We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst fish and chips for a long time”

The Offshore Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 349 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Serving the good folk of Torquay, Devon, with the best freshly prepared food, fresh organic coffee, speciality teas, fine wines, beer, and great live music
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The offshore occupies a lovely setting overlooking Torquay Harbour, we sat outside in enjoying the scenery, our only mistake was to order cod and chips.
1. frozen chips (not good)
2. Awful fish
As we had both ordered the same I can only assuume that this is standard offerings for this establishment

Thank laketravellersSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffshoreBar, Manager at The Offshore Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Hi,
Thanks for your opinion., and your positive comments regarding our idilic location by the harbour.

We do not claim to be a fish and chip shop.

As you can see from the reviews below we are well respected for our ability to serve fresh, affordable, quality food throughout the day, while many of our rivals serve microwave meals for similar prices. Our chips are a very good quality steak cut variety that we buy in, as we do not have the facilities to produce our own chips in the quantities that we need at the busiest times of the season. Our fish is battered in our own local beer batter and we get very positive comments about the quality of the cod.

Every complaint is taken seriously and it is a great shame that you did not enjoy your meal. We are always looking for ways to improve, but I assure you that your opinion is not shared by the vast majority of our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for The Offshore Bar and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 498 of 571 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

The best New Year's Eve ever. this year was the first time i had not worked so wanted it to be special. Could not have chosen better. £10 ticket only. This stopped all the pushing around. just a nice cumfortable amout of people. Music and food first class. Myself and my family guests were all made feel so very special, Stu the duty manager seen to that. All the staff were dressed in a theme to add extra sparkle. Well done to Brett and all the staff. Guess where i am going again next New year.
Thanks also the the special night of the 1st Jan. for my husbands birthday.Fabulous meal, Music supplied by our friends Freak Bruvvers and later a buffet. Why cant all local pubs treat their customers with such good service. Torquay is lucky to have you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BlackCountryTrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Offshore is a compact bar and restaurant on the harbourside in Torquay. Whilst compact in size it has a lively friendly atmosphere day and night. The staff provide excellent service - nothing is too much trouble. Live music 7 nights a week in the summer and 5 nights in winter always of high standard not found elsewhere so consistently in the area. This is my favourite watering hole in Torquay due to the atmosphere, the music and the staff, a locals favourite despite being in the heart of tourist area. Plenty of local charity fundraising throughout the year with all day music events - well done Brett and the team!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juliette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Food and Live music were fantastic butunfortunately we sat too close to the speakers, when the music started the place was so busy we could not move tables

Thank CaroleLee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Superb friendly staff, great beers, excellent cream tea and a fresh pot of tea, we went twice in the five days we spent in Torquay, and had a evening there with an open mike, great fun and lovely food on offer, everything was so nice, made to feel very welcome even thoughwe must have been the oldest in there.

You can sit outside with a lovely view of the marina, and it was heated too in the evenings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank citychick-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Offshore Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Offshore Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing