We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable and Extremely enjoyable stay”
Review of TLH Toorak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Toorak Hotel
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke on trent
2 reviews
“Memorable and Extremely enjoyable stay”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My family have stayed at the Toorak over7 years now and we enjoy this venue more every time we visit the TLH group. The facilities provided are excellent especially the pool area. We stayed at the Derwent last week with a group of 380 and can confirm everyone enjoyed themselves and will look forward to returning. The Derwent has been refurbished and exceeded our expectations. A good time was had by us all.
The food is exquisite and staff cannot do enough for you. The entertainment is of high standard and especially the music provided by Kevin from by KB sounds.
Kevin is a very talented and versatile entertainer and no matter what age you are, he caters for everyone and gets the guests on the dance floor.No matter what age you are-you will enjoy your visit.
This venue comes highly recommended and excellent value for money.
Tony Pittendreigh
Stoke on Trent

Room Tip: request a room at back of hotel overlooking car park as you may get a little road noise from passing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your post and kind comments and it is good to see you have had a good time
Look forward to seeing you soon!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    266
    91
    36
    15
See reviews for
189
199
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent six days at the Torak in March, our room was very nice with a lovely view. The staff were as usual all very helpful. The hotel was on the cold side but the weather was particularly cold. I enjoyed 4 different treatments at the spa all were very good.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaJS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's good to see that you enjoyed your bowls break with us. Hope to see you on the green soon!

Thank you

Kind Regards

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in febuary all ok until we could see the bottom sheet had not been changed,so inspect before use. other than that we thought the hotel was fair value in good position, parking can be a pain on busy weeks as the hotel is open to non residents.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humphreygocart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your post. We always score very highly for our houskeeping standards so this sounds most suprising. I am sorry that this was your perception and hope you gave us the chance to put it right
I am glad to see that otherwise you had a good time
I hope you will give us another try

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Although my wife and I attend the solo house party we enjoy the company for our 4 night stay at the Toorak hotel each year in March. The music supplied by CD's cover a very good range of popular dances. We have been up to now four times and hope to attend for many more. While the dance routines are geared to the single person there is always sufficient partners who support the occasion and are always happy to have a dance so no one needs to sit out.
The food in the hotel is Very Good and more than sufficient to cater for all needs. We have never been disappointed.
The staff are hard working and polite at all times.
WELL DONE TO ALL CONCERNED.

Room Tip: We take the rooms as they come and have never been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your post, we are glad to see you enjoyed another of our solo dance breaks with Pam Peters. thank you for your support of this event and hope to see you again at one of our Solo's breaks in October or March!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We arrived on Sunday and normally a very enjoyable five days this year proved to be very disappointing, I had no heating on in my room the first night I was there and it was extremely cold, in fact the whole hotel was cold for most of the time we spent there. The heating in the various lounges was off in the afternoons, and February isnt famed for beach weather. As we are all over sixties this was not very good for our well being and indeed quite a few of us are still suffering with colds caused by getting chilled all week.The hotel appeared very dated this year and in need of a good refurbishment. Most of the staff had changed and I felt there should have been a few more in the dining room. We waited half an hour one morning for our tea and toast! all in all a very disappointing. The bowls competition was as usual very good and enjoyed by all

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I sorry to see you were disappointed with your stay. We did have a problem with our heating that was caused by an electrical fault that controls our system It has taken them too long to rectify this, my apologies and all now is sorted.
You will be glad to hear that we have had a closure period to uplift some of our public areas along with our room upgrades which continues. Thank you for your comments

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were made to move on the Sunday because maintenance was due to be done on the Hotel, why not allow us to remain until after breakfast on the Monday instead of a one night stay in the Carlton. Could not get rid of us quick enough and the lack of staff on Sunday made that quite clear. The Hotel looks very tired and is in need of a good uplift, the heating in the rooms was below standard.

Room Tip: We have had room 202 for three years and are very happy with that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your post, we did close for a short period to do the work needed that you have highlighted. I am sorry that you had to move but we get few windows of opportunity to carry out such works. It was not our intention to make you feel unwelcome, our apologies if this was the case. I hope you will consider a return to TLH at some point

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

As a three to four times a year visitor to the Toorak, this hotel never fails to delight me. The staff are superb, the food is excellent, the spa and swimming pool areas great and the dancing, - particularly if you are lucky enough to have Kevin of KB Sounds playing the music - is delightful. No matter what the season you can be assured of a wonderful time at The Toorak Hotel - it would never occur to me to stay anywhere else when in Devon.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra to have the pleasure of a terrace room - yes - even in winter one can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeakDistrictTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words. It is good to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us, we appreciate the support you have given us and hope to see you soon
Thank you

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,809 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Toorak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Toorak Hotel

Property: TLH Toorak Hotel
Address: Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#29 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Toorak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a specialty. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Toorak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toorak Hotel Torquay
TLH Toorak Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing