We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We just keep going back!”
Review of TLH Toorak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Toorak Hotel
Ranked #35 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“We just keep going back!”
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I have stayed at the Toorak on plenty of occasions as I have family near by. The hotel is full of character and the rooms are large and spacious. Families and couples cannot run out of things to do. The aztec spa is lovely and has a good choice of treatments- there are 2 pool- one fun pool for children and a very large pool for adults and children,

The food is lovely and they have a fabulous choice for vegetarians ( for a small fee you can have your meals in the room! great for when you just want to relax) The bar is great for chilling out and sampling very affordable drinks or you can wander along to the other hotels for a couple of minute walks.

The staff have always been friendly and willing to help- with a charming duty manager and a very helpful restaurant manager.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone (they also have disables facilities) and look forward to going back next month.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miniature1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    263
    86
    36
    15
See reviews for
183
193
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2009

My wife and two young children (5 & 3) really enjoyed our 7 days at the Toorak. Lots to do, friendly staff and great food. We have stayed at a number of hotels in Devon and Cornwall and this was definately one of the best holidays we have had.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

I have stayed here 6 times in 6 years, my last review (August 08) mentioned the poor accommodation. This year everything has gone downhill, rooms..poor, food...poor, service...diabolical, our waitress never greeted us, put her fingers in our food, was grumpy and seemed less than happy to be working there, there was no restaurant manager to complain to either, drinks from the bar were slow to arrive and we had to ask twice for an order to be taken; the drinks finally arriving during dessert! food was poor standard and evidence of cost cutting over previous visits! Catering largely for coach parties I think. The friendly service has always outweighed problems with poor accommodation,however this year not even to get the service was the final straw!! We paid 200 per night, so not even cheap!!! We will not return, for a fuller review of the whole resort see my other review under TLH Leisure Resort. Do not go to this hotel if you want good food, comfortable accommodation and friendly service. I have commented over the years on the sad decline of this once wonderful hotel but never had the courtesy of a reply, they obviously don't care that much. Well in future we will vote with our feet, if I do stay in Torquay again it will be with one of your competitors, you had your time but there is only so much one can overlook, we will definately not be returning or recommending you to anyone we care about!!!! Such a shame and so uneccessary, with a little TLC and investment this hotel could be restored to its former glory!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoSmithLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nrbeck, General Manager, Toorak Hotel at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2009
We as a company are always sorry when guests are disappointed with the overall experience of a stay with us. We do have an ongoing rolling programme of refurbishment that uprgrades standards of property. Service standards are something key to our operation and we are reviewing this regularly to be able to put dips of standards right as quickly as possible. Customer feedback helps in enabling us to do this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2009

We have stayed in the Toorak numerous times but can honestly say that everything appears to be going downhill, so much so that we are honestly thinking of not going back there. It is obvious that the Toorak, which used to be famed for its fine cuisine, is cutting back in the restaurant and the food was adequate but "nothing to write home about". The housekeeping service was appauling and we twice had to ask for a sheet to be given to us and eventually the porter delivered it. The handtowels were collected and not returned until we asked for some more and our bin was not emptied and we asked for it to be emptied. The nightly entertainment has certainly deteriorated, with the exception of Kevin of KB Sounds who appears on Thursday and Sunday evenings, but most of the guest caberet was carried out by an inhouse team - one of which was extremely loud on the bingo calling and was extremely rude to customers when asked to turn it down slightly as we were being deafened. The swimming pool area is good and clean and a good sized pool.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#26 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.2 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#32 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#20 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Toorak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Toorak Hotel

Property: TLH Toorak Hotel
Address: Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#30 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Toorak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a specialty. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Toorak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toorak Hotel Torquay
TLH Toorak Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing