We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit but once is enough”

Torquays Dinosaur World
Ranked #13 of 65 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Torquay's Dinosaur World is an fun interactive indoor exhibition that brings dinosaurs and their worlds to life! See amazing life-size and scaled dinosaurs, learn about these awesome beasts, uncover incredible fossils, enjoy our family quiz, and even sit on a deadly dinosaur! Whether you are a little dinosaur fan, or even a big one, there's something for everyone to get their teeth in to!
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I came away from this attraction a little disappointed. It is obvious a lot of thought has gone into the displays, but my son has the same size dinosaurs in his toy box. I expected something different with a bit more reality if that is possible with dinosaurs.
The displays were informative and well presented just too small. The Halloween quiz was good and my son was very pleased with his certificate and fossil. We were in there for about an hour, then back for the lights out spooky walkthrough, this seemed a good idea but nothing was added to make it worth while a few luminous items maybe should be considered for next Halloween.
To summarise at £5.95 each priced about right, more suited to younger kiddies than teenagers, my son enjoyed it so it makes it worthwhile.

Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Hello and thank you for your feedback. It’s good to hear that your son had a good time during your Halloween visit. As you said a lot of thought has gone into the exhibition to make it as fun, exciting and informative as possible, but we are always looking for ways to improve. I take on board the need for something a little extra during the ‘lights out’ and already have plans for next year. Regarding the size of the exhibits, at present, we have 12 full size models of varying size (6-15 feet) such as the Deinonychus, Dimetrodon, T-Rex head and fossilised skulls of the a T-Rex and Triceratops, as well as models of dinosaurs that were smaller in real life. In other scenes we have more than a dozen specially handmade scale models of varying size (1-3 feet) so that we can maximise the space to include as many dinosaurs and as much information as possible. We are though adding some new scenes and more interactive exhibits over the winter which we feel will add something new to the exhibition. Many thanks again for your comments and if you would like to add anything else please visit our Facebook page. Regards Toby T-Rex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jurassic park"
in 18 reviews
"t rex"
in 14 reviews
"quiz sheet"
in 12 reviews
"great quiz"
in 6 reviews
"drawing room"
in 6 reviews
"craft room"
in 6 reviews
"the natural history museum"
in 6 reviews
"interactive parts"
in 5 reviews
"photo opportunities"
in 8 reviews
"sand pit"
in 8 reviews
"staff were very friendly"
in 14 reviews
"small attraction"
in 7 reviews
"little boy"
in 10 reviews
"older children"
in 8 reviews
"rainy day"
in 20 reviews
"value for money"
in 24 reviews
"easter egg hunt"
in 7 reviews
Filter

356 - 360 of 411 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

We visited the Torquay Dinosaur World on halloween and had a great time. The childrens halloween quiz was a great idea and kept them entralled all the way round. This really helped my 6 yr son who is reading phonetically at school so the phonetic breakdown of names and writing them for the quiz was fantastic. He pronounced most of them better than me. The way the educational pieces are broke down into small managable sections is fantastic and is set as just enough information to be informative but not too much to loose interest. My children loved the excavating sections. The adults enjoyed this just as much as the kids and i learnt alot. The children were absolutely chuffed to bits with there certificate and fossil. The enthusiastic and helpful staff were a joy.
Many thanks. The price was also very reasonable.

Thank borneokirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Borneokirby, we are really pleased to hear that you had a great time at Torquay's Dinosaur World. The Halloween week was great success with only the bravest explorers doing well on the scary quiz and winning the certificate and fossil - so well done to your little ones. And we love it when the children are really enthusiastic and excited by all our dinosaurs and information. So say hello to your children from all the dinosaurs and staff. Many thanks for your kind comments, regards, Toby T-Rex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

we though it would be large life sized dinasaurs but they are more small child friendly sized which was good as my three year old son was able to sit on them for photos and the halloween quiz was good fun the gentlemen working there was very good with the children and my son enjoyed it his favourite thing was sitting on the large dinasaur at the end of the tour.

Thank helen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Hello, and thank you for your feedback and I’m glad to hear that your son enjoyed himself. I’m sorry though that our exhibition was not what you expected as we have tried to explain in all advertising that our exhibition has a mix of scale and full size models. At present we have 12 full size models such as the Triceratops, Parasaurolophus, T-Rex head and fossilised skulls of a T-Rex and Triceratops, as well as models of dinosaurs that were smaller in real life. In other scenes we have more than a dozen specially handmade scale models so that we can maximise the space to include as many dinosaurs and as much information as possible. With all the models and information, the fun quizzes and the interactive sections including the sit on dinosaurs we work hard to give as good a visitor experience as possible. As part of this we are always keen to listen to our visitors so that we can continue to improve our exhibition and provide an ever more fun and exciting family attraction. If you have any more specific feedback please let me know via our Facebook page. Many thanks, regards Toby T-Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Went here with my boyfriend and although he doesn't share my liking of dinosaurs we bought thoroughly enjoyed it. The visit was informative and I learnt some new things as well. (The guy in the desk even humoured us with the quiz, we're both in our 20's but we still got the certificate for completing it!) I'd imagine this is also great fun for kids too :)

Thank matereac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Hello, many thanks for your contribution. We love it when slightly older visitors join in the fun, especially when they do the quiz. And well done for getting the certificate:). regards Toby T-Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was a great place for children and adults alike. Children were given a quiz to do which meant they had to spend time at each exhibit (which were well presented). It was fun and educational with some of the exhibits being "hands-on".

Thank RoyBoy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Hello, thanks for your review. Good to hear that both adults and children enjoyed their visit as we have tried to structure the exhibition in such a way as to appeal to all ages. many thanks regards Toby T-Rex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torquays Dinosaur World also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Torquays Dinosaur World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing