We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Enjoyed a 3 night stay. Wonderful room with outstanding view and balcony.
Reception welcome was first class and at all times the staff were friendly and welcoming.
Breakfast was outstanding and the evening meal was real value for money.
The leisure facilities were excellent and it was interesting to talk with members of the facility who made us as visitors very welcome.
A wedding took place on the Saturday of our stay and at breakfast next morning we heard repeated praise for the event.
I have stayed at the hotel many times. The real area of improvement needed is to replace the furniture in the dining room. The faded and scratched chairs detract from the wonderful views, quality food and excellent service.
I do hope the senior team from Puma visit and give the Manager at the Imperial the budget to make this improvement. For little investment a wonderful improvement could be made.

Room Tip: any room on the 4th floor
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,957)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Torquay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,787 - 2,793 of 2,957 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

First stayed in this hotel for our first break away asa couple. Returned this week to celebrate my birthday.
Love Torbay and The Imperial has stunning views across the bay. Chose a deluxe double room which was huge and took full advantage of the location. The room opened onto a balcony and so we had a fantastic breath taking views of the Harbour, the whole of Torbay across to Brixham. Just fabulous.
As Leisure Break members we also got a 2 pm checkout on ourmfinal day which allowed to to be lazy andmmakenthe most of our wonderful room. The hotel is just a short walk downhill to the harbour, Marina, shops and all the facilities on offer in this bustling seaside resort.

Room Tip: Make sure you book one with a sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hutson110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

since being taken over by the puma group i felt that the standards of service have gone up a notch or two ,the breakfast was also a better offering than when barcelo ran it .this has to be the best hotel in the torbay area and the setting could not be better , we have been using this hotel for the last 12 years from when paramount owned it and it had a 5 * rating and it has never dissapointed us.the only problem i have with the hotel is that they charge for parking ,i dont think this is a good policy as 99% of the hotels in this area dont charge and it seems a bit of a penny pinching excercise ?if you were looking for a few days by the coast i dont think you could do better than staying here.

Room Tip: try to get a sea facing as the views are to die for.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ainsleydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Imperial is set in the most wonderful location overlooking the bay with uninterrupted views of Paignton and Brixham. A 400 yard stroll down to the harbour and promenade you can't be more convieniantly situated. The hotel is a grand old lady giving a sense of "occasion" . It is clear that money is being invested in her and hopefully this will continue.
The staff were warm and welcoming at all times And the food of a good quality served with panoramic views. The room was very comfortable with 2 new chairs for reading/relaxing, a comfortable large bed and strong shower. The room towels were very large beach size and of a high quality. Shower gel and toiletries were provided if you fail to take your own.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay again at the Imperial as it represented to us very good value in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BowlesNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Friendly relaxing 6 night stay with fabulous view across Torbay. Sunny weather obviously helped. We were able to use the lovely warm outdoor pool. Staff were all friendly. Breakfast was good but evening meal in restaurant were great. Curtains in rooms were shabby and need replacing. Would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Defintely go for a room with a seaview and balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familytaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

To walk into the Imperial Hotel in Torquay is to step back in time to a bygone era of understated elegance & exquisite public rooms. The accomodation is well appointed & furnished to a high standard. The hotel has an impressive history & the guest list reads like a "Who's Who" of the day with patrons including Agatha Christie, numerous celebrities & even Queen Victoria. The hotel nestles high on a cliff top with stunning panoramic views of Torbay. A resort in itself, the hotel has beautiful landscaped gardens & manicured lawns & benefits from all the amenities one would expect from a first class hotel. In particular the Regatta Restaurant is one of the finest on the English Riviera. The hotel has not remained in the past but has moved with the times offering every facility a modern guest would want. But any hotel is only as good as its staff. The Imperial Hotel again exceeds all others in the area with staff that are without exception professional, pleasant & polite & always willing to go that extra mile. In short, you will not find a better hotel in Torbay or indeed on the English Riviera. Mark Hatzer.

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra for a deluxe room with a balcony & sea view over Torbay - the views ar...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here with husband and friends. Booking through late rooms- we upgraded to a sea view with balcony on arrival.
It is worth doing as why choose such a prominent and wonderful location without being able to see it.
I thought that the outside of the building- including the side viewed from my balcony was shabby but the inside retains classic features which make it a pleasure. No issues with staff- requested additional sachets of coffee and this was delivered to the room by a porter within 15 minutes.
I wouldnt pay more than £120.00 for a room- so it will have to be a special offer/ late booking.
But would definitely return with my family next time for a longer stay- fantastic central location.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view- its worth it
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 987MollyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,431 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,136 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#26 of 87 in Torquay
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
646 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $98 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing