We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Indian Food”
Review of Curry Ocean Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

Curry Ocean Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Food”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

A group of four of us went to the Curry Ocean on Saturday evening, and we had a fantastic meal.

The food was cooked to perfection, the beers were ice cold, and the ambiance of the whole place was lovely.

Our first choice for Indian food in Torquay.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DixieDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    27
    15
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you enjoy eating Indian food then this is a must on a visit to Torquay”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We have eaten at Curry Ocean on numerous occasions and we cannot fault it. The food is cooked to perfection and always well presented. We recommend it to all our guests at our guest house who enjoy Indian food and they all agree its a great place. We ate there again last week and sat downstairs on our requested table. The quality of the food and service as always was excellent. However, if you go, don’t just have the usual Indian food options - try something different. We love Chicken Tikka Bhaja as a starter, I can recommend Nawabi Murug and my husband enjoys the fish dishes and in particular Lembu Mass. Curry Ocean is a well presented contemporary Indian Restaurant on Torquay harbourside offering good food quality, the right ambiance, friendly staff, and is clean and tidy throughout. If you enjoy eating Indian food then this is a must on a visit to Torquay… and if you are in Totnes try their other restaurant - Café India - which is just as good.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloudlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best indian in torquay”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

i had a meal last week and we were 4 of us and we were downstairs in a nice table.The quality of the food and service is excellent. If you have a chance definitely go there. It is best indian in torquay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I 'used' to like this place.”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I have used this place for years but it has changed. The food we ordered wasn't the usual splendour is was quite bland and tasteless, the chicken and Lamp weren't cooked enough for my liking and the pilau rice wasn't cooked enough, likewise neither was the naan. I think everything was rushed without attention to detail. A roudy gaggle of drunks came in whilst we were on our sweet and we were asked by the waiter to move tables so they could accommodate them which suprised me as they have another seating area upstairs , still I guess we had almost finished so they didn't mind moving us which was very rude.

Bad service and poor food aside we received our bill which was high considering what we had, a good 20% more than what I paid in Manchester City Centre the previous week suprisingly !

Not again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abe030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worksop
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“you will not be disapointed”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

A pleasent and friendly welcome, great service, topped of by fantastic food.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caseinhand81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Ocean Indian Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing