We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcome return to form”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
cornwall
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A welcome return to form”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I am always wary of British 'seaside' hotels. They are almost all tired, requiring redecoration and generally represent poor value. This is certainly true of Torquay. Indeed, when reviewing the Imperial last year, the badly needed investment required to restore the 'old lady' to former glory was obvious for all to see.
A year later - what a difference!!
The hotel is still a big ugly slab in a great location within easy walking distance of Torquay marina and town centre with stunning views over Torbay, but now it has had a makeover.
New paint, carpets and furniture have transformed the ground floor of the Imperial to a glimpse of its former grandeur. The restaurant with wonderful views has been freshened up although a little sterile (could do with some big plants to soften it up and absorb noise) and the ballroom is now quite magnificent. Our refurbished seaview room on the third floor was excellent with comfy beds and duvets, balcony with stunning views, good bathroom and all spotlessly clean. Dining in the evening and breakfast in the morning was all good.
Best of all - the value.
I know its off season, but as a couple, we obtained an internet packaged offer (£87) to include an a la carte three course dinner, bottle of good french wine and breakfast at a price which meant the room was basically charged at zero.
Going to Torquay? Get a similar deal and dont stay anywhere else. Very good!!

Room Tip: Seaview on a high floor is a must. Ask for a refurbished room (dont think they all are yet). Get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pastyfaceCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    899
    409
    198
    135
See reviews for
443
1,474
50
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (958)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Imperial Hotel in Torquay provided 3 days of comfort, good food, great views and pleasant Leisure facilities. The weather outside was typical for November in a UK seaside resort (mostly wet & windy) but the Imperial and staff provided a warm, friendly welcome with a peaceful, relaxed venue for our short trip (mainly business but some time to unwind afterwards). We would recommend the spacious, richly decorated hotel to our friends and certainly hope to return to explore Torquay more fully in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Mixed reviews of this hotel. A football club was staying when we was and it was quite busy. We had room 205 and 232 for the final night.

205 had a weird smell and was quite small, which was a shame. All we could hear all night was some nightclub on the cliff, I looked out the window as I had trouble sleeping and it was flashing lights in the bushes, the sound is very annoying. Kept me awake for 2 nights! The bed was very small too, I can't even explain to you how baking hot the room was, I was sweating and felt so ill - wish a fan was available.

On our final night we was in 232 - was a bigger room but a weird bluey colour - not going to lie, i did prefer this room though as it was bigger for a 3 night break, and the bed was nicer. Once again though, shame about the rubbish view of the scummy view. Was even worse as it was the night of the St Jude storm! I was advised we couldn't have a sea view because they wasn't standard rooms (like we had) however, i met a lady in the sauna who had a standard room and she got a sea view and loved it. Was gutted, she was only there for 1 night?! AND she commented others she met had the same type of room. Gutted.

My boyfriend took me here on a break, I just wish that they treated us abit nicer for the total cost of the 3 nights being £350. Just felt we deserved more for what we paid! The car park was rammed too!

As it was the kids half term just beginning they basically terrorised the swimming pool and jacuzzi. Kids whacked me in the face with their feet in the pool and their parents didn't care. Was a let down as the night we turned up it was quiet in there and it was just what I needed from city life. Very strange considering it says not to let kids in the jacuzzi below a certain age on the back of the bedroom door (well of 1 of our rooms !!)

I think as a recommendation would be helpful for hotel information to be available, other than just a welcome letter - such as a telephone list, local attractions etc would be a personal touch.

It is a shame, as due to my job I can recommend hotels for clients regularly, but at the moment I am let down so will not be visiting again. I do love Torquay, but will look into other hotels for our clients instead.

Room Tip: No point, the way they pick rooms seems to be stupid
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ka3343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed at the Imperial last week, with my family. We have been staying there for many years and it's a lovely place to stay. We had a four night break, with Dinner every night. I love have dinner in the Regatta Restaurant, overlooking the bay.
our family room had a lovely seaview and it was large and spacious, suitable for a family of four possibly five.
The breakfast is a 'buffet' style, which suits us, but may not be to everyone's liking. Previous reviews have stated the bits where missing from the chairs and I must admit this was the case with our bedside cabinet. I describe the Hotel as the 'Dowager Duchess of Downton'..classy, elegant but a bit tired and worn.
having said that, we WOULDN'T consider staying anywhere else in Torquay..It'd be like cheating on your spouse If we did!

Room Tip: Ask for room number 31, a lovely room for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Booked this Hotel after seeing it online, looked good and rates were reasonable we had the B& B with evening meal and were not dissapointed. Staff were friendly and helpful although some of them were not fluent in English, this did not affect our stay in the least. Would reccommend the premium room with sea views. Will hopefully visit again. JG

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaspal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great location and great surroundings we stayed at garden level so our balcony had access to the gardens which was great and the views were lovely. The only downside was the state of the funruture and the beds. There were bits missing from the chairs and the double room we had booked was in fact 2 extremely uncomfortable single beds made up as one. This could be very easily recitifed and if done this hotle would be a great choice. I personally don't agree with an extra charge for parking it was £7 for an outside space and £15 for the garage, this surely could be included int he price and residents would feel they were getting a freeby come on Imperial get your marketing sorted.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Hotel is presented in a very good way with an impressive reception room - '440 villa style- and a very cosy restaurant area with view over the Ocean.
However, once you enter the room and you visit the leisure facilities you realize that they are not in line with the presentation and a Four Stars expectation.
Rooms are quite old fashioned and small ant the bathrooms are clean but yet old and a bit mouldy in some corners which is quite a let down since it shows that some details seemed not to be given the right importance.
Service and food were very nice but not good enough to forget about the claustrophobic leisure facilities and the out-of-date and small rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mush82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#31 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Of the 152 bedrooms, 60 are sea-facing premium rooms, 29 deluxe rooms with sea views, and 13 suites. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing