We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now I know why they have no star ratings”
Review of Devonshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devonshire Hotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Now I know why they have no star ratings”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

A group of us (mainly disabled people) went to this hotel on 5th Nov. This only MY personal review other people had different experiances.
We had experience of 3 drivers , but the one on our return journey (DAVE ***) was very rude and wasn't even going to make a comfort stop as he was running late, he had stopped to fill up with fuel after picking us up instead of doing it before. Eventually after insisting on a stop as several people on the coach were unable to access the on board toilets, he did stop complaining and making arcastic commentsall the while. The driver going down was also rude when we requested heating should be turned off and air conditioning should be turned up.. CHRIS , the third driver, was very nice, polite and considerate. However the trips were very good value for only £8 .
The carpets in most of the hotel were stained and the first room we were allocated you could only get into the bath by standing on the sloping bit at the head of the bath, as the toilet was blocking the rest of the bath. It is a rambling hotel with many stairs. Our towels were not changed at all during our stay.
There is a limited menue, which is all served. Our waitress was unable to perform her duties properly .Every meal we had to return more than 2 items each meal as she got them wrong, and on one occasionwe were sitting at the table for 30 mins prior to us being served. on more than one time another waiter served us as he had observed we were still waiting. when the food arrives it was rarely hot but vegetables were always soggy . Didnt have decent veg. the whole of our stay.
Toilet seat , shower head where broken and lock broken on the door , all reported 43 times and only sorted out when I actually spoke to the owner ( but then not the lock repaired) would have to thein hard about returning.
However the entertainment was very good , much better than i expected.

Room Tip: Be very sure to state EXACTLY WHERE AND WHAT TYPE of room and facilities you require when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    294
    80
    25
    8
See reviews for
123
466
41
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancing
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Hotel set up a steep hill but can be reached by no 61 bus from Debenham's stops outside hotel going down , every half hour until about 6pm coming back , after that taxi's about a £5 from Town.Make sure you are not in the Lodge as you have to walk out across a yard to get your meals, not good if its pouring with rain as when we where there. The Entertainment was based on bingo and a musical act and all this takes place in the dinning room some seats have little view, and you need to book your table when you arrive.Staff very helpful, if a little slow serving meals, food basic we tried to order the fish for breakfast but told following day that they had run out? best buy was boat trip to Brixham £5. return from the harbour , you can walk to Cockleton Village, nice cream tea and crafts and get no61bus back stop round corner near car park

Room Tip: No lift in Lodge, but in Hotel not working while we were there,ask for room facing sea or bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeaniebeanielancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelatthedev0nshire, Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for coming and look forward to seeing you again soon (a lovely couple).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

what a cracking cheap holiday my wife and I had in Torquay from 28 Oct to 2 Nov. All of Daish's give good value for money and my only comment is, why do some people go for a short break and do nothing but moan and knitpick. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute, including the drivers, the day trips for only £8, and indeed when we found the lift out of order it was quite enjoyable exploring the hotel until we finally found our room which was really big (42). A floor plan in the reception area would benefit guests. we couldn't fault the food and the service provided by all the staff however the poor barman (you know how you are) really struggled to raise a weak smile, I was going to take a photo but missed the occasion. seriously it's a lovely place to stay and I would recommend it as long as you don't expect a 5* hotel but everything else is 5*. PS Our bed was big and so comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennyd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This was our first experience of a 'Daish's Holiday'. Overall we were impressed - our bedroom was basic but spotlessly clean and the staff went out of their way to please. The meals were enjoyable with a good choice and the dining staff worked very efficiently but were friendly at all times. Dave, the coach driver, who took us to Torquay from the IW was very professional and we enjoyed his humour. Sadly our return trip was not the same. Our driver was almost rude, did not introduce himself, and was very crictical of Torquay itself. Thankfully we left the coach at Portsmouth but I understand from fellow passengers that his attitude did not improve once on the I.W, However, this would not deter us from returning to Torquay and all in all we found the break very enjoyable and good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROGGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Frindly welcome by , ah ,the manager,then several steps into the hotel,not a welcome at the reception to say the least.
Got to our room(22) on the first floor ,through several doorsout of the lift turn left through door then turn left again then turn right at the next door then your room will be about ,nearly there. I have a mobility problem ,although I had arranged before-hand for the ground floor ,PLEASE no stairs,later on the lift was not working so up 2 dozen+ stairs,up/down/up/down, no lift,still.
The room clean ,bed cover was torn ,pillow cases semed unpressed/bed sheet(pink),
view from window,if you where lucky enough to have one,was viseableto see over to Paighton ,
But the roof over the dining area,from our window had slab bricks,bits of wood,wire, the gutterings where all blocked as it was raining so the water was flowing over like a mini stream all onto the tared roof to which was cover parshly in paint to possible stop the leaks below decks,instead of clearing all the gutters,see the grass grow in them,etc:
Lounge seating areas are very low to sit on ,lots or leaflets to read ,some of the lights in the evening came on to signal dinner is serving,only if one waits about 10 minutes to be served,
although Harrie our waiter was excellent could'nt do enough for you,good young Harrie(thanks).
Enjoyed the stay though but not again,we came by Daish's coach ,driver not sure of area's ,from Sussex nearly 10 hours each way(20hrs in total),could of driven myself there in about 4 hours each way!
May try Bournmouth or Shanklin if we had an offer.But we'll (sea) see..Have fun that's what it's all about,dont worry.Lovely people too.NONE BY-AYS just happy.
24th to 28th October 2011 Monday -Friday

Room Tip: If you have a mobility problem becareful of the stairs ,as there areall arond the floor areas throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamEnglandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

first impressions on the hotel was ok. i saw the pool on the side and wasnt impressed. i could understand why it wasnt open (winter seasons) but it just on the side of the car park and only 3ft deep!
Got in and the staff were freindly and welcoming but hated the oldfashoned red carpets.Lift looked very small and lucky we didnt use it because on ground floor.We were in room 9 and must of been one of the smallest rooms i have ever staid in. i liked the flatscreen tv but that was proberbly the only mordern thing.The view wasnt good as we looked over the devonshire lodge. the room was really clean and beds were really really comfy!Also bring your own shampoo because they dont have any.
Dinners quite good and you should choose the lasangne if your there on that day.We sat with other people, didnt want to on the first night but became freinds with them.
If you have a laptop bring it because there is free wifi but dont use there computer because very slow.
The bar area was nice because i like the little private boothes

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186273Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Me, my partner and our little lad (2 years old) stayed for 4 nights in september 2011, staff were excellent and looked after everything. room was huge and comfortable, were glad to see a nice flat screen tv on arrival. Our little lad enjoyed every minute. Food was fantastic and the dining area very nice. Waiters were great, reception staff were great and other guests were very friendly. Rooms were cleaned daily. On two or three occasions i found the bar man extremely rude, 1st occassion was not aimed at me but some poor woman felt the brunt but on other occasions he was very friendly. Maybe its me taking his sense of humour the wrong way. Appart from that everything was pretty much perfect and we would like to come again. We had a fantastic stay!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,758 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,284 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 87 in Torquay
808 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Hotel

Property: Devonshire Hotel
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire Hotel, a beautiful 1900s building overlooking the stunning Tor Bay, is surrounded by flower filled gardens and just a 10 minute stroll to the popular Blue Flag-rated Meadfoot Beach, the attractive waterfront and bustling town centre. Our heated outdoor pool is available in the summer (May - Sept) and is ideal for a cooling dip after a day's sightseeing. This TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 awarded hotel also boasts peaceful lounge areas and, for the warmer months, a terrace for afternoon tea. if the weather's nice, you can try your hand at golf on our fun putting green or simply sit back and relax on our peaceful lawns or sunny patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Devonshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing