We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a large complex”
Review of TLH Toorak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Toorak Hotel
Ranked #31 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was the first time we have been to the Toorak Hotel, and overall we enjoyed it. The food was of really high quality, and the rooms had everything you needed and were very clean. It is part of 3 hotels, and you can visit all three anytime so you can use the pool in one, the entertainment in another, and they have a games room, indoor bowls etc. Everything felt just right when we were there and it felt like we should have been there for a whole week not 5 days.
There was the odd cuffle when they lost one persons case and it took 2 hrs to find it, their error.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant. A good choice of menu items. Food was served quickly.
The town is a short walk away (maybe 1/2 mile), but it is nearly all flat and runs along the seafront and harbour so it is a nice scenic walk.

Room Tip: Left side of reception has the lift to 2 floors, right side no lift. Many rooms are down long windi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 673 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Yet again another fantastic weekend the Toorak, there were 3 generations of us and we all enjoyed it. The staff are very helpful and the leisure facilities are exceptional, the swimming pool is very good with the smaller pool suiting smaller children.
Barbara Schofield

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 395Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked a weekend at the Toorak without realising that it was part of the TLH Leisure Complex, with access to the shared facilities of three other hotels. An early problem was car parking, for despite there being a substantial number of parking spaces there are lots of cars chasing those spaces, and arriving late in the day we were lucky to get a space.
Our second floor room had lift access and was good sized with a large bed, so there were no complaints relative to the room. The indoor facilities such as snooker, table tennis, and bowling were excellent for families with children, but not so good for adults with the substantial Warwick Ballroom closed (what a waste).
The swimming pool is available for guests with access to the changing rooms using the room key, but for spa treatments it was necessary to book in advance.
Breakfast was a fairly standard buffet, but without a fresh fruit option.
Overall a good option for families with young children, but probably not the best choice for others (especially the dancers).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheels96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the second time we have been to the Toorak Hotel, and enjoyed it once again.
The food was of really high quality, and the rooms had everything you needed and were very clean. Because it is part of 3 hotels, you can visit all three anytime so you can use the pool in one, the entertainment in another, and they have a games room, indoor bowls etc.
Everything felt just right when we were there and it felt like we should have been there for a week, and not just a weekend. boo hoo.
The town is a short walk away (maybe 1/2 mile), but it is all flat and runs along the seafront and harbour so it is a nice scenic walk.

We did visit the Living Coast before we left, but to be honest it was disappointing (especially if you have been to the one in Birmingham), admittedly lots of penguins, and two seals, but other than that it was all a bit fake. It says a good 3 hours to do the lot, but we were out in an hour.

Room Tip: The Toorak seems to be the quieter hotel, we were on the second floor room 220, had a nice sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C0rnishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My family and my sister in laws family stayed over the Easter Break at The Toorak (I have been coming for 35 years plus and now they all like it too!!) we had a very enjoyable stay, the entertainment at the Derwent was excellent and the extra touches like an Easter egg for the Children on Easter Sunday for was much appreciated.
The standard of accommodation is very good and the food quality this year and service was excellent, although in a couple of areas the hotel could do with a little refurbishment overall the value for money the Toorak and the hotel complex offers in general is excellent.

Room Tip: The front rooms overlook the lawns and have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 380DavidP380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

We appreciate your review and are happy to hear your whole family had a great stay with us, the fact that you found us value for money as well is very satisfying. With regards to your comments on refurbishments, we have made some upgrades already, such as flat screen TVs in guests rooms and are working on other areas that all guests will find value in, check with us when you make your next booking.
We do look forward to seeing you all back here in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have stayed in this hotel several times now over the years and we have enjoyed it every time.
I have to say that the food is of a very high standard and I would highly recommend that you take the option with the evening meal.
Our room this April was a family room and had been freshly decorated and the television had been updated.
I cannot praise the majority of the staff at this Hotel highly enough they make your stay even better :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1971PMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review, we are happy to note that the resent upgrades made to some of guests rooms are being noticed. We also appreciate your comments regarding the high standard of our food, our F&B team work hard and I have passed on your positive feedback to them. We do look forward to welcoming back to the Toorak Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The family, grandparents , parents grand children (9 of us in total )stayed 28 to 31 st March, rooms warm and reasonably clean certainly passable, carpets in all bedrooms tread bare, 1 room had old analogy T.V did 'n;t know it still worked . Food was generally very good given numbers catered for . Swimming pools O.K. apart from the small children's pool which appeared to have a slime film over the tiles , could need a pressure clean. Parking is an issue especially when a member of staff leaves their car, a 51 reg corsa for over an hr blocking in 3 residents cars , no apology forthcoming. Luckily no one needed to leave in an emergency, which prevented forcing entry to the offending car. Management need to make sure staff respect visitors and act responsibly towards them,they do after all pay the wages. Parking needs some form of controlled access and management need to decide who has priority, holidayers or day guests. There certainly isn't enough parking for all comers. Could damage future trade, may stay again although my son thought it was the hotel time forgot. Stayed at the Toorak

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHIMEARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and we will consider the issues you raise. I was glad to see that overall you enjoyed your break

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#29 of 86 in Torquay
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 86 in Torquay
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 86 in Torquay
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,465 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Toorak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Toorak Hotel

Address: Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#29 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $98 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Toorak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a specialty. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Toorak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toorak Hotel Torquay
TLH Toorak Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing