We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vomero Holiday Apartments
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another excellent holiday”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just got back from another visit to the Vomero and wasn`t disappointed. John and Angela certainly know how to look after their guests. Nothing is too much trouble even picking us up and taking us back to the train station. This year we opted for the shopping hamper on our arrival. It had all the shopping in to get you started on a perfect holiday.
Our room this year was the Roma and it was spotlessly clean and had everything you needed including freeview tv, dvd player, hair drier etc.
Thank you once again and we`ll see you next year

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedroSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had an enjoyable weeks holiday with my brother and family who had previously stayed at the Vomero and had highly recommended it to us.

We arrived in Torquay at about 8.30am on Saturday morning and decided to drive up to have a quick look at what we were going to be staying in.

WOW!!! We discovered a 200 year old grade II listed building set in its own extensive and beautiful grounds. The gardens are absolutely gorgeous and extremely well looked after. John, the owner came out to welcome us even though we were six hours early! He is incredibly friendly and asked if we would like to use the toilet facilities after our 5 hour journey to Devon until we were able to take over our room at about 2 ish.

We returned after a morning in Babbacombe and Oddicombe beach, both worth a visit, especially the Cliff Railway. The inside of the Vomero Holiday Apartments is just how you would expect a 200 year old house to be, it is furnished with beautiful period furniture that matches perfectly with the character of the house. The staircase is amazing and reminded us of the 4 star Hotel Russell in London with the leaded windows, highly polished floor, gorgeous stair carpet and light fittings that were very evocative of the one in the London Hotel. In addition, there is a small display commemorating the time that Isimbard Kingdom Brunel stayed at the Vomero! Don’t miss the Blue Plaque outside either!

We'd booked the Vomero room on the first floor which looked nice in the pictures we'd seen, but we were not prepared for the very spacious, airy and light room that John showed us into. It was much more than we expected - very tastefully decorated with sash style windows and French doors that opened onto the tour de force of the room, the balcony, which overlooked the stunning gardens and had a seaview of Torbay – totally spectacular! The room was furnished to match the décor with a bed that faces the French windows. We enjoyed sitting up in bed each morning with a cuppa whilst enjoying the view - which in itself was a wonderful experience. The bed was extremely comfortable. The whole apartment is colour co-ordinated and it's obvious that a lot of time, thought and effort went into making this room just so, practically perfect.

The Vomero room has a living area and kitchen with a separate dressing room and WC/shower room. The dressing room gives an old fashioned feel from a bygone era with a lovely dressing table and wardrobe that my husband wanted to bring home with him!

The room has a fully equipped kitchen with a full electric cooker, fridge and microwave with all the crockery, glassware, pots & pans, cutlery and utensils you would ever need. John and Angela even provided milk in the fridge on arrival along with a tray of sachets of tea, coffee and complementary biscuits.

We discovered a number of really nice thoughtful touches such as a pair of binoculars in the drawer under the TV, a sewing kit, radio & CD player, DVD player, radio alarm clock, hairdryer, etc. etc. etc.

There is a games room in the basement, board/childrens games, puzzles, books, DVDs, and a pool table. John and Angela also provide picnic baskets, rugs, flasks, etc. and also toys for use in the garden or on the beach. Laundry facilities are also available in the basement.

There is also a computer for guest use with internet access and free Wifi.

The house is only a few minutes walk to the centre of Torquay. It's perfect for providing a good nights sleep away from the hustle and bustle of the town.

It was a pleasure to stay in such a well maintained and clean house with more than adequate facilities

John and Angela are lovely hosts, unobtrusive but always available if needed. They are friendly and welcoming and well deserve a lot of respect for what they are doing to keep this stunning old house as it should be and sharing it with many people. The amount of thought, time and effort that they spend on this house shows just how much they love it which makes you even more appreciative of such a lovely grade II listed building .

“ We will be back” 

Jayne & Laurie xx

Room Tip: Better view on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayne_Laurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We've been here 3 tmes and it's excellent - as other reviewers have said it is very clean and luxurious. The rooms are large, the linen is crisp and good quality, the beds are comfortable. The gardens are beautiful. You are a stone's throw from Torquay harbour - it takes about 10-15 minutes to walk there and yet it feels like it's in the middle of the countryside. Quiet and with lovely sea views from the top floor balconies. We've stayed in many places in Torbay, but now we've fund Vomero we always book there when we visit Torbay. John and Angela are excellent hosts - nothing is too much trouble. And the kids love the kidzone in the basement where they can disappear to watch a DVD or play on the computer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our second visit to Vomero last time we stayed in the Napoli apartment this last time the Vomero apartment, both have wonderful seaviews across the bay and overlooks the large beautiful gardens which are stunning. The apartment was exceptionally clean with everything you need for your stay even with little touches like fresh flowers, binoculars and tissues in the apartment. John and Angela live at Vomero and are wonderful hosts making sure our every need is catered for without feeling intrusive. On our arrival there was a fresh pint of milk in the fridge plus teabags, coffee and biscuits which was welcome after a long journey. Having the large private balcony made having meals or even a drink on the balcony feel relaxing and special. Would recommend families or couples to stay here, it is so peaceful and relaxing and yet very close to the all amenities, a real home from home. Already booked for next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glevummagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stunning views and perfect location for all the attractions.The apartment was super clean and everything you wanted for a holiday , perfect for what we needed. Angela & John were great hosts and made us feel very welcome. Would strongly recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in Torquay.

Room Tip: Venezia had great patio doors opening onto front of house overlooking beauiful tiered gardens and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnoozieSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just returned from a weekend at the Vomero apartments, we stayed in the Genova apartment and have to say it was proper home from home, everything that you needed for a self catering holiday and more was there. A good size kitchen area with cooker, microwave, Kettle, toaster and all the pots and pans you could possibly need! Living area with a double bed in it, but still spacious even with the bed in it, a bedroom with twin beds, and wardrobe, bathroom and finally a good size balcony.

Even with everything that was included in the apartment there was a list of available items to hire free of charge, the items varied from disability aids to picnic hampers and buckets and spades!

Overall an excellent weekend and we will definitely be back hopefully in the very near future!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Wow, that was our first expression when we saw Vomero. Just WOW.
Then we met Angela who could not have been more welcoming. Wow again.
Then she showed us our apartment and WOW again.
Just brilliant everything we needed in the apartment, well set up, lovely views even in the misty weather. Beautiful gardens just to add to the atmosphere.
Then John came down and this just topped it off, especially with his knowledge and love for Saints (Southampton FC) which just put a smile on my Dads face from ear to ear, something he won't forget.
Brilliant place, better than brilliant hosts, ideal location could not have asked for anything extra, pretty sure if we had it would have be provided. Could not be beaten.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baldeeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Astor House Apartments
Astor House Apartments
#2 of 34 in Torquay
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
508 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#32 of 87 in Torquay
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vomero Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vomero Holiday Apartments

Property: Vomero Holiday Apartments
Address: Stitchill Road, Torquay TQ1 1PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Hotel Class:3 star — Vomero Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vomero boasts five fully equipped and comfortable apartments, within a stunning Grade II listed Italian style Villa with an impressive history. Vomero is located in a quiet conservation area, which gives you an ideal opportunity to relax in secluded terraced gardens. Apartments have sea views and Vomero is within easy reach of the town centre & harbour. All apartments are furnished to a high standard with particular attention paid to comfort and cleanliness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vomero Holiday Apartments Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing