We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in torquay”
Review of Templestowe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Templestowe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
GreenLeadersSilver level
wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best hotel in torquay”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

my friends and i have just returned from templestow friday 21 sept it is the six times i have been there i love it there it is the best hotel in torquay especially the entertainment i love everything about it you cannot beat it i will be going back there in a few months time might be sooner we had a lovely room spotless clean and freshly decorated( room 123) every one was lovely food was good cannot fault it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebell72wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, particularly the entertainment. I look forward to welcoming you back for your seventh visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    122
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
84
194
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

After returning from our FOURTH break since June 2012 we are now planning next years holidays, and just for a change we will be going back to the Templestowe in Torquay. We drive down from Bristol and take advantage of the free and ample parking on site, we then are greeted by polite friendly reception staff who give us our key and details of our break, (ie) meal times and trips available whilst we are there. The rooms have always been exeptionally clean and the housekeeping staff rarely get a mention because we seem to take them for granted, The restaurant is like a well oiled machine which does deliver hot freshly cooked food to your table. We have had the 99p bar on all of our visits and the Bar staff are polite and always friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and you are not rushed which makes a pleasant change.The hotel is a 15 minute stroll from the front (I don't do fast walking) . I think that it is a refreshing change to see the word Service put back in the phraseCustomer Service. Thanking Liz and everyone at front of house for answering all of my stupid questions. Pauline for looking after our room for us. Paul, Luke, Sue, Tinika, and all of the staff in the restaurant not forgetting the people behind the scenes in the kitchen like the Chefs. AlsoTony, Callum, Sophie and all of the bar staff.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for in life. We paid the suplement for superior sea view and we got a superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Many thanks for your marvellous review; I am so happy that you had another excellent stay with us. I will of course pass on your comments to the whole team, who all work incredibly hard all year round to ensure all our guests have a pleasant and enjoyable stay. I look forward to welcoming you both back for your fifth break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol , United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

First of all can i start with saying that we have just had a fantastic weekend at this hotel , staff are very very nice and hotel is very well run .Our request for a double and a bath were remembered by the staff when i booked and room 118 was just the ticket .However I booked direct with this hotel having stayed in a few hotels in the surrounding streets , we took note one day while walking into town and glad we did .When i booked we were told our room would be ready at 1pm , we arrived at the hotel in what only can be described as the rain from hell , staff were lovely , booked us in and took the payment , then we were told room ready at 1/30 , mmmm bit of a problem pouring outside , no problem told to go down to the dinning room to be allocated our table for our stay , phew its nice to get your table for the whole stay thank goodness , we could also pass the time by having a drink , dinning rooom is lovely and we are told we are on coach 2 , and we will be sitting right in the middle of a table for about 30 , as nice as these people might be are WERE as we found out , when my husband and i book a weekend in a hotel i dont expect to be seated in the middle of a coach trip .we did end up after a bit of a fuss at the end of a long table seated next to the golden girls which thank goodness was a bit of a laugh , but hotel should note that a private booking sometimes requires a table for 2 , which may i add when we were eating there were many tables free .My next slight problem was that as we were part of coach 2 which we still had no idea what that was we were told tonight 6pm tomorrow 6.40pm and sunday 6pm , ok as im coach 2 i better stick with it , dinner between 6 and 7 would have been nice .Ok pop into lovely lounge for a drink , 99p bar , we were guests there was no one else in the room , we had paid just waiting on room , sorry full price you dont have your white card , well why did they not give us the welcome pack while we booked in , a minor thing yes but still not a good start .Ok upstairs im guessing coach 1 and coach 2 have arrived , we were given our pack and key , thank goodness i now understand coach 1 and 2 , as i seem to be coach 2 .Please dont get me wrong as i started this review i used the word FANTASTIC which it was and i say that with a huge smile on my face , would have stayed the rest of the week if time off allowed .
Pool heated and fantastic
Room 118 , clean sheets , super clean bathroom .
Entertainment second to none
Staff well you wont get better anywhere in Torquay
Food was ok
overall hotel great value and hard working team
Bingo fantastic as i was lucky to win 100 pounds
As a member of coach 2 i would like to say a huge thankyou for making my bank holiday weekend relaxing and time off from being a busy mum , housekeeper , general woman really and fitting in a P/T job .
Just remember that as i booked with your hotel , coach 2 was all very new to me and still dont know if i was was welcome to spend time on coach 2 when they went out ,or who the hell the driver was .
We will be back before the year is out and were told by some very nice people to ask for room 32 , im looking forward to this , keep up your very very hard work , and your welcoming smiles , and once again thank you xxxx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lesleylloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am delighted you had a great stay with us. We are primarily a coaching hotel owned and operated by Majestic Tours; however we are able to offer late availability rooms to private bookings. To allow for us to serve all our guests to a high standard in the restaurant everyone regardless if they travel down as a group or independently is allocated a coach number 1,2 or 3 which all have different meal times and I apologise for the confusion. I will be passing on all your comments to the rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had an offer, and very good it was, £89 for four nights dinner bed and breakfast, with a 99p bar 11 a.m - 11 p.m. and a £10 per person charge for a sea view if you wanted it. We arrived at 1 p.m. and the room was not ready - no problem - off to the bar. First mistake, the 99p bar was after you had booked in and got a card to show. Second mistake; gin was 99p but a tonic cost £1.46! Third and greatest mistake was having asked for a sea view room we didn't say not room 207 and not one where the extractor fan from the kitchen wound up at 06:30hrs - 10:00hrs & 17:00hrs until 21:00hrs - this necessitated closing the windows to cut down the noise and fumes made worse by the fact that we had a sunny day!

Having said that if future clients note the cautions above they will be treated to good food and plenty of it, served good and hot by friendly staff. The entertainment is good especially that provided by the manager and her staff. You need to time your arrival so as to avoid the nightly bingo but then you don't get a very good seat. Solution, arrive early, take a book, IPod and earplugs.

Room Tip: See above. If you want the walk in shower with sea view make certain you don't get 207.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NevMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate all of our guest’s feedback.
The special offer booked through Majestic Tours for £89.00 for four nights, dinner, bed & breakfast plus the 99p pence bar is an absolute astounding value holiday. The brochure clearly states that only certain beverages are included and mixers such as tonics are not included in this however all coke, lemonade, soda and cordial mixers are. I have spoken with Majestic Tours to ensure that for future holidays, guests are fully aware that the 99 p bar allowance is only redeemable once all guests have officially checked in at 1.30 pm and after. I am sad that you felt this marred your holiday with us.
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your bedroom, £10 per person for a sea view is another good value upgrade. All our bedrooms are different sizes, some sea view and others not. Some bedrooms are near the extractor which we keep on as minimal as possible, however to comply with Health and Safety we must keep it on especially whilst our kitchen brigade work.
I hope that this is an adequate response to the issues raised and I am pleased that you enjoyed our entertainment programme and I will pass on your comments to the Head Chef.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future for another great value, entertainment packed stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have just spent a weekend with friends at Templestowe Hotel on a self drive weekend and had a fantastic time. Rooms were well decorated and furnished and they were spotlessly clean - we also had a lovely sea view. Bed was really comfortable and in the bathroom there was a good hot shower (plus bath if preferred) and plenty of towels available. Food was excellent with a varied menu to suit everyone and the entertainment was first class - far better than we had expected and to top it all the drinks were only 99p! We could not believe what was available for the price . The Manager Liz and her staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the Hotel had a really nice atmosphere. I always read reviews before we go anywhere and had already been impressed by the number of good reviews and the fact that Liz responds to reviews and if there is any negativity says what has been done to address any issues raised but we had also been told by a friend who had stayed at Templestowe a couple of times already that it was really nice there. To top it all when we walked into the Hotel we met two couples we knew who were also there for the weekend and they had already stayed at Templestowe a couple of times previously. They told us we were in for a treat which was certainly the case. We were so impressed with our stay that I have just booked for the four of us to return for a 5 day Turkey and Tinsel break in October so we are all looking forward to that. Ros Ilminster

Room Tip: We had a sea view and it seems from some of the comments I've read that these rooms are probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SomersetClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, I am so happy that you had a fantastic time with us. Many of our guests visit us several times over the year and always enjoy the friendliness of the staff and the top entertainment programme we offer.
As always I will be passing on your comments to the team and I look forward to welcoming you all back for Turkey & Tinsel, where we have some great new shows and menus lined up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have just had a lovely weekend at TheTemplestowe Hotel with my husband and we both thought it was very nice staying there. Our room was clean bright and nicely furnished but we had a front bedroom so the traffic was a bit noisy for a good night sleep however The staff were friendly. The food tasty with choices and the entertainment every evening was excellent..We will look forward to going back there again.

Room Tip: Better to try for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandy110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you had a lovely weekend with us. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the hotel team and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night holiday at the Templestowe. This was the third time we have stayed there and were not disappointed as usual. The hotel is welcoming and friendly. The choice of food and the service is excellent. The nightly entertainment is the better than we have experienced in any other hotel. It is at the top of the town but there is an excellent bus service to the sea front and other areas of Torbay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you Margaret for taking the time to write your review, I am thrilled that you had another excellent holiday with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for your forth visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,803 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,097 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templestowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Property: Templestowe Hotel
Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#14 Family Hotel in Torquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Premier Entertainment Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Templestowe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing