We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised good hotel”
Review of TLH Toorak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Toorak Hotel
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and myself are both in our 40's and brought my dad here for a short break as he had been some years ago and really enjoyed himself. We were not expecting much as we are rather picky but we couldn't have got it more wrong.

The moment we landed plenty of car park space wright outside main entrance, my dad as mobility issues, the receptionist was so helpful we had lovely rooms just down the corridor with the private terrace, the rooms were big a flat screen tv and tea/coffee and biscuits the biscuits do make a difference. The bathroom was big and they provided aids to help my dad get into the bath to use the shower. It would have been easier if they have walk in showers but we new this before we went and aids provided worked. The terrace was really nice as we did manage to sit outside and read on a couple of afternoons. We slept really good wish we could have taken the mattress home with us.

The food was excellent and I do like my food, the breakfast had lots of choices and the scrambled eggs were the best I have ever had also the bacon was really good not cheap thin bacon that you often get in hotels that are 4*. Evening meal was just as good we never had to wait for our order to be taken the food was hot always a few choices without having to pay the extra if you wanted something different. Our waitress was fantastic so lovely her name is Klara she really looked after us and when I asked for certain foods without the sauce or minus some other ingredient she sorted it and offered alternative, the food was as nice as many restaurants I have eaten in.

The pool was good the bigger pool is not as warm as the curvy pool but still their was no children when we stayed it was only a couple of adults in both pools and the Jacuzzi was great and hot.

The entertainment was for the age group it was playing to most people who were their were retired and it was a lot 60's which I like anyway and a bit of ballroom dancing, I got the impression they catered for the crowd they have at the time, the drinks were good prices which makes a change for a hotel.

Overall we really did enjoy this hotel and would take my dad back again, all the staff were helpful and pleasant and if their native language was not English it did not impact as their English was perfect. The hotel could do with a little TLC updating in some areas but that didn't impact on our stay and I wish they had hotel in other areas of the country.

Room Tip: Room with private terrace are really good if you have some nice weather
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank strayKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKMGT, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you for your post and I am glad to see we exceeded your expectations, your dad was right! I hope when you are ready for another break you will consider a return.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
There are newer reviews for TLH Toorak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 670 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

We ate at the Toorak, which is part of a sprawling leisure complex, on three occasions as part of a bowls event. Had three 3-course evening meals there. The maze of corridors and steps we had to negotiate to reach the dining room worked up our appetites. The menu was full of extra options for starter and main course which, if taken, would have added significantly to the final bill. The food was overcooked, the vegetables dreadfully so, and had obviously been kept under halogen lights for quite a while waiting for service. The terrine that I ordered had so much gel that its texture was unpleasant to say the least. There were far too few staff to serve the numbers in the dining room - in our party, one table was on to sweets and coffee while we were still eating our starters. The wine waiter on one occasion begrudgingly took our wine order after the main course arrived and refused to place the order until we had paid "up front" - the lack of willingness to add the cost of wine to our food bill took the edge off an otherwise palatable, if overpriced, bottle of wine. By far the worst element of service was the difficulty that all the people on our table had in understanding what the waiters were saying, having constantly to repeat what they said to us, although they were pleasant enough. Just what are "pik pat" and "biff rot" which were, apparently, specials of the day? Another annoyance was the way in which plates and cutlery were stored on ledges near the edge of one of our tables - the waiters had to keep on leaning over my shoulder to pick up cups and spoons and, on one occasion, I was narrowly missed by a salt pot which had fallen from a higher level by the side of my head. I have survived to tell the tale! Not an experience I would wish to repeat in a hurry. Avoid eating here if possible. No part of the complex is dog friendly, even the outside areas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKMGT, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for giving your thoughts on your recent stay
We reccommend that you dine in the hotel you are staying at to avoid a long walk to the restaurant, we also take requests for rooms by lifts and ground floor rooms for those that have restricted mobility
The previous review said " The food was very very good" and our food normally ranks very highly, I am sorry if it was not right for you
Regarding our staff, we employ Devonians with strong regional accents and staff from other parts of the EU, however we do expect them all to deliver good customer service. Our customers tell us that generally we do achieve this.
We have 3 other hotels on the complex all with differing styles that maybe are worth a try in the future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We took a very ralaxing break in Torquay and stayed at the 'Toorak Hotel'. It is part of a big complex that includes 4 hotels, swimming complex, fitness suite, numerous bars, indoor bowls arena, ballroom facilities, and a pub. You can walk right through the whole complex from hotel to facilities and other hotels.
The food is very, very good, and they are brilliant for people with allergies. If they have prior warning they will sort out what you can and can't eat.
The room was clean and comfortable and a decent size. Housekeeping was just average with things missed out like emptying the bins, soap replacements etc not always done. I could have complained but it didn't really matter if a bin was left.
The staff in the rest of the hotel were brilliant, including the cleaners in the public areas, and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: There are ground floor rooms for disabled visitors and ramps/lift to all areas within the Toorak. Th...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amathos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKMGT, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for your post
I am gald you had a relaxing break with us, just what the doctor ordered!
I have made not of your comments regarding housekeeping which i will look into
I do hope you will come back and see us again soon!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had our wedding here on 8th March 2014. The day couldn't have been any more perfect. Lisa, who has been in charge of our wedding since we booked it worked extremely hard making sure our day ran smoothly and every little detail was covered. We had lots of meetings with her before hand and she always made us feel very welcome and special. On the day all of the staff at the hotel worked very hard for us and we want to say a big thank you to everyone involved including catering staff, bar staff, reception staff, porters and house keeping. Many of our guests have complemented the wedding and the hotel saying it was a perfect day. We highly recommend the Toorak for anyone looking to get married here in Torquay.
Thank you once again to Lisa and all of the staff for making our special day just how we wanted xxx

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKMGT, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for your post
Its was great to see you had such a special wedding day here.
All the team here really enjoyed working on your big day and being part of it.
It really seemed very special, congratulations to you both and a big thank you

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had a four night stay at this hotel to attend a family wedding. We could not fault the service, food, organisation for the wedding (was exceptional). Our only complaint is the car parking something needs to be done to accomodate such a busy hotel. We could not find a space on our return on the two occasions we left the hotel. Large gardens could be made smaller to accomodate more cars. Otherwise a wonderful stay. Good room exceptionally friendly maid service. Reception were very accomodating because we arrived earlier than check in time but they managed to get us checked in an hour and a half before time. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Long corridors so if you are unable to walk too far suggest you ask for rooms on ground floor nearer...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philmo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKMGT, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you for your post. I am glad to see that you had such a good time when you stayed for your family wedding.

I must say the wedding looked stunning and everyone had a really good time, I hope you will consider returning for a family break soon!

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My daughter and son-in-law were married on March 8th 2014, and I would like to share our experience:
Lisa our wedding organizer was truly attentive, I don't think anything was too much trouble. The organisation ran like clockwork. The rooms were beautifully arranged: The decoration was stunning and the food was first class. The staff were very friendly and at all times helpful. We would like to praise them all, including the housekeeping girls who stayed late allowing us ample time to prepare for the wedding. This was truly an amazing experience, it certainly exceeded our expectations.
A big thank you to all involved and I would thoroughly recommend this Hotel as a wedding venue.
......And yes, the sun shone all day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeyleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKMGT, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for your review of your daughter's wedding held at the hotel.
It's really good for the team here to get such positive feedback as it makes it all worthwhile for us to know how much everbody enjoyed it.
Thank you to your family for choosing us as the venue.

We hope to see you here again at other events in the future!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had a delightful 3 night break here. We called last minute for a same day arrival and with some juggling around, the hotel managed to get us in a family room.
The rooms are a little dated, but it's an old hotel! The room was huge, plenty of space and very clean.
The food was very good with plenty of choice at breakfast, a hot and cold buffet style selection, although it would have been nice to have more than one milk option (for the more health conscious). There was the offer for fresh poached eggs or omelette too.
The evening meals could not be faulted, excellent and the fudge with coffee is divine. Service in the dining room did vary, ranging from okay to very good (never poor).
The entertainment options in the hotels are excellent. We did Ten pin bowling and swimming, but there are dance sessions, fitness sessions and a huge bowling arena.
The evening entertainment varied, best night by far us when KB Sounds is on, he certainly knows how to get people having fun!
The comedian one night did joke the average age of the residents was 72, so as a young family we were in the minority, but it didn't stop us having fun.
This was our 3rd trip, the first two being around 10 years ago. It was as good as we remembered and will definitely be back (and sooner rather than later)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank mamacoupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKMGT, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. It's good to see you have returned after 10 years and we are still as good! I am glad you had fun and all enjoyed yourselves, come back soon! thank you

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#28 of 87 in Torquay
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#39 of 87 in Torquay
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#20 of 87 in Torquay
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,431 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Toorak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Toorak Hotel

Address: Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#29 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $105 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Toorak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a specialty. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Toorak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toorak Hotel Torquay
TLH Toorak Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing