We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit.”
Review of Torquay Museum

Torquay Museum
Ranked #18 of 63 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel back through 400 million years of time at Torquay Museum - a hands-on family-friendly visitor attraction, with lots to see and do for children and adults alike. A wide variety of exhibitions are hosted throughout the year by the Museum, from child-friendly summer blockbusters to fascinating exhibitions about South Devon's amazing archaeology, geology and people. Detect your way through Britain's only Agatha Christie gallery at Torquay Museum, come face-to-face with North-West Europe's oldest human fossil and explore Ancient Egypt, including the coffin of a 2,500 year old mummified boy. Then follow the incredible journeys made by Torquay's famous explorers, from the frozen wastes of the Antarctic to the depths of the Brazilian rainforest.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

It had three floors with different exibits. While I was there it also had an Agartha Christie exibition. The Doctor Who exibition was also good. There was minerals and rocks from the coast old boat logs. It was quite interesting because it had such a mixture of exibits and those you could touch you could.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    109
    52
    17
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good value overall.....I think !”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Well, I wasnt too impressed at first, but on reflection....it tries to please everyone, and sort of succeeds....£15.95 for a family of 2 plus 2....the sci-fi bit is superbly done, dalek, cyberman, yoda, even a live stormtrooper....impressive. Kids loved it, as did they the interactive stuff, dressing up, brass rubbings....they really do tap into the kiddies psyche. For me personally, I found it a little dull....stuffed birds, an obsession with Agatha Christie, not a lot on Torquay history I felt, or maybe I missed the point ? Still, an hour well spent I suppose, but I wouldnt rush back, unless I had children in tow. Would be quite dull without the sci-fi display I think. Usual gift shop and cafe available for those who need them. VERY cheerful, helpful and enthusiastic staff.....overall, a bit of an enigma, so 4 stars to give them the benefit of the doubt.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank brixhamrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“ROCKS AND ROCK CAKES!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A friendly and well organised museum, covering a wide range of subjects, from Agatha Christie to archaeology. A visit to the latter section is a useful way to prepare for a visit to Kents Cavern a few miles away.
One special feature is the irresistible smell of baking that spreads through the museum mid-morning. This draws you to the museum cafe where the source of the smell is found in delicious rock cakes. But do try them before lunch - they really do go like hot cakes!
The museum is a stiff uphill walk from the harbour area, but there is a reasonable supply of metred parking outside the museum.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DUMFRIESSHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton keynes
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small, but interesting”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I managed to catch the last day of the SciFi expo, but after reading some rave reviews on here about it, I was expecting a lot more, it was a tad disappointing. But saying that, when the black storm trooper walked through the door, it did get a 'ooh' from us all. The rest of the museum was well displayed, but some parts were sparce but others like the Devon Farmhouse were very well set out. The Agatha Christie expo was also very disappointing. Great for a visit if you have a couple of hours to kill from the rain.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Badzena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We really enjoyed all the exhibits here, it was particularly spacious and well set out. We particulalry liked all the information about Agatha Christie.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torquay Museum also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Torquay Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing