We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a lovely view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what a lovely view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Imperial was a classic hotel in it's hey day. It's still well worth a stay with fabulous views across Torbay and its special offers represent good value. Very good location for Torquay harbour and town centre. Stayed twice now and would revisit. Only downside is charging residents to park their cars in the hotel car park.

Torquay itself is lacking in investment by the Council and business owners. The once pristine sea front gardens look poor and local traffic congestion is very bad at peak times.

Room Tip: You must opt for a sea view. The vista is great. Look out for the cormorants spreading their wings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisplayerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn G, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear tennisplayerjohn

Thank you for your review

Kind Regards

Velu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    876
    405
    196
    130
See reviews for
433
1,429
49
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Allanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Booked a delux room but what I got was wallpaper coming of the walls, dirty paintwork, false nail on my bed after the bedding had been changed. Tiles dirty in bathroom. Insect on my food. Very poor for 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank palapye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn G, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear palapye

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had issues with your stay and as discussed with you and your husband at the time during your stay with us, I will look into all the issues raised and will address them.

Kind Regards

Velu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ickenham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is a delightful hotel with many plus points but I am afraid we also had a few niggles regarding our stay.
Firstly the plus points, superb room with balcony and fantastic sea views, we were in room 421 with my elderly mother staying in an adjoining 420. Bedroom was large and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a little dated but clean and the shower worked well.
All the staff were very pleasant and helpful particularly the waiting staff in the restaurant. The breakfast was buffet style offering a good range of choices. In the evening, there is a set three course menu with a good range of choices for £22 and a number of a la carte choices for which you pay a supplement. the set menu was very good value and all food was good and well presented. Wine prices were not cheap but in line with what you would expect in a hotel. The restaurant in spacious and has great sea views, even if not sitting by the window you will have excellent views. The is also a pleasant lounge and a bar the bar has its own menu and though we did not try it the menu had a fair range of choices and prices were not unreasonable.
My mother is 89 and uses a wheel chair on occasions and the hotel is easy to get round with few steps, there are 4 steps into the restaurant but staff quickly placed a ramp for the wheel chair which was great.
Little niggles the bathroom sink had no plug did report to reception but no action second day reported to housekeeping and got a quick responses with plug fitted however when we came to use it the plug did not fir.
The second niggle is that we booked a half board offer paying for accommodation and food in advance however on checkout this was clear on the bill. I should only have needed to pay for the drinks at meals and in the bar. Having been assured all was correct and paid when I looked in detail we had been charged a total of £132 too much, this has been refunded but it should not really have happened in the first place.
I would though recommend the hotel would advise booking a room with a sea view and to check you bill carefully.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view on Fourth floor probably offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IckenhamChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn G, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear IckenhamChris

Thank yoy for your constructive review. I am pleased that you aha wonderful stay overall and you enjoyed our food and you found our team to be very helpful. I will look into your comments about the billing and thank you for bringing this to my attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Velu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We spent 4 nights there for my husband's birthday. Our room was very spacious (one of the best rooms we've ever experienced in the UK). The balcony occupies the whole width of the room and provides unobstructed sea view. It was absolutely beautiful. The location of the hotel is good as well. It's only 10 minutes walk to the city centre and within easy driving distance to other attractions. The only comment is that you have to pay for the carpark (£7 per night). We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Definite upgrade to a sea view room with balcony - it's worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Medlar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn G, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Medlar24

Thank you for your review

Kind Regards

Velu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

we were really pleased with the hotel & location. it was a 5 minute walk to the centre. The room was good with as was the facilities. we did have what was described as a double and it was more like a king room. we did not have a balcony which would have been nice, my only complaint would be with the restaurant as the food did not live up to a four star al a carte menu, although waiting on staff were pleasant

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn G, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Pat J

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards

Velu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Facade a little dated but hints of a grand past inside. We had a suite on the 4th floor which was starting to look a little ragged and in need of an update. Poor shower lets the bathroom down. Generally polite staff but for a supposed 4 star hotel there is a big void in the staff customer service delivery expected.
Felt it was lot of money for what it was and unlikely to return again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank peterdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn G, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear peterdent

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that not everything went according to your expecation and at this late stage can only apologise and hope that you give us an oppurtunity to restore your faith in us.

Kind Regards

Velu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Please ensure you check your card transactions in this hotel, I was charged twice for my room (once when I booked and once when I checked in) Staff refused to refund the cost until I checked out. Secondly I was charged twice for food in the bar. Spa treatments are not up to much, I booked a spa package 'mum to be' where I was meant to have a day of relaxation in a robe in slippers with lunch. None of this was offered and my facial was accompanied by the noise of cleaning staff. Food in the bar was poor - took ages to arrive and when it did the bread was stale. bed was the most uncomforatable Ive slept in, my husband decided he would rather drive home at 1:30am than continue with a restless nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn G, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Rachel H

Thank for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and would like to apologise for the issues you faced. I have discussed all the issues raised with my Managers to make sure they do not happen again. As discussed over the phone please accept my sincere apologies.

Kind Regards

Velu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#52 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#31 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Of the 152 bedrooms, 60 are sea-facing premium rooms, 29 deluxe rooms with sea views, and 13 suites. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing