We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money !!!!”
Review of Templestowe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Templestowe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money !!!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Thank you to the Templestowe hotel and Majestic holidays for a brilliant holiday . Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves . Food,service,room and entertainment exceeded our expectations. Would not hesitate in booking this holiday again .Staff were always helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble .The best coach holiday we have ever been on .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wil28_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much and I really appreciate you taking the time to write your review. All the feedback I receive is valued and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    122
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
84
194
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Friday - Monday break - didn't have to lift a finger to do anything from the time the Majestic coach picked us up in Bristol to being dropped off back at the same stop
Although we would've liked a seaview, the room was comfortable enough - very clean and the requests we asked for were dealt with promptly and efficiently
The pool was lovely, the meals delicious and varied, the waiters/waitresses friendly and quick, nightly entertainment entertaining and varied with the added touch of the budgies at reception and the fish tank to top off what turned out to be such a brilliant long weekend we didn't want to come home.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Templestowe, it is lovely to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. You are able to book sea view rooms at a cost per person for the break with Majestic Tours, however they are limited. I shall pass on your compliments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Thank you Templestowe hotel and Majestic Holidays,for a fabulous 5 day break.
This was our first visit to Torquay,and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
As a couple of "Golden Oldies" we were treated to a first class holiday.
From the moment we arrived, the staff were very helpful and friendly.
We had one of the newly refurbished rooms, which was all done to a very
high standard. Food and choice of menu was as good as we have had at
four star hotels. Evening entertainment was exceptional. We shall certainly
return in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
It is so pleasing to read that you had a fabulous first holiday with us. As with all reviews I shall be passing on your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Have just returned from our 8th weekend at the Templestowe,[,this speaks for itself ] Luckily the weather was with us and as usual we had a brilliant time,The staff are friendly & helpful,food very good and the entertainment outstanding.,the highlight for me was Will & Graham [The Hi Lites ]not sure of the correct spelling..Graham is the best guitarist I have seen & with Will on keyboards they are superb
Have already booked to return in September.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank for your review, I am thrilled that you had another enjoyable break with us. I will pass on your comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from a short break with Majestic Tours to the Templestowe Hotel. We had a brilliant time and are already planning another short break at this lovely hotel which although large feels homely and welcoming. The staff in all areas of the hotel were pleasant and helpful. Many of the guests we met return year after year and I can understand why. The garden area was beautiful and well maintained and we enjoyed sitting out and relaxing in the early evening following our dinner. There was a good choice of food at breakfast and dinner. Our room was clean and pleasant. We enjoyed the entertainment and the free bar which was just enough (1900-2300 hrs) The included option of 1 day trip and one half day was also much appreciated. We really cant fault this hotel. On our way home there was some waiting around as we had to meet another coach to pick up passengers but the driver did all he could to ensure our comfort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julied186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank for your review, I am delighted that you found all aspects of your break with us enjoyable. I am very appreciative of your valuable feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Having stayed at the very best of business hotels prior to retiring I had no great expectations of the Templestowe Hotel when we booked with Majestic Tours for an all inclusive mid-week break. Although the main reception and function rooms were in need of serious refurbishment, our bedroom with sea views was large, quiet, comfortable and nicely decorated. The only major downside was the windows which were screwed shut presumably for security purposes which made the room too warm on a rather uncharacteristic hot and sunny day in Torquay.
However, the food was very good and the waiter service excellent and attentive. Josh worked his socks off to keep us happy and well fed. It was good to see that the Templestowe had received the top rating for food hygiene - well deserved.
The entertainment was first class - better than many acts we have seen on many cruise ships.The hotel team put on a really good show the first night and the comedian on the last night had us roaring with laughter. The singer was top class as well and her unrivalled quality could have graced top venues anywhere in the world.
On the downside, we HATE bingo and having to sit for an hour each night to go through this ritual of watching others play whilst we are unable to utter a word is mind-numbingly boring. Here is a suggestion - swap a couple of bingo sessions for a quiz. Much more fun and everyone can get involved.
Back to the facilities - the swimming pool is not only heated but is actually really warm and surrounded by pleasant gardens so we were able to make good use of these facilities on the one hot and sunny day of our break. We actual felt as if we were on the French Riviera rather than the English equivalent.
There is only one passenger lift - not a problem for us as we are still active - but a big problem for the large number who could not manage the stairs to the dining and ballroom area on the lower floor.
The Majestic coach trips were part of the overall package. Dartmouth and Totnes were OK but these trips could have been better if there was coordination with local attractions i.e. coach to Dartmouth/River Cruise up to Totnes/ coach collects at Totnes. Alternatively coach to
Paignton/steam train to Dartmouth/coach collects at Dartmouth and returns to hotel.
Not sure why there was a complimentary shuttle service to Torquay marina at 2pm on the day of arrival. We didn't arrive at the hotel until just before that time. It would be better to operate the shuttle on the afternoon of the day when there is a morning coach trip.
So, overall some pluses and some minuses, but more of the former than the latter so hence the very good rating which also reflects the value for money for the all inclusive package.

Room Tip: Choose seaview room - preferably above first floor where windows can be opened. Check that the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeniorSoutherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that we surpassed your expectations. We are continuing with our refurbishment programme of the hotel and I hope if you choose to return you will notice the changes. We are renowned for our excellent entertainment the Hotel Entertainment Team will be delighted to read your comments as well as all the Templestowe Team. Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had a 3 night, 4 day break on a self drive deal. I genuinely don't know how they do it for the price!
Room was good with a comfy bed and nice hot shower. Tea and coffee making facilities topped up every morning. Breakfast and evening meal were lovely with enough choice for all of our party of 14. Despite all of us being mid to late 50's we were probably the youngest there! Entertainment was ok - some take the bingo very seriously! All in all a very nice weekend in comfortable surroundings with good food (and plenty of drink)!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I am pleased to read that your party had an enjoyable break with us. We endeavour to offer top entertainment, excellent food and comfort for great prices and I’m so pleased we met your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Templestowe in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,098 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templestowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Property: Templestowe Hotel
Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#14 Family Hotel in Torquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Premier Entertainment Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Templestowe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing