We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkey and Tinsel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel De La Mer

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel De La Mer
Ranked #86 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Turkey and Tinsel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel has good old fashioned food. Welcoming staff with good quick service at meal times. Rooms are clean but chinzy. It is aimed at the more elderly market and I felt that they really enjoyed their stay there. The lounge and bar area is very comfortable for a hotel with reasonable prices. Good for visiting shops and all tourist areas, good access to bus routes. I would not recommend this hotel for any one young and trendy but I think the owners are quite happy with things as they are! (Sorry if I am wrong) Stayed on a Turkey and Tinsel break, nice touch with the young family giving presents out. Lovely decorations but apart from 'Christmas Day' did not feel very christmasy or like New Year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    17
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
42
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Thank you so much for giving us such a welcoming stay. The hotel is so nicely laid out, homely, and food is great. Along with good entertainment.
Also, would like to say this hotel has been very guide dog friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I cannot praise this hotel enough for the wonderful hospitality we received at Christmas from the Tillen family. OK, the bedrooms are basic but spotless. The food is local, fresh and cooked to the highest standard. The staff (the hotel employs local families) were a joy. I can personally say that any problem will be dealt with immediately. Luke's young sons came round at lunch on Christmas day with very generous presents from the hotel and wished us a Merry Christmas. A gem of a hotel and good to know that well-run, warm, family hotels still exist.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 533winnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in October. Ideally situated as a base to visit various places of interest. The theatre is close by with a first class show. The hotel provides good food & cosy home from home comfort & entertainment. Looking forward to another visit next year.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a double bed & a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraDN36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Another great trip to the De La Mer. Family run hotel with fantastic entertainment and scrumptious food. You couldn't do better. Fabulous price and nothing is too much trouble - mention a problem and it's fixed before you know it. Entertainment had us in tears of laughter every night. There is also the Babbacombe Theatre for the nights there is no entertainment - again a night to remember. We've already booked our next trip in November for turkey and tinsel. So looking forward to it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have just returned after spending a short break at the hotel. Our room was of a good size and although the decor was dated the room was clean and the bed very comfortable. We had plenty of cupboard space, good size wardrobe, nice tv and plenty of of tea and coffee making facilities. A special mention about the food which was plentiful (second helpings being offered at each meal), cooked to a high standard ( am sure we have both put on weight!) The service could not be faulted the staff always very welcoming, friendly and helpful. A nice family run hotel. On a main bus route, you can buy a day rider ticket or use a bus pass. Turn right out of the hotel and nice small independent shops to be found. Local attractions include a theatre, cliff railway, model village, bygones museum, and weather permitting quiet beach. Parking in front of hotel for cars.l

Room Tip: Some rooms have shower cubicles only, ask if you want one with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seasideEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The reviews speak for themselves !! A small handful of critical reviews for this hotel & a mostly 4& 5 stars accolade .It doesn't take a genius to work out that this hotel is well liked by most people .Yes, the rooms & shower cubicles may be on he small side but peoplle aren't paying Ritz prices ! & how long do we spend in the room anyway ?.

The most important aspect of any hotel stay is the attitude of 'Mine Host ' & the quality of the food.
Luke & his young waiting staff were a joy, with no request being too much trouble (oh that we would be treated similarily on all hotel stays ) The foo d was of a high standard ...especially the 'proper kippers '
I do wonder whether it might be possible to have printed menu sheets to enable a 'tick box' choice of meal as I feel it was lightly intrusive having it done at table .....not a criticism ....merely an observation .
I would not hesitate to stay at this establishment in the future.

Room Tip: If not happy ,ask Luke for a room change .I feel sure he will oblige if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jedssiebooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nethway Hotel
Nethway Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Summerbay Resort Hotel
#88 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#53 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#45 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#55 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Mer

Property: Hotel De La Mer
Address: 16 Babbacombe Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm family welcome awaits you at the Hotel De La Mer, with customer satisfaction assured. The Tillen family have been established at the Hotel De La Mer since 1976 and feel with over 30 years experience we are more than qualified to give you a premier holiday experience.We offer a wide range of holidays from mini breaks, festive tinsel & turkey breaks to one of our special themed holidays.The Hotel De La Mer are the proud founders of the nationally recognised charity Torbay Holiday Helpers Network a network of businesses who offer free action packed holidays to families who have seriously ill and bereaved children from across the UK.With our warm and friendly family atmosphere we invite you to arrive as customers and leave as friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Mer Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing