We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Visited Imperial Hotel to attend a naval reunion and found the hotel to be very classy.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was very nice.
Leisure facilities very available but didn't use these.
Sea view from bedrooms, bar and dinning room are awesome.

Room Tip: Sea views are a must
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieW62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for your great review, we are always delighted to learn of guests positive experiences. We hope that you will visit The Imperial again soon.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,953)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Torquay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,735 - 2,741 of 2,954 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is on a uphill walk from the town but this is compensated by the view from the restaurant which looks over the bay. Rooms are standard even if the furniture could do with a little updating. I have stayed here 3 times over the last two years and I have not had a bad stay. Breakfast is as standard and not too expensive. Nice hotel for vacation and business.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IFlank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review. We are older than the average hotel having been built in 1866. We have invested over two million pounds at the hotel over the last few years and this investment I'm confident will continue. We all look forward to your next visit.

Thank you

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was so delighted when I had this room booked for me, the hotel is in a beautiful location and I got a room with a balcony facing the sea. It was a fantastic sight. Booking in was good, staff at reception were really helpful and the foyer is beautiful. However I got to my room and it wasn't clean and the bedsheet had a stain I rang reception and they immediately no questions asked changed my room and sent someone up to help with my bags and bring me the key. My next room was fine and lovely and clean. Even on exit the staff continuously apologised and seemed shocked so I am assuming this is a one off for them. It is a beautiful hotel, however some of the rooms are slightly dated, they furniture is worn out and it shows and the decor is a little old but the bathrooms look brand new and overall a nice stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlitterR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for giving such a balanced view of your stay. We are a traditional hotel built in 1866. I'm delighted that you found the team concerned as we do care.

Thank you again.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just spent a 2 night break at the Imperial Hotel Torquay. This the 2nd time we have visited this hotel and on both occasions have not been disappointed. The view from the room was breathtaking.The housekeeping on both our visits has been excellant. The breakfast was very good although it was busy we did not have to wait for anything, and the food was replenished regularly.We ate in the restaurant on our first night which was reasonably priced and we felt was good value for money. The second night we ate in the lounge bar here the service was excellant and the food lovely. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the view , always try and book a sea view room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainJohn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Torquay in the near future.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Arrived on business at The Imperial Hotel, arrived late at night and checked in with a very welcome welcome by the girl behind reception.

The hotel's interior is very grand and opulent and with it comes staff who are friendly and helpful.

My room, was warm, spacious, clean and very comfortable and offered fantastic views over the bay which not many hotels in Torquay can offer.

Whilst I was at the hotel I ordered room service, which came very promptly and both the presentation and taste was beautiful.

Breakfast offered the best selection I have seen and nicely spread out so no there were no dinner queues like you see at some other hotels, the hot food selection was always kept topped up and fresh.

The hotel staff take a lot of pride and care in the service that they offer and I would recommend a stay here to anyone.

Room Tip: If offered to upgrade for a supplement price, it is well worth it. The view, the spacious room and t...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your great review. The Team are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Imperial in the near future.

Thank you

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is in a lovely location with amazing views, the rooms are a very good size and clean. The welcome we received wasn't very good and this was the same in the restaurant where we had to wait ten minutes to be seated. The food in the restaurant was standard hotel food, we felt like we were being rushed with dinner so they could set up for breakfast. The biggest disappointment at the hotel was the spa facilities, they were nothing more than like a council run leisure centre, the swimming pool and changing rooms are dated and could do with good clean! The treatment rooms were the worst we've ever seen, they were cold, loud, with very uncomfortable beds, not the relaxing experience we had hoped for. Overall we would return to the hotel for the location but wouldnt use the restaurant or spa facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windsorgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for your well balanced review of your visit, we have noted your comments in relation to the leisure club and although we will not in the short term be able to re-furbish the facility you have given us a very strong indication of what we have to do. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your restaurant experience. We have in the last six months increased the menu size and introduced a fresh Brixham fish menu in conjunction with a local trader. This was done as a direct response to guest feedback on Trip advisor. The AA two weeks ago awarded the restaurant a Rosette. It would be true to say in such a large restaurant we do try to cater for the needs of a large and diverse clientele, we unfortunately have to accept we will not satisfy every guest. I'm truly sorry this was your experience.

I'm delighted that you would return and I hope that we will continue to give you reason to do so.

Again thank you for your review.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just spent a 2 night break with my Husband at this Hotel. Food very good, wonderful breakfast,, ate in bar one night and the restaurant the second both of which were good. Located up on the cliff with great sea views, so a short 5 mins walk to the town and Harbour. We were "upgraded " on arrival so had a very nice sea view which was a bonus! The pool etc. very good.

Room Tip: all floors at front have sea view , the higher the better.!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for your fantastic review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I can't tell what a lift a review such as your gives the team, and just goes to show how Trip Advisor has become such a well balanced forum.

Thank you again.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,430 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,133 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
645 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $99 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing