We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The English Riviera”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Spent a couple of nights at the Imperial Torquay and found the hotel to be excellent value. It evidently used to be a five star hotel and some of the facilities still are. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Location was excellent, just a short walk to the busy harbour bars, restaurant and shops and the elevated views were magnificant. Well worth a visit if you're in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, the view across the bay is magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanceT158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,113 - 3,119 of 3,239 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

As so many other reviewers have said the location is perfect with stunning views. The public areas are quite grand and charming. Some of the furnishings however are in severe need of
refurbishment, especially the dining room chairs! Our room seemed a bit of a mess in terms of
colour co-ordination but it was comfortable none the less. Breakfast was well cooked and well presented. With some further investment this hotel could go from "very good" to "fantastic"

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanF444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I have just spent a weekend in this hotel and enjoyed it immensely. I remember the Imperial from years ago when it was my parents' favourite place to stay. While some of the paintwork and upholstery is in need of renewal the Imperial, with its outstanding position overlooking Torbay, has not lost its charm. We had a beautiful room on the garden level overlooking the sea - spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed two dinners (and breakfasts) in the restaurant and found the food good and plentiful. The breakfast buffet in particular was excellent. I should perhaps mention that there were two weddings over the weekend (I think this is a popular venue) which meant that the bar was somewhat crowded and noisy as guests tended to spill over into the public areas. This did not mar our stay, however. We found the staff friendly and helpful. I look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: The sea-view rooms are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We used this hotel on the weekend of 11/8 for our sons wedding ceremony and reception.
The views from the hotel are stunning across Torbay.
The staff cant do enough for you and everything promised was delivered upon, thanks to Adam and his team. If you're looking for a unique wedding venue then this is it.
Sure the hotel is old and in need of a lick of paint in some areas, but it retains its original character which separates it from the other plastic look-a-like hotels that you can find anywhere.
This is a truly British experience with wooden floors and chandeliers and its character justifies the price.
Obviously being a wedding we had a set meal which was very good indeed, and the breakfast the following morning didn't disappoint. We only live 12 miles away but it was so good I'd consider a weekend there.
We had a room upgrade which gave us a sea view with balcony and loungers. Our son and his new wife had a suite which was just fabulous, although the balcony and sun deck area could do with some Tlc.
The bathroom was spacious with a really good power shower and toiletries.
Negatives.....well the drinks were a bit expensive ...but they are in hotels.
As others have said the location is superb ... just a short stroll down to the harbour, although the return journey is a bit uphil.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and get a sea view room...well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tannerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Couldn't fault the service, location or food. The staff were all very helpful, smiling and professional. Although an older hotel, it still holds it's charm and splendour; the public areas are wonderful, the view from the restaurant fantastic - I only wish I'd had time to try the leisure facilties. I hope no one tries to change it to a modern glass and chrome monstrosity. I would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

By far the best thing about the Imperial is its panoramic view of Torbay. It's a good class of hotel. The public areas are spacious, impressive and well maintained. My room was large, with a queensize bed, balcony overlooking the bay, sun beds and a good sized bathroom. All this for £72 per night B&B. The service and attention to detail did leave a lot to be desired. The waste bin in my room still had the previous occupent's rubbish, and there was no coffee or tea in the room. I had to call reception 3 times to get these supplies and it took 30 minutes to arrive. The buffet breakfast, too, was disappointing. The food was of a very good quality but, as can be the case with breakfast buffets when poor service standards are endemic, every item was lukewarm and had been hanging around for too long.
But, and I really must stress this, the quality of the room and the views make up for the poor service levels, and because of that I would readily stay again - especially at that sort of price.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyfromSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Had a great time, The room was fantastic, could not use the balcony as it was being repaired which was a shame as the view was fantastic.

The Staff were all very professional and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Will be going back in the near future.
The room was very large and well apointed.and the dining was very good. The drinks were a bit expesnsive but thats UK hotels for you.

Room Tip: Negotiate the price when you book up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,576 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $81 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing