We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views and friendly staff but some improvements needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent a week-end here in March. Having never visited Torquay before we wanted to stay in the best hotel they had but weren't sure whether to book the Imperial or its rival, The Grand. I am so relieved we chose the Imperial as having now seen both it it clear that it is far superior. The hotel is set away from the main drag, up on a cliff overlooking the bay, affording it some of the most stunning views I've seen. Its location is perfect - peaceful and quiet with lovely grounds and uninterrupted views of the sea but still within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Yes, the decor and fittings in the rooms are a little dated but everything was still very clean and pleasant. The rooms are enormous and the tray of tea and shortbread was a nice touch. The bathroom was also very spacious and had nice toiletry products (Gilchrist & Soames) and towels warming on the heated towel rail. It was a very cold and wet week-end and the hotel was toasty and warm throughout. I loved the toile de jouy wallpaper, prints and porcelain plates in the public areas; the roaring fire in the lobby and the leather armchairs and yachting memorabilia in the bar. The health centre however, as another reviewer has pointed out, really does need a thorough clean and upgrade. We tried to book spa treatments but everything was already booked solid so clearly this service is popular and you need to book in advance of your stay. I thought the food needed some work too - I had a cream tea and one of the scones had been microwaved for too long leaving it rock hard, and I felt the breakfast options needed more care - a very standard fruit salad composed of apples and grapes for instance and the jam provided for toast and croissants was of the budget variety you get on aeroplanes. Dinner was good though. The staff were all incredibly helpful - they booked us taxis, recommended restaurants and dealt with any minor problems quickly and efficiently. What I enjoyed most of all was the character and atmosphere that the hotel retains which is utterly charming. So, some improvements needed but all in all the best hotel in Torquay.

Room Tip: Choose a sea-facing room or suite if you can - the views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for your constructive and balanced review following your recent visit to The Imperial Hotel Torquay, I was glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you think of us as the best Hotel in Torquay. As you have described the hotel is full of character and we are aware that there are some areas which need improvement and there are plans to work on those areas.

I was very pleased with your comments regards our team; feedback such as these motivates us to keep delivering excellent customer service. We have also noted your comments on our food offering and we will address them to make the appropriate improvements.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Regards,

Rafael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,792 - 2,798 of 3,120 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

After reading some on the reviews i was a bit concerned, but when we arrived first impressions were good the main public areas are ornate and fitting with the hotel era, we were perfectly happy with our assigned room, but i thought it wouldn't hurt to take a look at a superior with a sea view we were given the key to a lovely room on the 4th floor, a little too high for me though, returning reception and explaining this to Eva and Ana the two fabulous ladies on duty, my other half asked about availability of the room next to our's which was clearly sea facing,i decided this would be a good time to mention that it was his birthday ( as well as mother's day) Eva said that it was actually the bridal suite and an expensive upgrade but as it was a double celebration she would give us a good deal, THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU EVA, the suite was amazing with a four poster bed in the separate bedroom plasma tv and sea views, super lounge and another plasma tv dinning area with balcony and private terrace overlooking the panoramic vista of the marina and Torquay,the huge bathroom is full of luxury spa products.We popped on the robes and slippers to visit the leisure facilities which we found very relaxing, breakfast was delicious with loads of choice, and once again the amazing views from the restaurant. Such a fantastic luxury break, as above i cannot thank Eva and Ana enough for the best mothers day/birthday ever, we will be back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: room 110 just fantastic in every way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit to The Imperial Hotel Torquay, It was great to know that Ana and Eva were able to offer you a special deal for you to celebrate Mother’s day and your other half’s birthday; room 110 is certainly a special room with stunning views of the bay.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Rafael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just returned from at two night stay at the imperial hotel, we had a fantastic time, our room was lovely, very spacious, and clean, the view was amazing! ... We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis the breakfast was very nice and plenty to choose from, over all we had a lovely two day break at the imperial and would Definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Con1141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit to The Imperial Hotel Torquay, I was very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the fabulous view from your room.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back this year.

Regards,

Rafael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Travelled with my best friend for a hen weekend and we weren't disappointed. The hotel was lovely and clean a little dated in places but then that's what you expect from a hotel with this amount of character. The reception staff were extremely proficient in dealing with our check in and handling queries on departure. The restaurant staff were very attentive and we weren't disappointed with the food. The views are spectacular and utterly breath taking.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank CasperEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments; it is good to know that you and your friend had a wonderful stay with us at The Imperial Hotel Torquay and that you enjoyed our facilities.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Rafael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Positives:
Hotel is nicely located, rooms spacious and very clean(although furnitures bit tired). Room facilities well provided, free basic wifi. Free small ( well very small) swimming pool with sauna and one jacuzzi bath tube. Nice breakfast with good choice of food if you come early enough to not wait in queue.

Negatives
Reception workerd NOT ONCE pick up phone from room, and we called several times (finally my partner called from his mobile and miracle happen, someone worked there). Restaurant evening meal was definitely not pleasent. First thing- after initial setting you down waiters tend to forget your existance, we had to wait quite some time to place order than to order some more drinks finally to pay -that's how we end up being late for other arrangements. Maybe we would be more understandable BUT except us there was just like 4 couples in restaurant that time. Meal - main course (fish pie) was really nice and big, I've eaten it with lot of pleasure, but starter looks like barely defrost micro prawns flooded in Tesco 1000islands sauce. Eatable but not in pretending to be upclass restaurant and not for such money we paid for meals. Oh and not forget for charging for parking.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

I would like to thank you for your recent review, I am sorry to hear everything was not to your satisfaction and I would also like to thank you for the constructive feedback. We normally have good comments on our dinner offering, apologies if during your visit we failed to achieve our normal standards; we are always working very hard to achieve consistency with our product and services.

Once again I would like to thank you for your comments and we would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the area.

Kind regards,

Rafael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A really grand hotel with some superb original features which really are lovely and the views are simply amazing! Room was clean and well appointed, including a good quality TV, and reliable WIFI throughout the hotel. Yes it's showing its age in places...but that's understandable for such a grand, character hotel. The room was nice and warm...and overall the stay was very pleasant.

However...for me, the food is a big part of any hotel stay, and this is where we were let down by the Imperial. To start with we were disappointed by the cream tea & scones for afternoon tea...the scones tasted like they were bought in and frozen. Not what I would expect for a "top quality" Devon hotel. Then there's the evening dinner which was really quite poor to be honest...salad wasn't fresh and the profiterole dessert was frozen...just not what I expected at all. Although to be fair...the cooked breakfast buffet in the mornings was very nice...so good breakfast but poor dinner!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lagoonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit, I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your room with the great views but at the same time disappointed that you did not enjoy our food offering. We will use your comment to make the appropriate improvements and hopefully you will be able to see them on your next visit.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Regards,

Rafael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

What has happened ot this once majestic hotel? Having stayed at the hotel some years ago when it was in it's splendor, we decided to revisit the area and stay at The Imperial. Having booked into our room we realised that the hotel and become rather shabby and in the room allocated to us the patio doors were lock and the balcony was out of bounds. We asked reception to change rooms and was told that we had been givien the wrong room and that this particular room was allocated to someone else anyway. Our second room was better and had access to the balcony with it's fabulous views. We were told that most of the balconies are out of bounds because of metal fatique and that there is some ongoing problem with the local council regarding this!! The breakfast was adequate but unfortunately the service from the staff was appaulling. Two mornings were self service and I had to go and find staff to ask for a pot of tea and on both occassions the tea pot was plonked down on the table - no communication, just plonked between us. On the third morning (Monday) we were told that breakfast orders would be taken at the table. After helping ourselves and eating our fruit course we continued to wait for our cooked order to be taken; after 20 minutes of waiting my husband had to go and ask one of the staff to take our order which then took another twenty minutes to arrive. My husbands meal was hot enough but mine was cold. The staff obviously need extra training. On top of all this we had to pay £7.00 per night for a parking space. The hotel is positioned with wonderful views but it's a shame that the interior and the staff let it down.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent visit. I am truly sorry your experience was not a positive one and rest assured all points raised will be addressed in order to improve our service and product.

Please do contact me when you are next in the area and we will make sure you have an enjoyable return stay. You can email us on torquayimperial.gm@pumahotels.co.uk

Kind regards,

Rafael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
599 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 85 in Torquay
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
666 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $77 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing