We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Proper Turkey and Tinsel Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Templestowe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Templestowe Hotel
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Proper Turkey and Tinsel Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My cousin and I stayed at the Templestowe Hotel Torquay from 6 to 9 February 2014, taking advantage of one of Majestic's themed breaks. The hotel had been doing Turkey and Tinsel breaks since September 2013 and we were on one of the last breaks (until they start again later this year.)

The hotel had many attractive Christmas decorations and there were lots of lovely lights - the hotel was very festive.

We were greeted by friendly staff (and 2 budgies) at reception and given our room key without delay. Although not as opulent as the Durrant House Hotel in Bideford (with marble features, ceiling artwork and carp in the pond at reception), the Templestowe Hotel has many original features including ornate plasterwork.

Our room was spacious and had a seaview, albeit restricted because we were on the ground floor. The beds were very comfy and clean.

Our first night was "Christmas Eve" and to get us in the mood, shortly after arrival, there was a "meet and greet" meeting where bubbly and mince pies were served.

Throughout our stay there was waiter/waitress service in the dining room, and food was cooked to order at breakfast time. There was a good selection of cereals, with proper Weetabix and good quality museli.

Evening meals were pre-ordered at breakfast and there was always a good selection of starters, mains and desserts. Vegetarians are well catered for.

At dinner on "Christmas Day" the turkey was piped in by a chap in full highland dress and Santa also paid us a visit.

"Boxing Day and Hogmanay" were combined with the New Year being seen in in the traditional manner.

Throughout the stay entertainment was laid on. Bingo was available at afternoon and evening sessions.

The comedians were good and it was good to see that jokes could be funny without having to be told in a crude manner.

On our final night the Majestic Dancers put on a great show and the star singer, Ruby Washington, had an amazing voice.

In summary, we had a great break. A number of the other guests we spoke to were on their fourth visit, so clearly Majestic have got their package break spot on.

We will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 57caff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely comprehensive review of your “Carry on Christmas” break. I am so pleased you had a great stay with us and I shall pass on your comments to the whole team and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    117
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
79
185
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

The food and entertainment was second to none.if we get a summer this year I will return. This was my second Christmas and will go back in December 2014. The staff (all of them) were brilliant and hope the transition from Christmas to ww2 theme went smoothly.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keefamistrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you so much for writing your review, I am thrilled you enjoyed another Carry on Christmas break. All the staff worked extremely hard and transformed the hotel from Christmas to our 1940’s War time theme, We’ll Meet Again which is now in full flow. As with all comments, I shall pass them on to the team and look forward to seeing you again in December if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Had a lovely weekend ,this was our second visit for the Turkey and Tinsell and was as good second time round.The hotel lovely and warm,beds very comfortable,food good with a good variety. Staff very helpfull,entertainment was excellent. Looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireCheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
I am so pleased you had another lovely weekend with us. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have just enjoyed a wonderful short break at this hotel and will definitely return. The rooms were a lovely size and the cleaner kept it looking lovely. We enjoyed our meals with a choice every evening and a good choice for breakfast. The staff were very friendly and it was good to see a full hotel in January. Well done everyone for giving us a lovely time

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mag16_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased you had an enjoyable short break with us and I hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was our first visit and for a well travelled and discerning couple I have to say that the Templestowe offers outstanding value for money. It's a top of the range Majestic standard establishment. The staff from reception to bar to restaurant to housekeeping were all pleasant and efficient, our room was large and very clean with a practically new bathroom. The meals were better than I expected, good choice, hot, fresh vegetables. The entertainment was varied. This place "does what it says on the can". 90% were coach clients, we were self drive but we all enjoyed ourselves. Ours was a Turkey and Tinsel (last weekend in January) and I'd go again but on a different themed weekend. Well done to the Templestowe.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldrunnerExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
I am delighted that you had a lovely first stay with us.
All the Templestowe Team appreciate you taking the time to write your kind comments and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife & I spent a wonderful 3 day break at this hotel this week-end from 31st Jan - 3rd Feb, the room was very clean with a large bathroom, the restaurant food was excellent and the waiter's were so efficient, the bar facilities were also very good, the drinks and wine were below standard prices. I must say all the staff were very courteous, happy natured and more than willing to please the guests. My wife & I travel all over the UK & abroad and usually enjoy a hotel's entertainment, but the Templestowe Hotel have entertainment every evening and it was by far the best we ever had the pleasure to enjoy, hats-off to them they were true professionals, on our last evening, they provided a variety show with many artists, what a great night. We would recommend a break at this hotel, truly value for money, we will most definitely return soon!

Room Tip: The lower ground floor rooms are quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyD-S11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your lovely complimentary review which which will be passed on to all the staff to read. The whole team really appreciate you taking the time to write your review as they work extremely hard to ensure all our guests have a wonderful visit. We have some excellent entertainment filled breaks coming up so I hope to welcome you both back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is the forth time that my wife and I have visited the hotel and each time seems a little better. The room we had this time was superbly decorated with all new furnishings,the hotel was well heated .The entertainment was excellent and staff served us well unable to fault the food look foreward to my next visit.

Phil T

Room Tip: room on Southh side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to write your review and I look forward to welcoming you back for your fifth visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templestowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Property: Templestowe Hotel
Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Family Hotel in Torquay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Premier Entertainment Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Templestowe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing