We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you just cant ask for more”
Review of Ashleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashleigh House
Ranked #60 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“you just cant ask for more”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

the breakfast was superb ,we have been before and will certainly go again dawn makes you very welcome and the rooms are extremely clean. it is so nice to be able to take your dog with you and oscar makes all the dogs welcome so all in all a very good time had by all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegastechnician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    24
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
82
95
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

As always we had a great time at ashleigh house, dawn makes us feel very welcome an of course Oscar 2, the breakfast r 2 die 4, would u go an find out urself how great it is there, we had fantastic time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devon227124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived at this lovely guest house to be greeted by Dawn and her lovely Dog Oscar. It was just the kind of welcome that makes you feel appreciated. The house is of Victorian style and extremely welcoming and homely. As a 20 something the decor is not to my style but there is just something magical about the place. The bed was super comfy and as with everything in the house sourced locally. The rooms are well equipped and extremely well maintained. We stayed in the top family room, which had plenty of room for myself and partner, 1 year old and large dog. It's worth noting that there are quite a few stairs to go up, but after walking up some of the Hills in Torquay what's a few more stairs to worry about. Breakfast is absolutely lovely and I would highly reccomend trying the Ham and Cheese on toast. It's not like anything I have eaten before.

It's in a brilliant location being 2 minutes walk from Torquay Harbour and 5 minutes from Meadfoot beach. There's a nice circular walk that takes in the Beach, and then some fabulous houses, Kent Caverns and Torquay harbour that I would reccomend taking.

We had a fantastic three night stay here at extremely reasonable rates, so much so that I reccomended the place to family within 2 days of being home. I am also looking at booking another break here in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlettsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

one of the most friendly, clean and generally happiest guest houses i have stayed in.
nothing is to much trouble, the breakfast was a+++++, dawn made us feel at home straight away, and would honestly tell anyone to go to ashleigh house as they will not be dissapointed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steptoe362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Nice old big house.
10 mins from the harbour and town.
Although the banks are steep.
Nice quiet area.
Dawn is a fab host and Oscar is a star.
Was a bit worried with it been dog friendly, but never saw or heard another dog , just Oscar !
Would recommend it this b&b to anyone.
Book it !!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gailanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have just returned from my birthday trip to Torquay and stayed at Ashleigh House. Greeted straight away by Oscar the friendliest (and quietest I think!) dog in the world, followed quickly by Dawn the owner.

Immediately made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast in the morning was brilliant with a wide variety of choice. The room was extremely comfortable and had everything you could need. For the evenings or if it rained (thankfully for us it didnt!) there were loads of DVD's to choose from for the evening at no charge. It was so close to everything you could need and were at the beach within ten minutes which meant you could leave the car there.

We arrived back in the afternoon to find a birthday card on the bed from Dawn which was an absolutely lovely personal touch.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ashleigh House and will definitely stay here again should we revisit the area. Thank you very much Dawn (and of course Oscar!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyElizabeth87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I'd recommend Ashleigh house to anyone thinking of booking torquay. Fantastic location, beautiful rooms, friendly hosts and a breakfast that I'm still craving. We'll definitely be back.

On arrival, we were greeted by Oscar the dog, a wonderful welcome, and then Dawn, the owner. We'd been upgraded 'just because', which was a nice touch.

The hotel is near enough to everything so you can leave the car behind, but far enough away so as not to be disturbed.

The room was beautifully decorated and so comfortable. Clean towels and a tidy up on a daily basis.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

Can't thank Dawn enough for making our break as special as it was.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#26 of 87 in Torquay
195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#41 of 149 in Torquay
367 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Chesterfield
The Chesterfield
#63 of 149 in Torquay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#6 of 149 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 149 in Torquay
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh House

Property: Ashleigh House
Address: 61 Meadfoot Lane, Torquay TQ1 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashleigh House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Ashleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing