We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
$141
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$142
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$107
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cimon(Torquay)
$97
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$77
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Torquay(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$55
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,627)
Filter reviews
2,627 results
Traveler rating
817
859
519
266
166
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
817
859
519
266
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscompass barhotel garagesea viewstation car parkagatha christiecream teaindoor poolpublic areaslounge barsea frontsunday lunchleisure facilitiesa bit tiredsome tlcwaiting staffbiscuitsshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,156 - 2,161 of 2,627 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Not only did we pay a lot for the room, far more than was later advertised on their website, but it was small and cramped and oh so very hot. The tiny window had to be kept open all the time along with a fan which was on 24/7 and did not reduce the temperature, it was unbearable. The first night was the worst, I could not sleep at all and my husband had to sleep on top of the bed the four nights we were there.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 232
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TorquayJune2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Lovely hotel, great sea views, attentive staff. Good breakfast, bar snacks and evening fayre was overpriced and below standard. Spent much of our four day break competing for space with the corporate crowd: weddings, seminars, presentations etc - felt very definitely an accessory to the corporate lot. Hotel has an ageing tourist clientele - the dining room often looked like a scene from the walking dead, the corporate effort counteracts this naturally dwindling market. The bar prices were outrageous - not just bad but completely mad: £16.40 for two Gin and Tonics needless to say I never saw a single tipsy person the whole of our stay. BUT. If you want a quiet break (which we did) in elegant surroundings with attentive but not pushy staff and are willing to put up with the bar prices and the constant influx of corporate hospitality types then this is the Hotel for you. And yes, we would go back their offers and deals are just the ticket.

Room Tip: Try to get a room where the radiators can be completely turned off, the pipes are about three inches thick and act like radiators which means the room is far too hot to sleep in at night and the fan helps very little.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dembocheatalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

A lot of money has been spent up grading this hotel, the vast majority on the bar areas and lifts etc. The same cannot unfortunately be said about the rooms and buffet breakfast. A four star hotel shouldnt have 14inch Goodman portable TVs in the rooms especially when they dont actually work! The breakfast was adequate however when you are paying £124 for a one night stay you expect better, the money they have spent is to attract conferences and business people, if you want a holiday or a short break then go elsewhere

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Great hotel nice location lovely rooms and swimming pools. Need to supply deodorant for waiter in restaurant.!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuntmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

This is not a review about the Hotel as such but more for the Compas bar & service.
As local residents we used to use the Grand on a regular basis, both as gym members and for coffee/lunch.
Over the duration of our gym membership we realised we could get more for our money elsewhere and did not renew but continued to regularly use the Compas Bar.
Over the last 2 years or so we have seen the standard of service drop immeasurably. Lack of awareness, attention to detail and general customer service being the most obvious to us.
Lunch at the Grand used to be such a treat, a nice touch of old fashioned "service". I have to say that every single time we have been of late it has been a disappointment & now we will just take our custom else where. Such a shame.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boosmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews