We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed my stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #36 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed my stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

I've been coming to Torquay for 3 decades now and have always walked past the Grand Hotel, wondering what it was like and whether it lived up to its "grand" title. Well, I'm pleased to say that it does. I stayed here for 4 nights recently and found the staff extremely friendly, the food delicious and the rooms clean. The rooms are a bit dated (the hair dryer appeared to be from a museum exhibit), but clean and comfortable. There was a kettle along with tea, coffee and biscuits in the room, as well as a safe in the wardrobe. There was a full English breakfast served every day, which was sufficient for my breakfast needs. My only complaint is the horrible music that played throughout the dining room. Michael Buble I believe. I had several dinners in the main dining room, which were very good. The view is very nice and the seating comfortable. I would stay here again if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acornwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    717
    431
    221
    131
See reviews for
485
969
87
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

So my parents had booked a one night stay in room/ suite 100 as mother is disabled and was told they would have grab rails in bathroom around toliet and shower this was made very clear when booking and considering the one night b&b cost £278 you would expect the room to be right especaily when the guest arriving is disabled. So on arrival room not quite ready so went out when we came back they checked in and i took my mum up to room to find no grab rails or any aids in bathroom my mothers heart sank as she would be unable to use bathroom without help. Less than impressed we went back down stairs and explain situation to dad left them in bar and i went to recieption who aplogised and said the would get all aids put in straight away so i thought nothing more of it and we had a drink in bar. Myself and husband were staying down the rd so arranged to meet for dinner at the grand at 8 my parents went to freshen up went too room and as they went to use loo put pressure on grab rail by toliet it came off wall lucky nobody was badly hurt! When told recieption they said they get it fix no mention of accident book! Then came dinner by this time my mum was pretty upset so we ate in resturant by bar food starters were cold and also my first starter was dropped in my lap so i had to wait twice as long for next one ! The main courses half of it didnt arrive if you order a rib eye steaks and chips at £25 you would expect to get the chips at same time as steak but we didnt recieve them i ask twice about missing items but by the time someone came over to say we could have them soon we had finished! So a manager came over to say sorry etc and would discount dinner bill by this time it was nearly midnight and assured me rails were fixed properly so i left thinking parents would be safe in there room ! Only to recieve a call 20mins after my parents had gone bk to room no grab rails by toliet ! So he point blankley lied to me £278 for what ,definately not 4star ! So angry !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michellecoles21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had booked a table for lunch at 1pm to celebrate my stepfather's 90th birthday. We arrived at 12.55pm to find the table wasn't ready. Indeed, another couple had to be moved from a window table and the cutlery, glasses and napkins hurriedly taken across. We thought that was poor.

We thought the prices were a little odd. Two of us had the £16.95 for three courses set menu; the other had a main course from the other menu which cost £14.95! The asparagus and hollandaise starter came with a poached egg - not mentioned on the menu. Just as well I hadn't ordered it as I don't like eggs. My gnocchi main course was okay, but too rich and appeared to have been sitting under a hot lamp as there sauce looked somewhat congealed. The pudding of orange and grapefruit posset was tasty, but the serving was enormous!

The waitresses were attentive - so much so that one came across to ask if everything was okay when we hadn't even had our starters delivered. The food took quite some time to come and our lunch lasted 2.5 hours which seemed quite a long time.

We wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJF710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just returned after a weeks holiday at this hotel spoilt somewhat by the poor quality of the evening meals.Very limited choice and exceedingly meagre portions of poor quality.Representations on the internet prior to booking did not bear resemblance to actuality. It seems there are a number of optional menus not indicated at the time of booking many at extra cost.The hotel and facilities were satisfactory but the service was not what you expect in a four star hotel.Complaints to management were not satisfactorily answered and I would certainly not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

It is without any doubt a beautiful hotel. The food was excellent and presented like real artwork. A delight for the eyes too, besides the taste. Friendly staff, our room was spacious and very clean. We stayed there for 4 nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Started excellently, upgraded as normal, stayed here 4 times a year roughly for 3 years now and recommended to friends and family who have stayed on many occassions. It is a traditional hotel by the sea and in every way the name says it all. It is Grand. Friendly staff,dated but period traditional well sized rooms. I entertain clients on my visits in the rstaurant as it is, by there admission, one of the best places to eat in Torquay. However on this occassion, it was not to be.
I would
Ike to add at this point, the staff were amazing and helpful. The bill was reduced due to the poor quality.

The food has taken a step back in quality. The steaks were greasy, served on a wooden platter and the chips were undercooked. The mushroom was earthy, the peppercorn sauce watery and overall was little better than what you would expect in a cafe.

Starters were small, there was no presentation to the dishes and the petit fours were similar to a pick and mix.

Only if the food returns to its former glory will I return.

PS breakfast, hard poached eggs, soggy toast and a poor display of buffet food. Great Hotel but needs to go back to its roots for repeat custom.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have stayed at The Grand with my elderly parents 3 times within the last year each time for 5 nights. We chose the dinner, bed and breakfast option as the standard of food and choices on the menu (changed daily) were consistently high. The staff are attentive, helpful, friendly and welcoming. The heated indoor and outdoor pools are a bonus along with the spa. I can only repeat that on all 3 visits, these high standards have been maintained. Well done The Grand!

Room Tip: We always chose sea facing rooms as the views over the bay and Torquay are awesome and the sunrises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#52 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing