We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed March 27, 2013

When in Torquay we always try and stay at this hotel, being a Leisure Club member an upgrade usually works, with sea view/balcony, the location is good and the Harvester restaurant walking distance down the hill

Room Tip: Room 426 top floor with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohdearmeWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,670 - 2,676 of 3,016 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

When I was a kid, many years ago,we often spent our summer holidays in Torquay. Not at The Imperial,you understand,Dad could never have afforded it;but at hotels and guest houses close by.
As we walked past it on our way to the beach,The Imperial always appeared to be a magical and luxurious place for the "well off" to stay in , with a litter of Rovers and Jaguars parked outside and with elegant ladies and gentlemen coming and going from Reception .From the town it rose on-high on its headland dominating the bay . It was,simply, the "best hotel in town"
So, it was with some trepidation and anticipation that we visited The Imperial for an early spring break. Would those childhood memories be confirmed..or would I be disappointed??
Well,first impressions often count and our first impressions of the Hotel were very good. Timeless
elegance still prevails in the lobby and public rooms and the welcome at Reception was both warm and efficient.We asked for our luggage to be bought up to our room and this was done quickly and without fuss.
We treated ourselves to a Suite.. Room 214....and found ourselves staying in an apartment with a massive sitting room facing the sea and a huge bedroom and bathroom close by. There was also a single room within the suite.Another contributor described the hotel as "shabby chic" and I have to say that this applied to Room 214. The space was magnificent..the furniture less so!!!
In fairness,the bedroom and bathroom were fine bot the sitting room had the strangest mix of fixtures and fittings I have ever seen with most of them having seen better days.
In fairness,the settee and chairs were comfortable and everything worked....but there was an air of faded gentility about the place .
But there's a lot you can forgive for the views over the Bay from the picture windows and we had memorable breakfasts in our room facing this wonderful scene.
We chose not to eat main meals in the Hotel but the breakfasts were delivered promptly by a charming young lady and were tasty enough. We had a bar snack one evening and wolfed down sizeable chunks of smoked salmon and cream cheese with a good glass of Pinot Grigio to wash it all down.
The restaurant is nicely placed looking over the Bay with ,seemingly, a good table d'hote choice if that's what you want...but you can get equally good food locally at a lower cost.
We didn't have the chance to try out the Spa or Health Club but they seem very popular
The one gripe we did have is that dogs were not allowed in the bar despite our asking specifically about this when I booked by telephone.
But at least Puma Hotels who now own The Imperial do have a "dogs welcome" policy although they do charge a steep £15 per dog
So,overall, was I disappointed with The Imperial ?
The answer is no,overall.
This is an elegant old lady of a hotel that need a bit of tidying up around the edges. Its slight shabbiness adds to the charm of the hotel in many ways and ,certainly, the service from everyone we had contact with was exemplary...good old fashioned standards of service still apply here I am pleased to say.The glory days for The Imperial may have past but there is still a good future for hotels of this type that offer that bit extra in the way of luxury and service

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra ..at any time of the year!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caterad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Above all, the food served nightly is among the best overall. We travel extensively and are regulars at Four Seasons resorts in Maui, hawaii and Santa Barbara California. The food
Quality, preparation and presentation is exquisite. The chef makes each plate a sensation. I am only sorry we are leaving today. BUT we are back in about ten days!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yolitza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We recently visited this hotel for two nights on the weekend of 16th, 17th of March 2013. This is the third time that we have stopped at this hotel in the past four years. We have found the staff although mostly East European are friendly and helpful. The sea view from both the dinning room and the bedrooms is spectacular. Although the hotel is quite old, its Victorian splendor adds to it's ambiance. The hotel is clean, and well maintained, the decoration matches it's once notable high standards; although some people may now find this dated, we appreciate it's once opulent style. Breakfast is the usual self service buffet that you find in most hotels these days, and the evening dinner is of excellent quality. We booked this hotel while it has an offer on for discounted weekend breaks, and I would recommend others contemplating a similar weekend in Torquay to do the same, as it is very good value for money.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea outlook, and you should probably be allocated one with this view unless the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. From start to finish i could not fault the hotel. The receptionist when we arrived was welcoming and friendly, we checked in quickly and was shown to our room. The room (standard) was the biggest room i think i have ever stayed in! we had a balcony and a wonderful view. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and warm. It had a large flatscreen tv, a lovely powerful shower, bathrobes and slippers! In the morning we had a full english breakfast that was delicious and fresh, the waitress and waiters could not do enough for us. We had our elderly parents staying with us who needed disabled access rooms, the hotel provided this and was also curtious when we asked for extras such a table near to the door at breakfast,etc. We used the spa facilities whilst there and again was very very happy with what we got, the jaccuzi was like stepping into a bath, lovely and warm. After we had a massage which was wonderful. I would fully recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in Torquay and cannot wait to go back again ourselves.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennyanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit to The Imperial Hotel Torquay, I was very pleased to hear that you and your family had a great time with us and that you found our team to be very friendly and helpful.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Rafael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed one night to eat at the Elephant restaurant, just a short walk away.

The service at reception was good.

The bed was comfortable, and the amenities were good.

The breakfast was excellent, as good a big boy's buffet as you could get!

It is very handy for the town centre and the harbour, but is some way from the station.

Room Tip: Sea views are extra, but in winter probably not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cwyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your visit to The Imperial Hotel Torquay, I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you found the food and service provided to be of a high standard. We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,

Rafael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,465 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 86 in Torquay
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 86 in Torquay
585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $87 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing