We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable and relaxing - seaview rooms excellent. Parking extra !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and relaxing - seaview rooms excellent. Parking extra !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We booked this as part of a 'Leisurebreaks Club' deal (3 nights midweek B+B for a total of GBP 250). We were upgraded to a Seaview room and were very impressed. Good sized room with 2 easy chairs and table, decent bathroom and a comfortable bed. There was a large balcony with excellent views over Torbay - big enough to accomodate a couple of sun loungers. The hotel is of a 'grand old dame' style but not stuffy by any means. 5/10 minute walk down to the centre of Torquay(literally down - so a walk up on the return journey !). Good breakfast buffet choice. It costs GBP 7 a night to park the car in the hotel car park - this seems to be creeping into hotel pricing nowadays sadly - not the firat time I've come across this - I'm afraid that unless it's a big City Centre location, I think the parking should be free. That aside, I will definitely stay here again if I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are excellent - try to get one of these if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hauxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    876
    405
    196
    130
See reviews for
433
1,429
49
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We expected the Imperial Hotel to be a faded gem. We were pleasantly surprised by how up to date it is. Our rooms were huge with balconies and wonderful views of the ocean. The bathrooms were clean and modern. The breakfast that they offered was excellent, served in a beautiful room with a gorgeous view. The bar was also very pleasant. The spa had a small indoor swimming pool with whirlpool and steam room. We would definitely recommend the Imperial Hotel for your stay on the "British Riviera."

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review, we are a traditional Victorian hotel and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed 2 days mid week, The staff were friendly and helpful. The room large with sea veiw. I had beauty treatments which were will worth booking in advance. The food on both evening was will cooked and tasty. Breackfast is better taken after the groups have gone out for the day or its a bit bussy. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlp_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your great review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Myself, my partner and our two children stayed for a weekend break in June 2012. We booked a suite - which had stunning views across Torbay but the room was very tired looking and in desperate need of modernisation.
The staff was very friendly and welcoming.
The restuarant was over-priced, as you expect in hotels but the food standard wasn't particularly great either - very greasy and not very well presented.
The location of the hotel is great, just a short walk to the marina and town centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Imperial, I'm sorry that you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay. We have over the last three years invested over two million pounds at the Imperial and this investment will continue. Any future investment will be sympathetic to the values of the Victorian era that we were build. I really would hate in a world that is desperate to modernise our heritage that this great hotel built in 1866 would become the same as all the others.

Thank you again

Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I think 15 years of choosing hotels has finally paid off. We had a great stay, but I can totally see how it could have been rubbish. Here is how we won
1. Choose a deluxe room (never standard) - in a tired hotel, 'standard' is code for 'not refurbished'
2. Look for special offers - We found 50% off the room
3. Buy what the hotel does best (in this case - sea view)
4. If its a busy night (2 weddings on our night) have a room service breakfast - every thing you want for an extra £5
5. Put your do no disturb sign on, otherwise housekeeping come at some ungodly hour
6. If you are next to a lift or main door, change your room immediately

We did all of these and had a top stay

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mlillywh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Imperial. It was most informative and has given us a great in site into area's we can improve. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again

Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in June. We were really happy with our room, it had an excellent view from the balcony, the room was large and clean. We had only paid £69 a night on Expedia so we felt it was definitely value for money. It was a short walk into Torquay and easy to pick up coastal walks from the hotel. The breakfast had loads of choice but I would have to say that the coffee was not good. We walked into Torquay to get a proper coffee every day!! I would also have to add that we used the pool and gym and they weren't of a good standard. I would be most upset if I'd booked a spa getaway as it didn't feel relaxing, the changing rooms looked messy and the pool was looking tired. We didn't eat in the hotel (apart from breakfast) as there were so many choices near by (The Elephant and Orange Tree), In conclusion I feel the hotel was great value for money and would stay again.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea facing room when we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are really happy that in the main you enjoyed your stay. We are currently awaiting some additional coffee machines for our breakfast offering that will make available speciality coffees on a bean to cup basis for those that prefer fresh ground coffee. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy our leisure club, we do have the additional facility of a heated out door pool that over looks the Bay which weather permitting is open from May through to October.

Again thank you for your review.

Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I cannot stress this enough save your money and stay well away from this hotel. The only thing that is appealing about this hotel are the pictures on the web site, in reality the whole place is in need of a total refurb. This looks like once ( my estimations about 30 years ago ) it used to be a lovely hotel but now it's dirty, shabby, if the hotel won't replace the torn carpets then at least clean them. The chairs in the restraunt torn and dirty and the staff apart from them picking their nose and wiping it on the seats I think they need to be retrained in cleanliness , especially the management rather than have a go at your customers, try and use a little bit of that energy to write an email to the owners stressing that it needs shutting down because in the end their wont be any customers left that would want to go and stay in such conditions.
So please give it a total refurb because I would pay double to stay in a lovely hotel rather than stay somewhere as disgusting as your hotel. This hotel should be a 2 star

Room Tip: Let's face it there are no good rooms at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trek-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I'm truly sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Thank you again

Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#52 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#31 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Of the 152 bedrooms, 60 are sea-facing premium rooms, 29 deluxe rooms with sea views, and 13 suites. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing