We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vomero Holiday Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vomero Holiday Apartments
Ranked #12 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just returned from a weekend at the Vomero apartments, we stayed in the Genova apartment and have to say it was proper home from home, everything that you needed for a self catering holiday and more was there. A good size kitchen area with cooker, microwave, Kettle, toaster and all the pots and pans you could possibly need! Living area with a double bed in it, but still spacious even with the bed in it, a bedroom with twin beds, and wardrobe, bathroom and finally a good size balcony.

Even with everything that was included in the apartment there was a list of available items to hire free of charge, the items varied from disability aids to picnic hampers and buckets and spades!

Overall an excellent weekend and we will definitely be back hopefully in the very near future!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Wow, that was our first expression when we saw Vomero. Just WOW.
Then we met Angela who could not have been more welcoming. Wow again.
Then she showed us our apartment and WOW again.
Just brilliant everything we needed in the apartment, well set up, lovely views even in the misty weather. Beautiful gardens just to add to the atmosphere.
Then John came down and this just topped it off, especially with his knowledge and love for Saints (Southampton FC) which just put a smile on my Dads face from ear to ear, something he won't forget.
Brilliant place, better than brilliant hosts, ideal location could not have asked for anything extra, pretty sure if we had it would have be provided. Could not be beaten.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baldeeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Been meaning to write this review for quite sometime now. We visited Torquay as part of my 40th birthday celebrations and hoped that the accommodation would be as good as they looked on the website. We certainly weren't disappointed. We were lucky enough to stay in the fantastic Vomero apartment which had a wonderful balcony with great sea views.The owners John and Angela couldn't be any more helpful, indeed John even gave us a lift to Exeter Airport when we were leaving. Nothing is too much trouble for them. I cannot recommend the Vomero enough. John and Angela have a beautiful, historical home. If you are visiting Torquay you really must take advantage of their offer of sharing it with you.

Room Tip: The Vomero Apartment has fantastic views over Torbay. Not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markglasg0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Our stay at the Vomero apartments was excellent,the proprietors John & Angela, think of everything that you will need right down to the smallest detail, the hard work they have put into the property,gardens & assistance offered is there for all to see in this high quality holiday accomodation.We would have no problem in recommending the Vomero to our family & friends.Staying at the Vomero made our holiday extra special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulandmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed at the Vomero Apartments for Easter week with husband and teenage daughter. We stayed in the Verona which was on the ground floor with lovely views of the gardens and which had its own patio area with table and chairs which was nice to sit in with a cuppa after a day out. There is also a very large garden with tables and chairs dotted about which would be nice to sit in if visiting in the summer.

We were met at the railway station by John who said he would also take us back to the station at the end of our holiday, but because he was unable to very kindly gave us the taxi fare. Just these personal touches make a holiday more complete.

The Apartment was large and airy and the beds very comfortable. Only a ten minute walk into Torquay, but takes slighly longer as return journey is uphill. Bus into Babbacome stops outside Torquay Museum on Babbercome Road (they run every 15 mins). We also went to Paignton and Brixham on the bus which runs from the Strand. (No.12).

Overall a very relaxing holiday and would recommend to friends and family. Hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Only Verona has own private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wolf13Wolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Fl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

My husband and I were moving to Torquay and needed a short-term apartment with a bit of flexibility regarding length of stay whilst we searched. We contacted a bunch of properties - some were snobbish on the phone, some were booked and then we struck gold with Vomero and the wonderful hosts John & Angela. Upon arrival, we were met with smiley faces, a stunning view from our apartment 'Napoli' and even more important MILK in the refrigerator for our morning coffee.
The apartment had a great bed and superb balcony off the living room and even in March it was warm enough to sit out and enjoy the Riviera sun.
The owners were truly amazing, they offer not just free WiFi, but a library of books/DVDs/Games, a Snooker table, picnic facilities and even buckets and spades for the little ones.
If you are looking for the best self-catering in Torquay - look no further.
P.S. This was the cleanest place we have EVER stayed in.

Room Tip: Try for an upper floor so you can have a better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZeldasTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed at The Vomero Apartments for a weekend stay with our little girl, who was 14 months at the time. We were so impressed by the attention to detail..anything we could ever need for the weekend was there, (including nappy sacks!!!) We immediately felt at home and had a really relaxing weekend. We stayed in the "Vomero Appt" which had a fantastic view over the bay, from the spacious balcony. John & Angela made us feel very welcome in a very non-obtrusive way & nothing was too much trouble.
Everything was spotlessly clean & We would thoroughly recommend staying at Vomero...(& Im really fussy!!!) BRILLIANT!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHarveys-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
Astor House Apartments
Astor House Apartments
#2 of 33 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantis Holiday Apartments
0.7 mi away
Clydesdale Apartments
Clydesdale Apartments
#16 of 33 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bedford House Apartments
Bedford House Apartments
#19 of 33 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#106 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vomero Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vomero Holiday Apartments

Property: Vomero Holiday Apartments
Address: Stitchill Road, Torquay TQ1 1PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Hotel Class:3 star — Vomero Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vomero boasts five fully equipped and comfortable apartments, within a stunning Grade II listed Italian style Villa with an impressive history. Vomero is located in a quiet conservation area, which gives you an ideal opportunity to relax in secluded terraced gardens. Apartments have sea views and Vomero is within easy reach of the town centre & harbour. All apartments are furnished to a high standard with particular attention paid to comfort and cleanliness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vomero Holiday Apartments Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing