We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow factor”

Torquays Dinosaur World
Ranked #13 of 62 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Torquay's Dinosaur World is an fun interactive indoor exhibition that brings dinosaurs and their worlds to life! See amazing life-size and scaled dinosaurs, learn about these awesome beasts, uncover incredible fossils, enjoy our family quiz, and even sit on a deadly dinosaur! Whether you are a little dinosaur fan, or even a big one, there's something for everyone to get their teeth in to!
Reviewed May 12, 2013

As a local with a 6 year old Dino fan i have visited a few times now, Every time we visit something new has been added or something has been changed. Torquay Dinosaur World is one of the best places in Torbay.

I have been on busy and quiet days but the staff will always take the time to talk to my son, there have been times the owner will go and get books to show my son who asks him the most crazy questions. Nothing is to much for them.

I have been to birthday parties which were fab and i would recommend Dinosaur World to anyone in Torquay.

It is great value for money

2  Thank emma80467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Hello and many thanks for your review. It's always great to hear from visitors who have enjoyed their experience of our dinosaur exhibition. We constantly make changes to our exhibits so that local people and regular tourists to the area can re-visit and experience something new. And our intent for the exhibition was always to make it both fun and educational so we love it when the children are really keen to learn and ask questions. There's always a book on hand, because sometimes our young visitors know far more about dinosaurs than we do! Many thanks again and we hope to see you soon. Regards Toby T Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 336 of 410 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

This well thought out attraction is well worth a visit. There's excellent exhibits, lots of fossils to dig, dinosaur models to sit on and take photos, colouring for little ones, and a great quiz to complete as you go around with a certificate at the end, Also there are great staff too who run the place well and who are very good with kids. A little gem of an attraction which Torquay is lucky to have.

1  Thank Hake X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer, many thanks for your feedback and I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. It's always great to hear from visitors who really appreciate all the various aspects of the exhibition, especially the focus the staff put on making the experience fun and rewarding. And well done to your kids for completing the Explorer Quiz and winning the Dinosaur Expert Certificate. Many thanks again Toby T Rex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Went with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised. My little 2 year old was terrified of some if the larger dinosaurs but loved digging through sand. There is a special little room for little children with colouring crayons and chalk as well as a story corner. Well thought out and planned for a small venue. The staff were really friendly and good with young chikdren. We shall be going again!

1  Thank daviebway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hello and thank you for your lovely feedback. It’s great to hear that you and your little one enjoyed yourselves and our exhibition. We think all our explorers are brilliant and try to make their visits a really enjoyable and memorable experience. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again for the review and if you want to add anything else you can post on our Facebook, regards Toby T Rex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We visited in the Easter holidays and took part in the Easter egg quiz, there was lots to see and interesting facts to read. The models are very life like, and it was a great bonus being able to get up really close and even sit on some of the exhibits.
The whole visit took about an hour and a half, which included a good 20 min in the 'craft room' (which is a tiny room with some colouring sheets in and a couple of books).

What this tourist attraction really needs is a bigger site! We would have happily stayed longer but we felt we couldn't go back and look at some of the exhibits again , as there was a flow of people and they were all going one way only and there isn't room to pass. I feel that this makes it not very good value for money.

Having said that my boys who are 6 & 8 really enjoyed the trip - so I am rating it very good based on their enjoyment!

Thank cupidscapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Reviewer, many thanks for your feedback following your recent visit. It is excellent news to hear that you enjoyed being able to get close to and touch some of our realistic models, and that your boys completed the Dinosaur Egg Hunt. I’m sure your brave explorers did well and received their prize of a real fossil and the Dinosaur Expert Certificate.

As you point out our craft room, with drawing/colouring paper, chalk boards, fossil rubs and books/magazines, is unfortunately not the biggest but it has proven a popular addition that many visitors tell us adds something extra to the exhibition.

Sorry to hear also that you felt unable to go around the exhibition again – it can get very busy which does make it difficult to go against the general one directional flow. We do advise visitors that they can retour the exhibition from the start, but perhaps we didn’t tell you on this occasion so please accept my apologies. I have now improved the signage to make this clearer. As to the size of the exhibition in general, as a relatively new tourist attraction we had to start with a financial viable venue, but if we continue to be popular we would love to be able to grow the business accordingly. Many thanks again for your comments and if you want to add anything further you can post on our Facebook, regards Toby T Rex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

An excellent adventure for the children, doing the Easter egg hunt and finding out about the dinosaurs was brilliant. Having a photo on the dinosaur at the end was a lovely momento, thankyou.

Thank TheFisherFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed exploring the exhibition, and that your little ones were brave enough to sit on Derek the Dinosaur. Well done to them. Thanks again and if you’d like to add anything else you can post more on our Facebook. Regards Toby T Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torquays Dinosaur World also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Torquays Dinosaur World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing