We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs loads of money throwing at it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night in December. Having spent a few Christmas's here in the past - thought it would be ok. The fact that I could not get them to answer the phone should have put me off in the first instance! This hotel is very, very tired and lacks the sparkle it once had. The rooms are in desperate need of refurbishment, the breakfast lacked any lustre so much so I did not eat anything. The staff looked so fed up and did not want to be there! There are many lovely modern hotels in Torquay, I suggest you look elsewhere for accommodation. This hotel is tenanted and obviously the tenant does not want to spend any money more than necessary on it.

Room Tip: Another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank number0nefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. Your comments are especially disappointing as since Puma Hotels Collection (who own our 21 Hotels) took over the running of the Hotels in March of last year we have focused in the up grading of all our public area's. The lobby, bar, conservatory, Palm Court Lounge and collanade have been completely refurbished. The Regatta restaurant is next on the list. We are a very traditional hotel build in 1866 with a scale of design that would not be considered in a modern construction. I can only apologise that we did not meet your expectations.

Thank you again for your review.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,787 - 2,793 of 3,080 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

A very nice hotel, my fave in Torquay.

Fantastic views over the bay from the room and restaurant. Didn't get the chance to go for a swim this time unfortunately.

Great room, helpful and friendly staff, great brekkie. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrchrisSunnyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time and look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial very soon.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with my girlfriend with a special offer price I found online. At what we paid it was really great value and we were both thoroughly impressed.
The room was nice - large and spacious with very high ceilings. Slightly dated furnishings and bathroom fittings but quality nonetheless.

We didn't eat in apart from Breakfast, which was of good quality and waiting staff were very accommodating. On our final morning we ordered breakfast to the room which was very useful and cost only £5 tray delivery - a great service.

Only complaint is that I wasn't told in advance that I would have to pay extra for parking and was only made aware of this when presented with a bill upon departure. I feel the reception staff should have mentioned this when we checked in. Otherwise though it was a great stay, especially for how cheap it was.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wigan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Imperial. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I have taken up your comment with the reception team. Thank you for bringing it to my attention. I hope we will see you back at the Hotel very soon.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We much enjoyed our Christmas stay at the Imperial. We upgraded to a Superior room which was well worth it. Spacious bed/living room and excellent bathroom, large balcony overlooking the whole of Torbay, and noted the high quality very fresh carpeting throughout the hotel. We understand that the hotel is now run by the Puma group and that it had got very run down when owned by Barcelona (they should update all their printed material accordingly). Room service carried out by a jolly goblin was excellent.

We were lucky to have a superb restaurant manager at our end of the restaurant. She was struggling with the slow kitchen service on Christmas Day but kept us all reasonably happy. Her wonderful smile on our first visit to the restaurant on Christmas Eve was a boost after the very cold greeting at Reception, with no attempt to advise on how to get our baggage from car to room (just keen to get us to put a hefty amount on account to cover extras). Overall the food was very good, considering the numbers being catered for (they did seem to underestimate the number of people wanting cold rather than hot for the Boxing Day brunch.)

Bar service was very poor. Christmas Eve the very inexperienced bar attendant asked us what was a Prosecco - a Manuel moment - "is it a wine?" and having found a bottle, he half filled it to wait for the bubbles to subside before filling it to the top, as would be correct, except there were no bubbles. He presented me with some sort of flat cloudy liquid, more like scrumpy. The head barman arrived at this point and quickly rectified the situation and also provided the wine chosen from the list that the younger barman said they didn't stock. On leaving the bar to go into dinner we noted the main reception area was littered with empty glasses from the Bucks Fizz reception, much earlier. Bar service only picked up later in our stay when a very efficient girl arrived, clearing glasses as soon as people left their tables. She said she has been there throughout Christmas but had been asked to assist elsewhere.

We were also disappointed with the tea or arrival after a long journey. Would have thought there could have been something else available beside a scone, cream and jam (not liked by me) and it took some time for them to find green and mint tea for us. Horrid china and only wooden spatulas to remove our tea bags - not dissimilar to the tea provided when visiting a friend in a care home the day before.

The pantomime included as part of the package was great fun, we enjoyed our bracing walks into town and were surprised they didn't charge us for the parking, as indicated on arrival. The first two nights' musical entertainment was enjoyed by many, Boxing night a bit loud and not much participation - everyone blasted away.

This was our first experience of spending Christmas in an hotel in the UK and overall it didn't disappoint and I guess the couple of Basil Faulty experiences made the package complete.

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the updated superior rooms and avoid the communal receptions over Christmas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your Christmas at the Imperial. I'm delighted that in the main you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try and cater for everyone and hope that you all have a wonderful time. I have taken on board your comments and can assure you they will be addressed for next year. Thank you again and we hope we can welcome you back to the Imperial in the near future.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arived for a New Years Eve break to be greeted by friendly staff, a nice clean comfy room with a side sea view. Yes the floor boards did squeak a little and the patio doors wouldn't open fully due to hotel work, but that was all the down side. The breakfast choice was excellent the buffets were plentiful and the views were all enjoyed. The New Years Eve do was a talking point but we had a laugh and had a very relaxing break. We did pay alot less than some other guest so it might be worth looking for deals if going away for New Year again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKSAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your New Years Eve stay at the Imperial. I'm delighted you had an enjoyable stay.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Chose this hotel's package to celebrate Christmas, the first time we have ever stayed away from home at this time, apart from being at other family members' homes - what a super albeit expensive experience, it turned out to be. Arriving on Sun 23rd. we were welcomed by friendly staff, who quickly sorted out a 'blue badge' parking space for us 'young' OAP's virtually just nearby the front entrance, for our 4 night stay. Having upgraded to a Superior double room with sea frontage, we were delighted with all aspects of it with wonderful views of Torbay, right outside of our balconied patio doors - absolutely perfect. Excellent food, good service provided in the well appointed restaurant, listenable entertainment every night, all combined to make the celebrations most memorable and we will recommend it to others enthusiastically. There has to be something to moan about, we are British after all ! We would have liked the central heating to have stayed on through the night - it was December after all - and with 250 guests in residence, needing Christmas beverages, one small bar with usually only one bar person in attendance, was woefully inadequate ! Nevertheless, we had a super Christmas break - well done the Imperial, have a Happy New Year !!

Room Tip: Superior sea front every time,the views are spectactular !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank STEPHEN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your well balanced and positive review. We really appreciate you taking the time and I have noted the points you raised and will do better next year. May I also wish you a happy New Year and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We were looking forward to a relaxing break at this supposed four star hotel but was dissapointed from the start. No one was at Reception when we arrived so we had to wait for 5 minutes. Not long I know but it surely shouldn't have happened. On arrival on new years eve there was no explanation that the restaurant was closed during our 2 night stay or any of the facilities at the hotel. We were however handed a letter which contained minimal hotel information.

Our room was although clean rather tired looking. There was also a welcome pack from Barcelo hotels even though the hotel is now under the ownership of Puma Hotels.

The biggest let down of all at this hotel was the service.. After the lack of service in reception this was followed by disinterested staff at breakfast. No explanation regarding the food. The table we were taken to was not laid up properly so we had to wait even though there were tables all ready to be used. After a long day out we decided to have afternoon tea upon which we were told that.. she was too busy to serve us and she would get to us when she could but it would be a long time. Very surprising considering there wasn't many other customers about. After that we decided not to bother.

It is a shame because you could see what a great hotel it might have been in the past and what it could be again with a serious amount of money and time dedicated to training their staff.

One good thing is the free wifi which I am using to write this review. The other is the fabulous views but this doesn't make up for the hotels shortcomings. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lunchmunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Imperial, I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We run two programmes each year over the festive period that includes all meals and entertainment. We also offer a friends and family rate that is bed and breakfast for those guests that want to use the hotel as a base and visit friends in the local area. I'm sorry that this was not explained to you at time of booking.

Thank you again for your review

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,496 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#18 of 85 in Torquay
1,163 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $76 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing