We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable holiday !”
Review of Devonshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devonshire Hotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Leafield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable holiday !”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The 'Devonshire' hotel in Torquay is the first one of 'Daish's' holiday hotels that we've tried and we thought it was good value for money. The hotel was clean and tidy and the food was good. They provided breakfast, dinner and entertainment as part of the package and we enjoyed it.
The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was equipped with everything we needed. The bed was comfortable and the view was of the 'English Riviera', although we DID have the the room on the 2nd floor, in what they called the "tower". We thought the view was exactly what you "would expect to see from a Torquay hotel window"!

Room Tip: If you can get it, the room at the top - in the "tower". But there is only one. All the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelatthedev0nshire, Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
hi and thank you so much for writing your review. we would love to see you again soon.

all the best.

Nigel and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    320
    85
    25
    8
See reviews for
135
494
44
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have been to the Devonshire several times and always receive a warm welcome. We find
the rooms clean and well furnished. We always ask for the lodge where we feel it is more like
home. Excellent friendly staff where nothing is too much trouble and waiters serve you with a
smile. The hotel is situated on a hill but proves no trouble as there is frequent bus service
to the town at the bottom (every ten minuets). A nice evening stroll to the headland is about eight
minuets away to walk off the substantial evening meal. The menus at the Devonshire we found
to be varied well presented and you can always ask for more when they are happy to oblige.
Really cannot praise them enough from Manager to staff.

Room Tip: We like The Lodge as we find it quiet and good size rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review of your stay. it would be nice to see you again next year, thanks for coming to the Devonshire hotel.

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel has seen better days it is very very tired & run down. Room 39 is very small 1 single bed, 1 wardrobe ( but you can only open 1 door of it at a time) it is positioned right next to the bed, 1 sink & 1 chest of draws with paint coming of it. Toilet & shower in what can only be described as a sliding door wardrobe. Room is very tatty. Room measures about 8 X 6. Radiator will not turn off so window needs to be open all the time but over looks noisy bus park. Room 36 is also a single room but slightly bigger has a chair (luxury). Paid extra for the single room.
This 6 day holiday was booked as a package tour which included bus to & from hotel with Daish;s Travel of which this hotel is their HQ;s.
Lots of stairs not good for disabled. 1 lift but to one side of hotel.
Not enough staff always waiting for someone to come to reception
Food not bad waitresses try hard. Not big meals.
Hotel is situated at the top of a very steep hill but there is service buses about every hour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank june b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

four of us went to Devonshire in april for a few days , only draw back was we were a good way from the town hotel was nice and clean we now you don't get a big brekkie but you can always ask for extra toast ,jenny from westmids

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
hi and thank you for taking the time to write your review, we really hope to see you again at the Devonshire. thank you for coming and taking the time to leave your nice review.

regards

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Along with 45 retired people who visited the Devonshire Hotel Torquay I am writing to say a very big THANK YOU to all the staff. They were pleasant helpful and generally efficient
Meals were excellent and a good variety. Rooms clean and well maintained.Entertainment was also good.
We are now looking forward to a nice break at their new hotel in Eastbourne next year (Here's hoping) Although this was our first visit to any Daish's hotels as you can see it will not be our last.
Many thanks once again
Retirement group from Liverpool

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retiredgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelatthedev0nshire, Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
hi and thank you so much for writing your review. we would love to see you again soon.

all the best.

Nigel and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our first time at the Devonshire and it certainly will not be our last. The room was clean and tidy, the food was first class and if you needed some more you only had to ask. The staff were a credit to the company as nothing was too much troulbe for them. The staff, from the Manager down were always smart and friendly. We stayed in room 19 which was as comfortable as you would want it to be. The manager,Nigel, was always on hand to give advise and this applied to his staff. We will definitely be back for some of this great value for money holiday. Many thanks for an enjoyable stay with excellent entertainment. Thanks Nigel .............Jim & Chris

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

we are so grateful you came and spent your holiday here at the Devonshire hotel in Torquay, one of the best parts of this business is meeting new people and when they are as genuine as these guest it makes it all worthwhile. Here at the Devonshire we love serving our guest to the best of our ability but it certanly helps when Guests come away to have a good time. life is to short to be unhappy i am sure this lovely couple would agree.
We will miss you both until the next time we meet. dont forget to call us at the hotel to arrange the same room next time.

all the best and thank you again.

Nigel and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was our first holiday of the year and we chose to stay at the Devonshire once again.
We stayed Sunday to Thursday and were looked after so well by everyone at the hotel.
Our room was excellent and very comfortable , the food and entertainment were as good as always and the lovely sunny weather was a bonus.
We shall definitely return !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
thank you for your great review, it was so nice to see you both again and i am so happy you got the room you requested. thank you for spending your holiday at the Devonshire and we all look forward to seeing you again real soon.

regards

Nigel and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,876 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
848 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
630 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Hotel

Property: Devonshire Hotel
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire Hotel, a beautiful 1900s building overlooking the stunning Tor Bay, is surrounded by flower filled gardens and just a 10 minute stroll to the popular Blue Flag-rated Meadfoot Beach, the attractive waterfront and bustling town centre. Our heated outdoor pool is available in the summer (May - Sept) and is ideal for a cooling dip after a day's sightseeing. This TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 awarded hotel also boasts peaceful lounge areas and, for the warmer months, a terrace for afternoon tea. if the weather's nice, you can try your hand at golf on our fun putting green or simply sit back and relax on our peaceful lawns or sunny patio. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing