We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Imperial Hotel Torquay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Torquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Imperial Hotel Torquay”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great location and great surroundings we stayed at garden level so our balcony had access to the gardens which was great and the views were lovely. The only downside was the state of the funruture and the beds. There were bits missing from the chairs and the double room we had booked was in fact 2 extremely uncomfortable single beds made up as one. This could be very easily recitifed and if done this hotle would be a great choice. I personally don't agree with an extra charge for parking it was £7 for an outside space and £15 for the garage, this surely could be included int he price and residents would feel they were getting a freeby come on Imperial get your marketing sorted.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    920
    421
    200
    135
See reviews for
451
1,531
50
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (970)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Hotel is presented in a very good way with an impressive reception room - '440 villa style- and a very cosy restaurant area with view over the Ocean.
However, once you enter the room and you visit the leisure facilities you realize that they are not in line with the presentation and a Four Stars expectation.
Rooms are quite old fashioned and small ant the bathrooms are clean but yet old and a bit mouldy in some corners which is quite a let down since it shows that some details seemed not to be given the right importance.
Service and food were very nice but not good enough to forget about the claustrophobic leisure facilities and the out-of-date and small rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mush82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My girlfrfiend & I had a short break here over last weekend. Really could not fault it, unlike the British weather!!
Only thing I could really find fault with was the car parking charge. This seems a little petty given the price of the hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Meriden001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Room was overlooking the car park and was very warm even with window open and was awaken at 4am due to (diesel) taxi bringing drunken guests back.
Breakfast - apart from the pleasant lady clearing our table found the restaurant staff to be very surly. I spent most of my time finding cutlery, napkins and going to the breakfast buffet as food trays were either empty or not very hot & the toast was just dry bread - not toasted long enough. Even when they had just brought food out from the kitchens it was just about warm. Had to request tea & coffee three times which didn't go down too well with the restaurant manager - felt as if we were in his way. At no time did they explain where anything was.
On the upside - they did a fantastic job for the Golden Wedding Anniversary party we attended and the staff that evening were very attentive and pleasant. Top marks for making our friends evening one to remember.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here best to have a sea view room as will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stay in hotels all over the country and world and the service here is amongst the best I have experienced.

Some complain the hotel is dated, but having stayed in 4 others in the area, I recommend this as its quality service and quality environment. Décor may be a little dated or a particular style, however this is not an issue at all, if you have stayed in others in the area, you will know this is the cream of the crop.

The ops manager - Vadu is very attentive and this rubs off on the team. great hotel and great staff - trouble is staying at the Imperial has probably spoilt me, and you don't get service like this often, so I will be leaving other hotels disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I don't know what we did to be upgraded at to the bridal suite, but wow, thank you Imperial! Room 110 is unbelievable. Huge living room with windows and views on two sides; balcony; good sized bedroom; huge bathroom with both bath and shower and a separate dining area with doors to our very own, large, sun roof with loungers. Which would have been wonderful as the sun shone, but Storm St Jude put paid to any idea of seeking an autumn tan.

Dinner was superb but the dining room freezing - our only complaint apart from one or two unsmiley breakfast staff. The breakfast offerings were varied and very good quality - lovely fresh fruit; nuts; usual English but with good back bacon. Coffee could be improved.

My facial in the beauty salon was a treat - but why do they leave you on your own for 15 mins while the face pack sets? At my local salon they use this time to give you an extra bit of massage. Heather was lovely though and sorted out a discount as I'd not realised that the specials only apply Monday to Friday. Do book ahead - on arrival on Friday they only had one slot left for the next three days. The gym was quiet, and airy with good equipment. Mr young-one-arm-tattood manager was very helpful in explaining the cross trainer to this older-than-usual unfit specimen and I don't think he even laughed.

Car parking is pricey - £7 a day for outside and £15 for inside.

The reception staff were cheery and helpful. Pretty much everything was just superb and I'd be back in a shot. Even if we don't get the bridal suite.

Room Tip: Can't fault, bridal suite, room 110.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celloconcert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great room with a wonderful sea view. Huge bed and a relaxing atmosphere. Staff were happy to help out with recommendations for the spa therapy treatment. Cleanliness of bathroom was an issue however.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GeorgeTill1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Property: The Imperial Torquay
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#31 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing