We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Morning Call? You'll Never Sleep!!!”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #32 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I've been many times over the years for a drink and the new owners have really improved the lounge bar area and the service is good,prices not bad for a hotel.
I stayed recently and my only problem is the room, I feel it my duty to tell others.
Basically the kitchen extract fans are right outside the window with all the ducting,they run 24hours a day.No air conditioning and it's a small room, so in summer the windows have to be open.The television has to be on volume 31 to hear it.You wo'nt sleep but if you do nod off the fire door closing outside the room will jolt you back to life.It's room 116, if you get offered it,turn it down, it's that bad .Hotel's good, Room 116 bad.

Room Tip: High up and on the front, but they are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,954 - 1,960 of 2,466 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our Fourth time in this wonderful hotel, the beautiful upgraded room we had with fabulous views over torbay and the harbour, the food in the Gainsborough restaurant was its usual fantastic quality, and the ambiance in there is just what you would expect if your were dining in a 5 star restaurant and now with the extra option of eating in the Brassiere with the wonderful views right by the sea is an added bonus. Our upgraded bedroom was extremelly spacious and extremelly clean and had a wonderful corner bath, all absolutely immaculate. At night the bar, or the coffee lounge is great to unwind and listen to the pianist or the solo singer , we had the added bonus of seeing a couple of weddings, people celebrating their silver anniversary parties and summer ball for the local hospital, where all the staff were all in bow ties and like every day, very smart and so attentive to your every need from the cleaning staff , reception staff and the Managers. However busy they are, they always spare a smile for you and ask are you ok. Tom Vaughan the Duty Manager at the time is a special asset to the hotel, extremelly pleasant and very professional . The person responsible for training and interviewing the staff must be given a medal ! as nothing is too much trouble for them, as they all rush round , making sure all guests needs are attended to. This hotel should be rated as a 5 star due to the pure quality of the Food, the Ambiance, the upgraded rooms and the Staff and The Pools . My Favourite hotel and My Mum and I will be returning yet again next year. As soon as you walk in you realise what a luxury hotel and sitting on the Outside Terrace having a light lunch or a drink watching Torquay is beautiful and the lights at nite, Many thanks to all the staff who made the holiday very special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycustomer749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Booked a last minute weekend break in Torquay, and chose the Grand for it's location and web description. First impressions were very good, but then I went to my room! Compact double, for single occupancy, as I was travelling with family. The journey from the lift to the room was a maze of corridors and fire doors - I felt like I was going into servants quarters as the carpet was old, frayed and marked. Bit of a come down from the main lobby!! The room was indeed 'compact' - more like a single room in size. And the bed had BLANKETS!! The towels had seen better days, as they were less soft and fluffy and more hard and flat....The room was clean, but....The main bar was excellent when we first arrived, with waiter service to your table; but then they had a couple of weddings over the weekend and the staff were running around making sure that they were catered for, so we had to wait.....and wait.....Breakfast was good, although I would have got fed-up with the same options each day if staying for longer than a weekend. In essence, the Grand needs some TLC to be classified as Luxury 4*...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam201962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed there on business last week and really enjoyed my one night's stay.
The room was a single and quite small but was comfortable and well equipped.
The hotel's bar and terrace is the big selling point for this hotel - the terrace has views all across towards Torquay Harbour headland and Brixton Harbour's lights twinkling in the summer evening.

My room however was extremely hot and I slept the whole night with window wide open and the quilt ended up on the floor. However the shower was good and the breakfast even better, with hot buffet full English available. I usually judge the full English on the quality of the sausages and I'm pleased to say that they were superb, almost certainly local butchers' 'premium' sausages I'd say. Service was prompt and friendly and check-in and checkout was smooth.

Parking could be a bit hit and miss I should think but I was lucky and found a space right outside.

It's a pity I didn't have time to try out the leisure facilities as the pools looked good but I had an evening date with a Salsa class at local club Abanico Salsa which was just too good and opportunity to miss. I hope to try out the leisure facilities next time!

Oh and it's worth getting a price even if you assume it'd be expensive. The price I paid at short notice was what I'd expect to pay at a seafront B&B!

Room Tip: Just ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slankypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just back from a three day break at the Grand,the food,service and staff all first class,lovely large room overlooking the sea,I wish more hotels had the same standard of staff,service and surroundings. Mr H. Gloucestershire

Room Tip: Sea facing has lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Bedrooms rather tired, bathrooms average.
Bed wasn't cleaned under it.
No wi-fi except in bar area, which would not suit business people.
Fantastic indoor swimming pool and gymnasium.
Still no tomato juice at breakfast, even after complaints on our last visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRS4760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband, myself and our Labrador spent an enjoyable couple of nights here. The staff were efficient and friendly. The room, although a little dated was spacious, clean and comfortable.
Dogs are welcome on the outside terrace or in a low seated, low table area of the bar, which would have been very uncomfortable to eat a meal at, for that reason we only ate breakfast in the hotel, which we had in our room. The food was plentiful and well cooked and they even popped a couple of extra sausages on for the dog, as we requested.
If we were visiting Torquay again we would definitely stay here, but would request that the room service charge for the delivery of breakfast, was waived- due to the lack of comfortable eating area, where we could have taken the dog.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#26 of 86 in Torquay
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#15 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $88 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing