We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Yet again, a fabulous stay in this amazing 4* hotel, the staff are always effecient and quick and they appreciate that guest do not want to be kept waiting. the room was very clean and tidy. the staff were extremely friendly and could not do enough for us.
Using Tesco voucher to my for this experience was another hightlight.
Would recommend everyone pays a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,338 - 2,344 of 3,115 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed for 1 night and had 5 rooms between us all, despite all paying the same, the room type was drastically different. Luckily I was in a corner room in the second floor, lots of space and a gorgeous sea view (definitely worth requesting when you book). We ate at the restaurant which has a fantastic view over the bay, the food was not as good as anticipated but the worst thing of the entire stay was the attitude of the waiting staff who were rude for the entire meal, they bickered amongst themselves all evening, I was shouted at by one waitress' because I didn't know if the food she was holding was mine and they forgot our drinks orders repeatedly. The spa facilities were average, but the treatments were lovely, attentive beauty therapists made us feel very comfortable and relaxed. Overall we enjoyed our stay, if I was to return I would eat elsewhere.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a short break at this hotel and we were very pleased. The hotel is sited in a beautiful quiet location and the whole experience was wonderful. The staff were very helpful and the meals were much better than expected. The dinner was of a high qualilty and the breakfasts plentiful. I will definetley be going back

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RobandBev_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

After making 3 phone calls and sending an email requesting a table for 4 at 8pm; my visit started badly with reception having no knowledge of this and the 8pm slots were full. I was a little annoyed. Reception, full of apologies, but somewhat supercilious. This I felt had set the tone for my visit; but I was wrong, as the aesthetics of the Hotel and the room with its sea view was brilliant. I found the Hotel comfortable relaxing and would recommend. We requested a topper for the bed, that was a little hard for my wife, and this was dealt with quickly and efficiently - thank you. I was quite impressed to see a manager in a hotel being actively present.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPS1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have stayed several times now at the Imperial Hotel,Torquay and have no hesitation in recommending it. With breath taking sea views its certainly one of the best hotels in the area. Breakfasts are self service with a wide choice quality food on offer. We particularly like the sea facing rooms that are spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Arthur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in February 2014 - we managed to find a gap in the bad weather that had been impacting so much of South West England. The hotel is a classic seaside hotel set on the cliffs with a spectacular view over Torbay and only a 5 minute walk into Torquay. Staff were excellent, the food was very good and the prices were reasonable. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My fiance and i stayed at the Imperial last weekend for a 3 nights break for my birthday !The location is great on top of a cliff along the bay overlooking Torquay . As several people have commented dont be put off by the external appearance of the property as once you step into the lobby the hotel looks rather grand ie crystal chandeliers , lovely intricate flooring , large vases of fresh flowers etc all reminiscent of a grand bygone era!The views from the bar , restaurant and conference rooms are beautiful...uninterrupted sea views as far as the eyes can see and the sloping gardens to the sea at the back of the hotel are lovely (although the outdoor pool was uncovered and therefore rather dirty looking!) But as you proceed through the corridors to the bedrooms tell-tell signs are obvious to see that this hotel needs re decorating .The old wallpaper along the corridors looks old and is peeling away from the wall and is rather old fashioned . Our room was spotlessly clean but like the corridors "tired" looking...the coffee table had scratch marks all over it , the curtains were torn in places at the top and the shower is rather dated not much pressure to it ...things you expect to be "spot on" when you book into a 4* hotel. But as already said i couldnt fault the cleanliness of our room and bathroom and the housekeepers, who were all very friendly, were always visible in the corridors cleaning the rooms!The balcony also looked like a combination of weather and age had taken its toll but i guess judging from the horrible wet weather we had for the 3 days whilst we were there it gets quite a battering!We had planned to have dinner in the Regatta restaurant for my birthday but after sampling the breakfast that day and reading the negative reviews , we decided to book somewhere else . The breakfast was disappointing as we both thought the choice of food was poor . The bread selection consisted in average quality slices of either white or wholemeal toasting bread , the croissants were tiny ones that tasted shop bought and bland , there was a lack of fresh fruits on offer only tinned ones ie peaches mainly and some sort of fruit salad that wasnt very appetizing! The hot buffet was disappointing mainly for my partner as he likes kippers for breakfast (yuk! lol!))and the choice was limited to sausages , scrambled eggs , beans and fried bread. Other hotels we have stayed at previously would offer pancakes , waffles ,and eggs cooked any way you want for example . We had a couple of treatments in the spa and yet again the whole area of the spa and pool needs a makeover too. The spa is unwelcoming and looks more like a public leisure centre than a 4* spa and we didnt feel like using the pool as it also looked like you were in an "council run" leisure centre not a posh hotel . However my Decleor facial was lovely and the beauty therapist was friendly and my fiance also enjoyed his full body massage!I must say that the days before our stay i had had concerns about staying at the Imperial had tried to call a few times to confirm booking for the spa treatments and ask advice which ones to have and no one would return our calls and when they did we generally didnt find them to be very helpful but rather dismissive ! However whilst we were there, apart from a couple , we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We had a relaxing , enjoyable long weekend break despite the points i have made and the weather. This hotel is good but could be great if it had a major "revamp" and the quality and choice of food could be a lot better for a 4* hotel.I have given an overall rating of Average although my personal rating for the Imperial is good but no such rating on the "tick"selection above !

Room Tip: We stayed in room 424 which had a huge bed ( 2 double beds put together ) and a large balcony with e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marylinemaryline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
599 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
665 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $77 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing