We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vomero - Our Favorite Torquay Holiday Apartments”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vomero Holiday Apartments
Ranked #11 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Reviewed July 3, 2011

John and Angela are the live in owners of this magnificent property. They have restored and continue to maintain Grade listed Vomero to an exceptionally high standard. All the apartments are tastefully furnished and contain all that you might require for your visit, and more. Over the years we have stayed in all the apartments which are very clean and have very comfortable beds. However we do prefer the apartments on the first floor which have superb views over the bay and the well cared for gardens of this Italian style Villa. Whilst you can’t guarantee the weather, you can be assured that this first class holiday accommodation will fulfil all your expectations and leave you wanting to return year after year. Book early you won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have the best views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharlieKennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

john and angela are the nost accomadating hosts you will ever meet nothing is too much trouble for them their house is the most beautiful place full of features beyond what you expect in a holiday apartments this is our third visit this year and we have stayed in three different apartments all of a first class standard the rooms are all dressed to the highest standard

Room Tip: there is no best room they are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdyche1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Stayed in the Vomero apartment for a short break in May. Everything we wished for and more! The owners have clearly put a great deal of time and effort in making sure that there is everything needed for a great stay. The house is beautiful, nicely furnished and very well kept. The Vomero apartment has a balcony with lovely views of the garden and the sea in the distance. Very peaceful.
We will return and have already recommended it to friends.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank amysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

John & Angela could not be more wellcoming or helpfull. The apartment I stayed in was"Vomero" & it was large, light, very wel furnished.spotlessly clean, & with its own balconey which had a fabulous view of Torbay. Vomero has everything lovely garden, good off street parking, Kids play area both indoors & out, laundertte,WIFI internet access.
The one small drawback is that its a bit of a climb up frof the town, but then I am 72.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jocosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We had to cancel our holiday in Torquay at the last minute due to illness. We phoned up John and Angela the day before we were due to travel. We were naturally prepared to give up the money paid and John said that he would try to sell our week. On the following Tuesday, John phoned to ask if my wife was feeling any better; the following week in our apartment was free and he invited us to stay in it at no charge. We were very touched and we’re driving down on Sunday. What a lovely thing to do!
We obviously had high expectations as we drove down to Torquay. HOT TIP! If you’re diving up Stichill Road, following your Satnav, Vomero is on the left, not right. There are two entrances TAKE THE HIGHER ONE! You’ll see. If you’re coming down the hill, it’s immediately on the right. Take time to read the blue plaque; it was Brunel’s house once.
The place lived up to our expectations. A Victorian villa overlooking Tor Bay, our apartment, with high ceilings, French doors to its own terrace, with views across the harbour. Everything that you could possibly want was provided. This was the first time I had ever been self catering in sixty years of holidaying. Everything was there; including a lovely welcome from a lovely couple.
We would certainly consider returning to this great place!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Falstaff1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Beautiful house, comfortable apartments, stunning gardens. The kids zone ensured the kids were able to entertain themselves away from the adults in a safe enviroment and also gave us some peace and quiet! We will definately be going again. A perfect base for a holiday in Torquay and to explore the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shacoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Vomero is a jewel in the English Riviera! We stayed for a month in this beautifully restored villa in a spacious apartment that was spotless and had everything you could want. John and Angela are excellent hosts and are always available if you need them.
The view and gardens are superb. They welcome children and have even set up a 'kids zone'. The free amenities are endless: full use of a computer, loads of movies and books, games for children, picnic sets, iron and ironing board, loungers and chairs in the garden, free parking, etc. If you feel like staying in for a day, it's a treat to take a book and sit in the gorgeous garden and listen to the birds singing.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationtime065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,118 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#56 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#57 of 149 in Torquay
73 reviews
1 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#50 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vomero Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vomero Holiday Apartments

Address: Stitchill Road, Torquay TQ1 1PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Hotel Class:3 star — Vomero Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vomero boasts five fully equipped and comfortable apartments, within a stunning Grade II listed Italian style Villa with an impressive history. Vomero is located in a quiet conservation area, which gives you an ideal opportunity to relax in secluded terraced gardens. Apartments have sea views and Vomero is within easy reach of the town centre & harbour. All apartments are furnished to a high standard with particular attention paid to comfort and cleanliness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vomero Holiday Apartments Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing