We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. From start to finish i could not fault the hotel. The receptionist when we arrived was welcoming and friendly, we checked in quickly and was shown to our room. The room (standard) was the biggest room i think i have ever stayed in! we had a balcony and a wonderful view. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and warm. It had a large flatscreen tv, a lovely powerful shower, bathrobes and slippers! In the morning we had a full english breakfast that was delicious and fresh, the waitress and waiters could not do enough for us. We had our elderly parents staying with us who needed disabled access rooms, the hotel provided this and was also curtious when we asked for extras such a table near to the door at breakfast,etc. We used the spa facilities whilst there and again was very very happy with what we got, the jaccuzi was like stepping into a bath, lovely and warm. After we had a massage which was wonderful. I would fully recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in Torquay and cannot wait to go back again ourselves.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennyanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit to The Imperial Hotel Torquay, I was very pleased to hear that you and your family had a great time with us and that you found our team to be very friendly and helpful.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Rafael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    946
    440
    209
    144
See reviews for
477
1,582
50
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grosmont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
511 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed one night to eat at the Elephant restaurant, just a short walk away.

The service at reception was good.

The bed was comfortable, and the amenities were good.

The breakfast was excellent, as good a big boy's buffet as you could get!

It is very handy for the town centre and the harbour, but is some way from the station.

Room Tip: Sea views are extra, but in winter probably not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your visit to The Imperial Hotel Torquay, I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you found the food and service provided to be of a high standard. We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,

Rafael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Having read the most recent reviews I do wonder if I have just stayed at the same hotel. The staff were a delight - happy, smiling and very helpful. The room was amazing, a wide comfortable bed facing the most amazing view across the bay.Plenty of tea, coffee and biscuit goodies on the hospitality tray and two bottles of spring water. The bathroom was fine although lacking a shaving mirror - lovely tiles! All very clean and comfortable. The balcony would have been a wonderful bonus in the summer, but unfortunately the horrid rain made it a little chilyl! The restaurant menu was very varied and the food quality very good. Again the staff were absolutely charming and well trained. Breakfast buffet was one of the best I have ever sampled. We are already planning our next break!

Room Tip: Try to go for a de-luxe room if you can manage it. Very large rooms, spacious balconies and the mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit to The Imperial Hotel Torquay, I was very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us, that you found our team to be very friendly and helpful, that you appreciated our breakfast and dinner offering and that you enjoyed the fabulous view from your room.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.

Kind regards,

Rafael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our second stay at the Imperial, its a charrming old style hotel. Lovely big bed, and not two singles zipped together like so many hotels now. Everything clean and comfortable, and we had a room with a stunning view and balcony with sun beds. The breakfast at the Imperial is one of the best, great selection of fruits nuts and cereals etc. The cooked was good quality for buffet style breakfast, soft eggs, tasty sausages and hash browns, the scrambled looked fab too. The selection of things to go with toast was fab! Lovely preserves, lemon curd, peanut butter, marmite and chocolate spread to name a few. Would recommend this hotel for a weekend away for sure and we intend returning to make use of the sunbeds in the summer

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Imperial Hotel Torquay, I was very pleased to hear that you had a great return stay with us, that you found our Breakfast Buffet to be one of the best and that you enjoyed the fabulous view from your room.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the summer when hopefully the weather will allow all our guests to make the most of our sunbeds!

Regards,

Rafael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed with group for a bridge holiday. Staff were all helpful and efficient. Wonderful spacious room with sea views.
Breakfast buffet was excellent but dinners were a bit uninspiring.
All in all a good hotel with wonderful free spa facilities and handy for the town centre.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to The Imperial Hotel Torquay, we are very pleased to hear that you had a good time with us. We hope to see you and your group of Bridge Holiday back again at The Imperial in the near future.

Regards,

Rafael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayliing island
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A vast hotel which has lost most of its glamour of bygone years. The hotel seems to be staffed by Eastern Europeans, no smiles or greetings to be found anywhere, you get the feeling that they really don't want to be working at the Imperial at least not giving service . Service is so important to the guests , a it is what makes you feel welcome and enables you to have a happy relaxed stay. The staff go through the motions are polite but have attitude and selective sight,no extra mile here.
A wonderful view from the vast dining room and a really good breakfast buffet. An o.k. room but a plastic shower curtain and scratchy toilet tissue not what you expect from 4 star.
Beware it cost £7.00 per day parking.
I had two spa treatments the back and neck massage was wonderful, the facial the next day was very dissapointing,(different beautician), back in my room I Discovered to my embarressment that I had been allowed to walk all the way back through the hotel with panda eyes and blobs of masscarra on my cheeks, not a good look !!!.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happy70_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your constructive feedback, It is good to know that you enjoy our Breakfast Buffet and the fantastic views we have from our Regatta Restaurant, however I was sorry to hear everything was not to your satisfaction. As you noticed we have a multinational workforce and as you can see from previous comments there are very friendly and often engage with our guests, I apologise if this was not the case during your visit; I also acknowledge your comments regarding our Spa treatments, consistency is something we endeavour to achieve. It is regrettable you did not give us your feedback whilst you were staying with us as we could have rectified some of the issues you experienced. I would appreciate if you could contact me on torquayimperial.gm@pumahotels.co.uk to discuss your experience further.

Kind regards,

Rafael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. We last stayed here about 8 years ago when we had a luxurious stay. We booked this hotel this time for a special birthday and were looking forward to being spoilt. We went to look at our room after checking in and were left speechless it was filthy, there was food from previous clients all over the floor which obviously hadn't been hoovered for a long time, food on the lounge chairs, thick grease on the bed headboards, handles missing on the furniture, the shower - well you would have had a better wash standing in the rain!, to say the furniture needs updating is an understatement and the bathroom was thick in grime. We went straight down to Reception to tell them the room at least needed hoovering and we were asked if we wanted to change rooms to which we said yes, but when the Receptionist looked further they told us they didn't have any rooms available! We had booked dbb and the first night the meal was very nice but on the following evening we were looking forward to another meal only to be given the same menu as the night before, apparently they only change their menu weekly. We have stayed in other 4 star hotels and have never come across this as usually menus are changed daily. On the first evening after our meal we went to have coffee in the bar but it was so cold around the hotel we retired to our disgusting room early as we couldn't sit any longer in the cold. We relayed our concerns on the Saturday evening to the Duty Manager, who obviously couldn't have cared a less, then on checking out we spoke to the Manager who again didn't care. We booked a delux room on a dbb rate direct with the hotel it doesn't pay to do this, after reading other reviews it is clear that if you book using an offer of some kind you seem to get better service and far better rooms.

Room Tip: Book via an offer!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,281 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Property: The Imperial Torquay
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing