We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel gets the little touches just right !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
england
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“This hotel gets the little touches just right !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

i stayed at the hotel recently for a staff meeting, i have stayed before for leisure and always enjoyed the location of the hotel and great service - i have to say on this occasion the hotel excelled itself

The attention to detail during our conference was second to none

food - well my diet has started today - from a hot plentiful breakfast to a great variation of conference lunch, dinner was expectional i understand there is a new Chef he has certainly made some excellent changes

rooms - yes some are tired but very clean and i was lucky to get a view looking out to the sea

well done Torquay a superb venue for business or leisure I will be back !

Room Tip: sea view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellsjew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    876
    405
    196
    130
See reviews for
433
1,429
49
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

I has mixed expectations on arriving at this hotel based on previous reviews, but it was a great experience.
The reception staff in particular should be lauded. Every one of them that I interacted with went above and beyond that expected of good customer service - they were fantastic. To be honest, they were better than most staff I have encountered at 5* hotels - I hope the manager reads this and realises what fantastic reception staff s/he has!
We stayed in a family suite, which was enormous, and which allowed a bit of privacy with a separate bed in an alcove, which would be ideal for parents with a teenager. The room had amazing sea views, which I would have expected not to care about, but which I loved. It was amazing to wake up in the morning to such a stunning view.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, as it was fully booked, but had our meal in the lounge. The food was hearty and tasty, and was better than I expected for a lounge menu. The staff here, although adequate, let the hotel down somewhat - when my friend went to to bar to order, the lady typed away not acknowledging him and not seeming to want to help him. The service was then fairly slow, but as there were no waiters around, and those that we're looked like they were on their way to put a fire out, so we were a bit frustrated not knowing where our meal was. Luckily we weren't in a rush!

The morning breakfast was fairly extensive but typical, with serve yourself hot English breakfast, a cereal bar, toast, and fresh fruit. The views were similarly stunning to those from our room, and the staff had taken the care to place as chairs in such a way that as many people had access to the views as possible.

We had a wonderful experience, and will definitely try and arrange another trip to Torquay and stay at this hotel.

Nb. On arrival, there are TWO entrances for parking. The £7 is to the right of the garage entrance and is above-ground parking; the garage goes for £15 (interestingly there was a valet service there, which was a nice touch despite the very high daily parking fee)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gymnastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at the Torquay Imperial in January 2014 after a funeral. The hotel was spectacular, beautifully decorated and maintained. We were upgraded without having to ask. Or room had the most stunning view of Torbay. The situation is perfect for both the coastal path and the harbour and town. To top it all, the climate in Torbay was so mild that we spent a lot of time on the balcony.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend to break up the Winter and made a good choice in the Imperial.
Very good food, excellent, friendly staff and a comfortable bed (always an important feature!).
We had a garden room overlooking the Bay with superb views. This is a quiet location and convenient for various trips around the area. We did visit Totnes Market, HayTor on Dartmoor and the splendid railway trip along the coast to Dawlish.
One of our party of 6 had a dog and the hotel is happy with this, which is useful. Several people on the reviews mention the £7 a night parking fee which is a nuisance. Surely it would be better to include it in the normal charge and advertise it as including parking?

Room Tip: We found the upgrade to a garden/seaview room well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rpbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and a day in the spa. Spa was great excellent service. Had lunch it was very over priced for the quality of the food! Evening meal was lovely once they got the order right! Do not agree with the £7.00 parking fee complete rip off ! There was no wifi in my room and it states there is wifi in every room.
Overall we had a nice stay but this hotel defiantly needs the rooms updating.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dottydrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel looks nothing from the outside and a little dated, but inside the hotel it is fantastic. Spectacular views, a great location, only 5 minutes downhill walk to the harbour/cafes, etc. The rooms were large, clean and airy. The food was exquisite both dinner and breakfast. We were a party of 7 and had a lovely round table right by the large window. The pool, childs games room were good, although the Jacuzzi wasn't working whilst we were there. The staff are friendly and relaxed and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely go back there and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stiggy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We attended our work Christmas party here in December. The room was lovely, the tables well set out and a good sized dance floor. The starters and sweets were lovely but sadly the main course was dry and sub school dinner standard (two requests for more gravy were finally met AFTER the main course was all but finished) and an hour wait between starter and main course and another hour between main and dessert were unacceptable. I've never been to a party where guests dance between courses as they've been waiting SO long! The DJ was more interested in topping up his coke with a bottle of vodka hidden behind his deck than playing requests. The waiting staff did their best but there needed to be more of them. For a "Top Hotel" The Imperial failed to live up to it's previous high standards. We will not be rebooking for next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BacardiGlitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#52 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#31 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Of the 152 bedrooms, 60 are sea-facing premium rooms, 29 deluxe rooms with sea views, and 13 suites. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing