We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best entertainment than any other hotel we've been”
Review of Templestowe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Templestowe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Went in June to this hotel and we had a brilliant time, could not fault the holiday. Everthing from the room, service, food, day trips and hotel staff was very good. The entertainment and the atmosphere in the room in the evenings was excellent. We will certainly be back

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1947Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you had a brilliant time with us and I hope to welcome you back to the Templestowe very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 603 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just returned from yet another fantastic stay at the Templestowe Hotel. This time it was a Steve Laister special weekend and it was brilliant - we've already booked for the same weekend next year. The Templestowe really is THE PLACE TO STAY IN TORQUAY - we are restricted to school holiday times and last half term had to stay at a different hotel in Torquay (which was not a Majestic hotel) as Templestowe were full - we didn't enjoy it and vowed then never to stay anywhere else but the Templestowe ever again when we go to Torquay. On our arrival at Templestowe we were greeted by its delightful Manager Liz (she and her team are always cheerful and helpful) and were lucky enough to get our favourite rooms which we had requested so straight away our holiday began. As always the rooms were lovely and clean, spotless white bedlinen and towels (and plenty of them), and after unpacking it was downstairs for a delicious lunch (variety of dishes, sandwiches, etc available to purchase from the bar - all freshly prepared) which we ate on the patio, after a bit of a chill out had a dip in the pool (lovely and warm) followed by a couple of hours sunbathing before we got ready for our evening meal. All the meals are delicious - a varied menu and everything cooked to perfection as always full marks to the Chef and his team. There was a good selection of salads available as well. One certainly never goes hungry when staying there - the difficulty is choosing what to have from all the lovely dishes on offer. Our waitress was Sue and our bedroom was kept spotless by another Sue - thank you ladies you did a great job as always and we look forward to seeing you all later in the year. Entertainment wise it is impossible to choose a favourite act - fantastic singing and dancing, wonderful guitar playing (love all the Shadows music), jokes that have you in stitches all night, lovely dance music and of course there's the very talented Chris "love you..............." A stay at Templestowe is always brilliant, can't fault it, and Steve's special events (another one coming up shortly) are fantastic so thanks Steve. We always read reviews before booking a holiday (should have heeded some of the reviews for our half term holiday!!!) and if anyone is thinking of staying at the Templestowe all we can say is go on and book it - you will not be disappointed, it's our favourite hotel and can't be beaten, you are sure to have a really good time. Ros, Brian, Carole and Ian

Room Tip: We always go for rooms at the back of the Hotel with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SomersetClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

It is wonderful to read your very kind words. All the Templestowe team work incredibly hard to ensure that all our guests have a great stay with us; it is very satisfying to have so many guests visit us several times a year. Thank you for posting your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I responded to an advertisement in the Herald (Plymouth) for a break of 4 nights, 5 days, with Full Board i.e. Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal, with the added bonus of a 'Free Bar' from 7 - 11 p.m. for each night of our stay. As we are not particularly attracted to Coach Breaks, this particular break offered by MAJESTIC was self-drive, and therefore had a much greater appeal.
Although somewhat sceptical at first, we both agreed that the entire stay was really first class. Our room, on the first floor was large, clean and well presented, with a sea view, which incurred an additional charge, but perfectly acceptable to us both.
The Restaurant was on the lower ground floor, and initially was off-putting as the tables where laid out in long rows. However, we quickly made friends with those people on either side, so the layout was not a problem. The quality of food was extremely good, and the Service was impeccable. Breakfast was available from 8.15 am, and there was plenty of choice, although no fruit! Evening meals were served in two sittings, either at 6 pm or 6.40 pm and ours were alternated over the four evenings. The times were set by the hotel, and I'm not sure if they could have been varied at all. I suspect it was done in this way to give the Coach parties an equal opportunity to find the better seats in the Bar/Cabaret area.
The procedure for obtaining free drinks was clear and well organised. The 'Free Bar' was confined to house spirits, wines and some mixers (although Tonic wasn't one of them, which was a bit of a disappointment!), and a few beers from the pumps. A wider range was available at normal bar prices if required.
The entertainment every night was excellent, varying between Singers, Dancers and Comedy. My one and only criticism in this area was that the sound was a little too loud. (They may have thought that, as the clientele were mainly of the 'more mature' category, then some may be hard of hearing. We were not!!!).
In conclusion, we were both delighted with our stay, and felt that over-all it was extremely good value for money. Given that it was a 'Special' offered by Majestic, I couldn't guarantee that individuals, couples or families, paying hotel rates would necessarily be so enamoured. If you see the offer then take full advantage as it's certainly well worth it.
As a footnote, perhaps I should have mentioned that Bingo was played each evening at 8 pm for about half an hour, and once again that mightn't appeal to all visitors. Having had a couple of wins, we thought it was great!!

Room Tip: Nice to have a Sea View but if you're a light sleeper the Seagulls could be a nightmare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steveshep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your complimentary and valuable feedback, I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our Entertainment hosts are on duty each evening and would have happily adjusted the volume of the Acts had you made them aware the volume was set slightly too loud. As with all of your comments, I will pass them on to the whole team and look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

A party of four had a very enjoyable weekend at the Templestowe Hotel, Excellent food ,Very clean bedrooms, Excellent entertainment, and very friendly staff that gave us excellent service,We will use the Templestowe Hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank POLLY_PERKS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

I am delighted that you took the time to share your experience. As with all reviews, I shall be passing on your wonderful comments to the whole team and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Overall very good value for money. Good food and service. Fantastic entertainment. We paid supplement for sea-view and it was well worth it; lovely large newly refurbished room. The only negative comment would be that bar/lounge/dining area in need of some refurbishment. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dexta1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am happy to read you had a good break with us. The improvements you mention are on-going and you will be pleased to know we have new tables and chairs on order for the bar and restaurant areas. As with all reviews, I will pass on your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Thank you to the Templestowe hotel and Majestic holidays for a brilliant holiday . Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves . Food,service,room and entertainment exceeded our expectations. Would not hesitate in booking this holiday again .Staff were always helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble .The best coach holiday we have ever been on .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wil28_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much and I really appreciate you taking the time to write your review. All the feedback I receive is valued and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Friday - Monday break - didn't have to lift a finger to do anything from the time the Majestic coach picked us up in Bristol to being dropped off back at the same stop
Although we would've liked a seaview, the room was comfortable enough - very clean and the requests we asked for were dealt with promptly and efficiently
The pool was lovely, the meals delicious and varied, the waiters/waitresses friendly and quick, nightly entertainment entertaining and varied with the added touch of the budgies at reception and the fish tank to top off what turned out to be such a brilliant long weekend we didn't want to come home.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Templestowe, it is lovely to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. You are able to book sea view rooms at a cost per person for the break with Majestic Tours, however they are limited. I shall pass on your compliments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
933 reviews
0.2 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
0.2 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templestowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $83 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Premier Entertainment Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Templestowe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing