We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing evening”

Pier Point Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #28 of 338 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing evening”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have only ever stopped here for the odd drink but decided to try an evening meal. (26th July) The sun was out, we ate alfresco and really felt like we were on holiday...... even though we had to work the next day :-( The Nachos as a starter were spot on along with a reasonably priced bottle of wine. The mains arrived and were ok, but my wife feels the salad is over priced for what you get. There are a lot of staff all friendly and willing to please, but the bonus came when we were served by Sade, our all time favourite waitress, that we met in a different Restaurant in the bay a few years back. The location is great and we will keep going back for a drink and watch the sun down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    222
    86
    57
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
winchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I always enjoy eating here. The food & service are consistently good. The fish & chips are always a favourite! Great views & if it's warm enough it's lovely to sit outside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manderley7614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Slighty disappointed”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have been to the Pier Point quiet a few times on our regular holidays in the area and have always enjoyed the meals and atmosphere very much . We visited on a Sunday and were disappointed that there was no live music - the web site is no longer specific on upcoming events .
Mrs had roasted scollops which were absolutely gorgeous , while I had the mixed platter of meats and cheeses .For £13 this was disappointing . The portions were quite small ,the salad bland and the "fresh bread" pretty tired .
However ,we will continue to visit as the atmosphere is great ,and service always very good .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We walked down to pier point no table booked with our children got there for 6pm got a table outside on a glorious sunny evening over looking the bay ,ordered drinks and they arrived quickly followed by our starter of nachos they were very good within 15 minutes our mains arrived 2 pizzas which looked Devine and a pasta dish and my beet root salad this was simple yet very tasty indeed.On a sad note we were asked to pay our bill upfront obviously they have had problems with customers leaving and not paying so as we paid we decided not to have a desert .Staff were helpful and friendly indeed and made our evening very pleasant thank you .Great place just for a offer too .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolynne18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had always fancied going to Pier Point, and yesterday had the opportunity to do so. - The staff were pleasant and attentive, - but unfortunately they were let down by what came out of the kitchen. - We were only there for a quick refuel, so will reserve judgement on their full meals, but as a local looking for somewhere nice to have a cream tea - I will not be recommending it - despite nice staff and great location. The clotted cream was miniscule - in a tiny pot, enough for one half of one scone, and looked like someone had previously used it or put their thumb in it. We asked for more, which arrived promptly but looked the same as the first, and one tiny pot of jam - also insufficient for the job of covering 2 scones. The milkshake was only threequarters full, and the nachos - whilst the plate was hot, the grated cheese remained unmelted. All showing a couldn't care attitude, and I had been trying to suss it for a group booking at a later date. Come on Pier Point, pull your finger out and don't let Torbay down, - your portion control is excessive, - not everyone is a visitor, we want somewhere to be proud of!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier Point Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Pier Point Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing