We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch English Riviera Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Top Notch English Riviera Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a two night stay here and were bowled over by the view from our sea facing room which also had a balcony with sun loungers. The room was nice and clean. The fitness centre had a nice indoor pool and jacuzzi which made the stay even better. The Regatta restaurant was nice, with a good varied menu, but was expensive as were drinks from their bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bessiebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    902
    409
    198
    135
See reviews for
443
1,481
50
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend wedding in April 2013. The positives are that the rooms were clean and spacious, beds were comfortable, it is worth spending the extra to get a stunning view of the bay. The breakfast was also very good with a range food available. The negatives are that the drinks are extremely expensive, the shower in our room was not very powerful, the car-park costs £7-15 per day (this should be free for guests) and the Wi-Fi service was poor.
This hotel is fine for short-stay.

Room Tip: Bay side view worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I spent only a night there, and probably can't provide a particularly comprehensive review. However I saw nothing to contradict my favourable first impression. I was very pleasantly surprised by the Imperial - from the website photographs I'd assumed it to be one of those generic large regional hotels, I'd booked it because it seemed to balance quality and reasonable economy but I didn't hope for much more than a comfortable room and a decent bedroom.
However my expectations were exceeded. I found the Imperial to be quite stylish, with a mix of contemporary and traditional decor. The staff were welcoming and efficient, although mostly non-English I had no language issues ... but then I find the different backgrounds interesting and conversation-worthy. My room was larger than expected, well-laid out and comfortable, the only quibble I had being the outlook - my view was of the car park. But then it was a business trip, I was only there at nighttime, and the room may have been booked for me because it was cheaper. The breakfast choices were wide, well-presented and fresh, and the outlook from the breakfast room was beautiful tending to spectacular (it was a beautiful and cloudless spring morning). The hotel is a very short walk (maybe 5 minutes if you dawdle) from the port and town centre, so well-located. I'd certainly recommend the Imperial for a short or longer stay in Torquay.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with a view of the ocean - the hotel is on a headland and I imagine the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stunning veiws from room 423, lovely big room, bathroom very tiny staff on front reception desk very helpful. Breakfast fantastic, food in restaurant very good, staff a little relaxed on service in evenings but ok.

Room Tip: Up grades not available when we asked
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at the Imperial Hotel, Torquay. I can't praise the hotel or its staff highly enough. We shared a double room on the 2nd floor (208) & stayed for 3 days B & B 26th - 29th April . Breakfast - The food was freshly cooked, good to look at & plentiful. Excellent choice of hot, cold or both cold food. Staff were friendly & helpful & the hotel & grounds were well maintained & clean. It's £7 per night to park at the hotel (£15 if you choose to park under cover!) but access is easy & parking is relatively secure as you need your room key or a token from Reception to exit. All in all a very pleasant experience & one which we'll surely repeat if we can get as good a deal. Check out Puma Hotels website direct as their own offers beat booking.com, late rooms etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 208 & had a sea view & balcony (which we requested but wasn't part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJS788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked this hotel in Torquay for our Wedding Reception because we thought it was a lovely venue for such a special occasion. The lady who organised our wedding seemed good at her job and we felt she really knew what she was doing, she did but the rest of the staff involved could not back her up. When you look at the hotel all seems clean and well maintained, look a little harder and its very run down. We were both amazed how the hotel was rated and would suggest not to stay at this hotel if you want modern and clean facilities. Everything is run down, the service is very bad and a lot of staff don't speak English or understand what you are asking for.
The staff forgot to serve tea or coffee on our wedding day and also provide the mints we paid for. Many many other problems came to light and we felt really let down on our wedding day.
It would seem the rooms our guests stayed were in poor condition for a hotel of this star rating, rooms were damp with mould on the celling and damp patches poorly covered up.
I live in Ireland yet was born in Torquay and decided to get married back at my home town, I really was dissapointed and ashamed to have my wedding at The Imperial.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This former Torquay institution is marketed as a 4 star hotel and has lovely public areas, but the rooms are so dated and unloved that it leaves you with an overall feeling of disappointment not uncommon in English hotels. We had a small room with sea views (stunning but that's nature not the hotel!) that had scuff marks on the walls and peeled off wallpaper in the hall. The bathroom door wouldn't actually shut - it just didn't fit the frame. If anyone was talking outside in the corridor it was like they were in your room, and we had a connecting bit to the next room that also offered no sound insulation whatsover. Tried to move but only option was a worse garden room. Friends were given a massive suite but it was entirely soulless and quite depressing, also they were not allowed to use their balcony for safety reasons.

Basically, if you get a good deal and don't expect too much it's fine. Great location and good breakfast. But if you want 4 star luxury this ain't it.

Room Tip: Always get a sea view room if you can. It's the only thing that saves the hotel. Big balconies a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#31 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Of the 152 bedrooms, 60 are sea-facing premium rooms, 29 deluxe rooms with sea views, and 13 suites. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing