Toorak Hotel
Ranked #32 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Lovely food. Really friendly staff. Loads for kids to do. Very reasonable drinks. Evening entertainment. Very central location. Spa for the wife.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lingy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 677 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2009

I have stayed at the Toorak on plenty of occasions as I have family near by. The hotel is full of character and the rooms are large and spacious. Families and couples cannot run out of things to do. The aztec spa is lovely and has a good choice of treatments- there are 2 pool- one fun pool for children and a very large pool for adults and children,

The food is lovely and they have a fabulous choice for vegetarians ( for a small fee you can have your meals in the room! great for when you just want to relax) The bar is great for chilling out and sampling very affordable drinks or you can wander along to the other hotels for a couple of minute walks.

The staff have always been friendly and willing to help- with a charming duty manager and a very helpful restaurant manager.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone (they also have disables facilities) and look forward to going back next month.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miniature1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

My wife and two young children (5 & 3) really enjoyed our 7 days at the Toorak. Lots to do, friendly staff and great food. We have stayed at a number of hotels in Devon and Cornwall and this was definately one of the best holidays we have had.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarethW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

I have stayed here 6 times in 6 years, my last review (August 08) mentioned the poor accommodation. This year everything has gone downhill, rooms..poor, food...poor, service...diabolical, our waitress never greeted us, put her fingers in our food, was grumpy and seemed less than happy to be working there, there was no restaurant manager to complain to either, drinks from the bar were slow to arrive and we had to ask twice for an order to be taken; the drinks finally arriving during dessert! food was poor standard and evidence of cost cutting over previous visits! Catering largely for coach parties I think. The friendly service has always outweighed problems with poor accommodation,however this year not even to get the service was the final straw!! We paid 200 per night, so not even cheap!!! We will not return, for a fuller review of the whole resort see my other review under TLH Leisure Resort. Do not go to this hotel if you want good food, comfortable accommodation and friendly service. I have commented over the years on the sad decline of this once wonderful hotel but never had the courtesy of a reply, they obviously don't care that much. Well in future we will vote with our feet, if I do stay in Torquay again it will be with one of your competitors, you had your time but there is only so much one can overlook, we will definately not be returning or recommending you to anyone we care about!!!! Such a shame and so uneccessary, with a little TLC and investment this hotel could be restored to its former glory!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoSmithLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nrbeck, General Manager, Toorak Hotel at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2009

We as a company are always sorry when guests are disappointed with the overall experience of a stay with us. We do have an ongoing rolling programme of refurbishment that uprgrades standards of property. Service standards are something key to our operation and we are reviewing this regularly to be able to put dips of standards right as quickly as possible. Customer feedback helps in enabling us to do this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

We have stayed in the Toorak numerous times but can honestly say that everything appears to be going downhill, so much so that we are honestly thinking of not going back there. It is obvious that the Toorak, which used to be famed for its fine cuisine, is cutting back in the restaurant and the food was adequate but "nothing to write home about". The housekeeping service was appauling and we twice had to ask for a sheet to be given to us and eventually the porter delivered it. The handtowels were collected and not returned until we asked for some more and our bin was not emptied and we asked for it to be emptied. The nightly entertainment has certainly deteriorated, with the exception of Kevin of KB Sounds who appears on Thursday and Sunday evenings, but most of the guest caberet was carried out by an inhouse team - one of which was extremely loud on the bingo calling and was extremely rude to customers when asked to turn it down slightly as we were being deafened. The swimming pool area is good and clean and a good sized pool.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaz39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IanKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2008

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_DH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
620 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 85 in Torquay
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Toorak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Toorak Hotel

Address: Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#29 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $97 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Toorak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a specialty. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Toorak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toorak Hotel Torquay
TLH Toorak Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing