We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment 4”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barramore Holiday Apartments
Ranked #16 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Bedroom was beautifully furnished and a pleasure to be there.
Nice pool area with gas BBQ for some enjoyable evenings with friends.
Short walk to station and not too far for getting to the Riviera Centre.
Local park for dog to walk in and when we were there the Cockington Fayre was on which was walkable.
Local coop but for more extensive shopping you need a car or taxi or train to Paignton only one stop ps don't miss the Torbay Express whistling through the station on Sunday.

Room Tip: Apartment 4 is ground floor with outside door - excellent for a dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NineofWands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 33 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in apartment 4, the three of us and our dog! On arrival, we had a very informative welcome by Ivy, which included a map of Torquay, tourist information, a safety talk and about our apartment. Inside the apartment was complimentary tea, coffee and milk! Along with washing up liquid and toilet roll, which was great to start us off.

She said she was always on hand and could ring the bell anytime of day or night "don't hesitate to ring!". This was completely true, as everyone time we rang she was there! This was mainly because she lived on site but always said we could ring the number otherwise.

We enjoyed apartment 4 as it had a side door, which had access to the car park. This was brilliant for the dog, as you could take him out quickly in the morning without having to go through all the main doors. As our dog was white, he gets dirty easily. Ivy and David were very helpful by supplying us helpful tools for washing him, for example a hose!

The photographs were also very true to the accommodation. The pool was great to have for self-catering; sun loungers, heated pool and even inflatables to use! The apartment was very clean also, no previous dog hair from other visitors!

The accommodation was in a good location- train station, bus stops, sea front and local co-op all within walking distance! Also there was no need to use the car all work due to this.

Torquay is a great place to stay, with attractions near by and many places to visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Have just returned from a weeks stay at the Barramore apartments they were ideal for our week in Torquay. The owners were brilliant always at hand if you need them. Our apartments was lovely and was spotless would give this accommodation 10 out of ten!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24,111,969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Grt walk down to the Abbey, round the corner from the train station and the Riveria Centre.

Home from home, the weather was warm, but we were able to open the windows wide for ventilation.


Home from home.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucylaura1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Wanted to write this review as Ivy and David had been so helpful during our recent stay at the Barramore apartments.
We were made to feel very welcome with everything explained, even though we have stayed at these apartments a couple of times before. (I understand that many of their guests are returning visitors and I can understand why)!
As usual the apartment was exactly as described on the booking form, with lovely modern furnishings and well stocked with nice clean crockery and loads of cutlery not usually provided in other self-catering places we have used.
Torquay is famous for it's traditional Victorian buildings built on hilly slopes which we just love, and with local shops for our little bit of food shopping and a convenient bus service nearby that takes you directly into town or down to the seafront we didn't feel the need to use the car much, so do appreciate being able to park it safely off the road.
And what a great bonus to have such a lovely private swimming pool with sun loungers too, to come back to on site, especially welcome as the weather was good during our stay. It was kept very clean and ideal for "chilling" - wanted to take it home with me!!!
So a big thank you to Ivy and David for making our stay's special.

Room Tip: We've been very happy with each one we've booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieLiz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Thanks again for a great stay. Dave & Ivy were great hosts. On arrival we were greeted and shown to our apartment. This was a nice size, ideal for the 4 of us. The rooms were tidy and clean.

Dave & Ivy were very helpful when asked for a few suggestions as to where to visit. They also gave us a map of the local area.

The car park is handy as I prefer to park off the street.

The pool was great, especially in this really hot weather. The kids loved playing in it, just as much as we loved relaxing in the sun

The short walk to the beach was easy. Just down the road, approximately 5 minutes. The town centre is about a further 15 minutes walk, but it's really pleasant along the promenade.

Definitely, we'll be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

we have just got home from the barramore the up side of this place was that we were early and was allowed to leave our car in the carpark wilst waiting to get into the aprtment wich we were let into a little earlier than should have,there were tea,coffee,sugar,milk and loo roll allready there and towels/t towels,the room was clean except i had to wash all the glasses wich were mucky and the plates and dishes wich had sugary substance on them,when we got in the room the main window woudnt open and it took untill wed untill it was fixed and in the heatwave this was not satisfactory,good job we took our fan because when i nxt got to speak with ivy she did say she thought the room was very warm but didnt ask us if we wanted a fan,we were in room num 1 the toilet seat needed replacing,dont know if it was the ppl that was staying at the same time but they didnt know how to close the front door or their room doors quietly they just let them slam and when ppl are coming in at 3am in a morn this started our dogs barking,at 1st we was very respectfull of others because there were babies there but then gave up,the garden and pool area is very nice but the pool could do with a hand rail and when i mentioned this to ivy all she said was coudnt i sit down and get into the pool i suffer with a bad back and im not the slimest of ppl,we also found that nowere in any discription mentioned the inclines and hills around the area to get to and from the apartments wich if we knew in the 1st place we woudnt have booked has we both suffer with back and hip/heart problems,we wont be going again,we did get lots of information on were to take our dogs in the pubs but like others were told this and that street but if you havnt been before we had no idea were these were

Room Tip: put poor on pool has no hand rail,room num one gets very hot if sunny and no wind
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank retepetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,079 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 85 in Torquay
613 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#54 of 149 in Torquay
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#26 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barramore Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barramore Holiday Apartments

Address: Solsbro Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Barramore Holiday Apartments Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing