We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!”

Torquays Dinosaur World
Ranked #15 of 65 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Torquay's Dinosaur World is an fun interactive indoor exhibition that brings dinosaurs and their worlds to life! See amazing life-size and scaled dinosaurs, learn about these awesome beasts, uncover incredible fossils, enjoy our family quiz, and even sit on a deadly dinosaur! Whether you are a little dinosaur fan, or even a big one, there's something for everyone to get their teeth in to!
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Went with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised. My little 2 year old was terrified of some if the larger dinosaurs but loved digging through sand. There is a special little room for little children with colouring crayons and chalk as well as a story corner. Well thought out and planned for a small venue. The staff were really friendly and good with young chikdren. We shall be going again!

1  Thank daviebway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hello and thank you for your lovely feedback. It’s great to hear that you and your little one enjoyed yourselves and our exhibition. We think all our explorers are brilliant and try to make their visits a really enjoyable and memorable experience. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again for the review and if you want to add anything else you can post on our Facebook, regards Toby T Rex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jurassic park"
in 18 reviews
"t rex"
in 14 reviews
"quiz sheet"
in 12 reviews
"craft room"
in 8 reviews
"model dinosaurs"
in 7 reviews
"fossil hunting"
in 6 reviews
"great quiz"
in 6 reviews
"drawing room"
in 6 reviews
"dinosaur bones"
in 6 reviews
"interactive parts"
in 5 reviews
"photo opportunities"
in 8 reviews
"sand pit"
in 9 reviews
"staff were really friendly"
in 8 reviews
"little boy"
in 10 reviews
"older children"
in 8 reviews
"rainy day"
in 20 reviews
"value for money"
in 24 reviews
Filter

342 - 346 of 418 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

We visited in the Easter holidays and took part in the Easter egg quiz, there was lots to see and interesting facts to read. The models are very life like, and it was a great bonus being able to get up really close and even sit on some of the exhibits.
The whole visit took about an hour and a half, which included a good 20 min in the 'craft room' (which is a tiny room with some colouring sheets in and a couple of books).

What this tourist attraction really needs is a bigger site! We would have happily stayed longer but we felt we couldn't go back and look at some of the exhibits again , as there was a flow of people and they were all going one way only and there isn't room to pass. I feel that this makes it not very good value for money.

Having said that my boys who are 6 & 8 really enjoyed the trip - so I am rating it very good based on their enjoyment!

Thank cupidscapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Reviewer, many thanks for your feedback following your recent visit. It is excellent news to hear that you enjoyed being able to get close to and touch some of our realistic models, and that your boys completed the Dinosaur Egg Hunt. I’m sure your brave explorers did well and received their prize of a real fossil and the Dinosaur Expert Certificate.

As you point out our craft room, with drawing/colouring paper, chalk boards, fossil rubs and books/magazines, is unfortunately not the biggest but it has proven a popular addition that many visitors tell us adds something extra to the exhibition.

Sorry to hear also that you felt unable to go around the exhibition again – it can get very busy which does make it difficult to go against the general one directional flow. We do advise visitors that they can retour the exhibition from the start, but perhaps we didn’t tell you on this occasion so please accept my apologies. I have now improved the signage to make this clearer. As to the size of the exhibition in general, as a relatively new tourist attraction we had to start with a financial viable venue, but if we continue to be popular we would love to be able to grow the business accordingly. Many thanks again for your comments and if you want to add anything further you can post on our Facebook, regards Toby T Rex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

An excellent adventure for the children, doing the Easter egg hunt and finding out about the dinosaurs was brilliant. Having a photo on the dinosaur at the end was a lovely momento, thankyou.

Thank TheFisherFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed exploring the exhibition, and that your little ones were brave enough to sit on Derek the Dinosaur. Well done to them. Thanks again and if you’d like to add anything else you can post more on our Facebook. Regards Toby T Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Visited at the weekend with my sister and her 3 kids who all had a really good time. They enjoyed the Dinosaur Egg Hunt and sitting on the dinosaurs and find the fossils, and they got their prize of a certificate and a real fossil. As others have said it isn't the biggest but they do have lots to read and look at and play with and was well worth the visit. We were there nearly 2 hours as the kids wanted to go round again and see more. The staff were very good too - enthusiastic with the kids and very friendly.

Thank 80MichelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Reviewer, many thanks for your feedback and we are so glad to hear that your party enjoyed the Easter Egg Hunt and all the other interactive exhibits. And it’s great to see you took the opportunity to spend more time exploring after your first tour. Many thanks again and if you want to add anything further you can post on our Facebook, regards Toby T Rex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I took my 4 year old and it was 1/2 price but still too expensive for what it is. It's called Dinosaur World and it has great potential but it's squeezed into a tiny retail space about the size of a shop. After less than an hour my son was bored and he loves Dinosaurs!!!!!

1  Thank Rachel567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hello and thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry to hear that you had a disappointing visit. We realise that our town centre venue at over 3200 sqft may not be the biggest exhibition space, so we focus on the quality of the experience, with high grade made-to-order models with lots of detailed information about dinosaurs, along with fun family quizzes, exciting interactive sections, and dinosaurs to sit on.

At present, we have 12 full size models of varying size, such as African Pterosaur with a 10 foot wingspan next to an 8 foot long 5 foot high Deinonychus, a 15 foot Triceratops, a 12 foot Dimetrodon, and full size fossilised skulls of a T-Rex and Triceratops. In other scenes we have more than a dozen specially handmade scale models of varying size (1-3 feet) so that we can maximise the space to include as many different dinosaurs and as much information as possible.

We constantly update and install new exhibits to keep the exhibition fresh for our repeat visitors, and change things according to feedback from visitors so thanks again for your review, regards Toby T-Rex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torquays Dinosaur World also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Torquays Dinosaur World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing