We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great time with friends”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just had a two night stay here with friends, package was two nights B & B with dinner on the first night, great deal. Our rooms were upgraded to bay view, and were a delight, what a view! Tip, for grummpies the lift only goes up to the third floor. Food at dinner on the first night was good, breakfast was buffet style, with plenty to choose from. We ate in the bar on the second night once again good food, service made all the better from Kia the barmaid. Our rooms, 325 and 326, very roomy and as I have said a great view. If I have one criticism, it is with the in room safe. Bolted to the floor in a wardrobe, I wear veri-focus glasses and had to lay on the floor to operate the key pad. Would we stay here again, if we had the same deal yes.

Room Tip: The lift only up to third floor, bay view well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John from sunny Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit to The Imperial Hotel Torquay, I was very pleased to hear that you and your friends had a great stay with us; Kia was also very pleased to know you have recognised her services on your review. If next time you stay in our rooms in the 4th floor, we have a lift which will take you there, it is located at the back on the main stairs; there is no need to waste energy with the stairs from the 3rd floor! our Reception team will be delighted to point you in the right direction.

Kind regards,

Rafael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    920
    421
    200
    135
See reviews for
451
1,531
50
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (970)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just got back from a Monday to Friday Break at the Imperial Hotel. First impressions were good checking in was easy and we were offered an up grade, although not free we were allowed to look at both rooms and decided the upgrade was worth it for the fabulous view and the extra space. The room (418) was clean large and nice and warm, this room is right next to the lift and if the hotel would have been full this may have caused a problem as we could hear the ding of the lift everytime it reached our floor. Also our balcony which was huge was not accessable to us due to "on going maintanance" which was a shame as it was difficault to take any photos of the views from behind the glass, but on a plus side when we mentioned this on checking out was told we should have been told this on arrival and was offered a discount on our final bill.
Car parking in the hotel costs £7 per night for outside parking and £15 per night in the underground car park, there is not much of an alternative to this although Torquay has lots of car parks it would have cost more to park in these than the hotel. The hotel is on a hill which is quite steep but it is very close to all the amenities. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the food at breakfast was lovely, service was very good and the view from the dining room was fantastic. We did not have any other meals in the hotel so cannot comment on those. I think the hotel is still undergoing a refurbishment and from other comments i have read the furniture in the dining room has been updated and we overheard a couple who were obviously regulars say it is a vast improvment.
We used the indoor swimming pool which was warm, clean, and overall a good experiance. We did have a look at the outside pool area and would think that in the summer months would be a lovely place to sit and relax, the gardens are nice and the play area looked good.
Overall a nice hotel, good service, and has everthing you would need for a good break.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smallerpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer. As you mentioned we have recently updated the chairs in the Restaurant and they have made a big impact and there are more plans to improve the public areas in the near future. Indeed in the summer the outdoor swimming pool is a very popular area to unwind and relax; hopefully in your next visit you will be able to enjoy it and also try our Regatta Restaurant during dinner which I am sure will not disappoint you.

We look forward to seeing you in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Rafael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel a couple of times over tha past couple of years and on both ocassions been realy pleased. Had lovely rooms both times with sea views . I expext my luck not be on our next visit , but heh . Plenty of space in and around the hotel so you can find a nice corner usualy with a view to sip your coffee or wine. And a short walk down to the harbour. What more could you want.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyh20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to The Imperial Hotel Torquay, we are very pleased to hear that you had a great time with us. Please do let us know when you are coming back and we will make everything possible for you to have a Sea View room once again.

Kind regards,

Rafael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester uk
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This used to be 5stars now 4stars.The staff were very helpful and friendly even the bed makers which was nice.The food was lovely,got a bit fed up trying to choose a wine they had in off their list.The breakfast was very nice and had amazing views across the bay.Yes I agree with others that the furniture is dated but the size of the rooms and it was well worth paying extra for a sea view.We have been many times before but we do miss the fresh flowers in the entrance hall

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your visit to The Imperial Hotel Torquay, I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you found the food and service provided to be of a high standard. We hope to see you back soon.

Rafael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent a week-end here in March. Having never visited Torquay before we wanted to stay in the best hotel they had but weren't sure whether to book the Imperial or its rival, The Grand. I am so relieved we chose the Imperial as having now seen both it it clear that it is far superior. The hotel is set away from the main drag, up on a cliff overlooking the bay, affording it some of the most stunning views I've seen. Its location is perfect - peaceful and quiet with lovely grounds and uninterrupted views of the sea but still within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Yes, the decor and fittings in the rooms are a little dated but everything was still very clean and pleasant. The rooms are enormous and the tray of tea and shortbread was a nice touch. The bathroom was also very spacious and had nice toiletry products (Gilchrist & Soames) and towels warming on the heated towel rail. It was a very cold and wet week-end and the hotel was toasty and warm throughout. I loved the toile de jouy wallpaper, prints and porcelain plates in the public areas; the roaring fire in the lobby and the leather armchairs and yachting memorabilia in the bar. The health centre however, as another reviewer has pointed out, really does need a thorough clean and upgrade. We tried to book spa treatments but everything was already booked solid so clearly this service is popular and you need to book in advance of your stay. I thought the food needed some work too - I had a cream tea and one of the scones had been microwaved for too long leaving it rock hard, and I felt the breakfast options needed more care - a very standard fruit salad composed of apples and grapes for instance and the jam provided for toast and croissants was of the budget variety you get on aeroplanes. Dinner was good though. The staff were all incredibly helpful - they booked us taxis, recommended restaurants and dealt with any minor problems quickly and efficiently. What I enjoyed most of all was the character and atmosphere that the hotel retains which is utterly charming. So, some improvements needed but all in all the best hotel in Torquay.

Room Tip: Choose a sea-facing room or suite if you can - the views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your constructive and balanced review following your recent visit to The Imperial Hotel Torquay, I was glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you think of us as the best Hotel in Torquay. As you have described the hotel is full of character and we are aware that there are some areas which need improvement and there are plans to work on those areas.

I was very pleased with your comments regards our team; feedback such as these motivates us to keep delivering excellent customer service. We have also noted your comments on our food offering and we will address them to make the appropriate improvements.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Regards,

Rafael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

After reading some on the reviews i was a bit concerned, but when we arrived first impressions were good the main public areas are ornate and fitting with the hotel era, we were perfectly happy with our assigned room, but i thought it wouldn't hurt to take a look at a superior with a sea view we were given the key to a lovely room on the 4th floor, a little too high for me though, returning reception and explaining this to Eva and Ana the two fabulous ladies on duty, my other half asked about availability of the room next to our's which was clearly sea facing,i decided this would be a good time to mention that it was his birthday ( as well as mother's day) Eva said that it was actually the bridal suite and an expensive upgrade but as it was a double celebration she would give us a good deal, THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU EVA, the suite was amazing with a four poster bed in the separate bedroom plasma tv and sea views, super lounge and another plasma tv dinning area with balcony and private terrace overlooking the panoramic vista of the marina and Torquay,the huge bathroom is full of luxury spa products.We popped on the robes and slippers to visit the leisure facilities which we found very relaxing, breakfast was delicious with loads of choice, and once again the amazing views from the restaurant. Such a fantastic luxury break, as above i cannot thank Eva and Ana enough for the best mothers day/birthday ever, we will be back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: room 110 just fantastic in every way
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit to The Imperial Hotel Torquay, It was great to know that Ana and Eva were able to offer you a special deal for you to celebrate Mother’s day and your other half’s birthday; room 110 is certainly a special room with stunning views of the bay.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Rafael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just returned from at two night stay at the imperial hotel, we had a fantastic time, our room was lovely, very spacious, and clean, the view was amazing! ... We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis the breakfast was very nice and plenty to choose from, over all we had a lovely two day break at the imperial and would Definitely stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Con1141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit to The Imperial Hotel Torquay, I was very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the fabulous view from your room.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back this year.

Regards,

Rafael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Property: The Imperial Torquay
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#31 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing